We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $299/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Austin Airport(Austin)(Great Value!)
$127
$120
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Driskill(Austin)
$170
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Austin Motel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$136
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$144
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$95
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Austin Southpark(Austin)(Great Value!)
$150
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown(Austin)(Great Value!)
$232
$193
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
178
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbluebonnet roomhomemade granolaoak suitesouth congressscreened in porchquiet neighborhoodbed and breakfastespresso machinewonderful hoststravis heightshard boiled eggsclaw foot tubcarriage housemain homehighly recommend this b bthe main housewarm hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 197 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2015

Highly recommend staying at Fairview, Vivian and Jimmy are great hosts and very discreet with it also.
Great location, with shops and bars a 5-10 minute walk and the centre of Austin 20-30 minutes.
We had the Live Oak Suite, which was a very large room with two additional rooms of it, which could of had an additional bed in each, our 15 year old son had a bed set up in one of these rooms which was very comfortable, the large en-suite was shared.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scaffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

Yes, the Live Oak Suite with an extra bed in it's adjoining Library Room is great for families. We're glad it worked out well for yours.

Thanks for staying with us, Paul. We hope to see you and your family again.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015

We stayed here for a wedding in October. It certainly helped that the weather was perfect, but it didn't hurt that the hotel offers many comforts and is truly a quaint ideal escape. We stayed in the Pecan room, and although it's one of the smaller rooms, I contend it's the best room. The room is spacious and the bathroom has a full deep soak bathtub. The bed is large, firm and extremely comfortable, a flat screen tv offers roku and direct tv service. Yet the best part of the room is the outdoor patio. It overlooks the front of the house, teeming with majestic trees sloping their way down to the road, one feels perched and suspended in animation on some long forgotten plantation. In fact if the weather had not proved to be so ideal, we would have been perfectly content to spend the majority of our time reading away on the balcony. But the weather was perfect and we needed to spend our free time exploring. Jimmy and Viv the owners of the Fairview directed us to to some of the most magnificent city walking paths in the US. They also led us to some gastronomic feasts and a wonderful spa. They were not just great tour guides, Viv is an amazing cook, we enjoyed homemade granola, homemade yoghurt and a delicious coffee cake (all gluten free). The first floor of the house is spacious and offers more than enough room to relax the day away. But Viv, Jimmy and their daughters are great conversationalists. The rest of the staff was diligent and always smiling. Apparently some members of the staff are also fluent in Korean. Whether you need a place to relax or a place to stay on business, I highly recommend the Fairview

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drbroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

Thank you, DRBroadway!

While we can't take credit for beautiful weather, we can definitely help our guests take advantage of it. The Pecan Room Porch is a great place to start the day no matter what the weather. We're glad you enjoyed it along with everything else that The Fairview and Austin has to offer.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Vivian and Jimmy are the most amazing hosts, and their beautiful B&B is just the start of a fabulous stay. From our first interaction with them while booking our stay online to every element of our visit, they were warm, helpful and truly made us feel like family. I would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are beautiful, spotless, inviting and spacious, and frankly, the beds were impossibly comfortable. The grounds of the inn are glorious, and there are lots of fun spaces to sit in the shade, enjoy a cool drink (or a cup of their fabulous coffee) and relax. The breakfasts were delicious, plentiful, and best of all, our hosts go to extra lengths to make sure that everyone's dietary needs are accomodated: this is a gluten friendly, allergy friendly, vegetarian friendly inn. Needless to say, I'm a big fan, appreciated the care and hospitality that was extended with such grace and joy, and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a kitchenette, ask for the Carriage House!
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

You and all of your family were such exceptional guests, thank you Sara!

We're glad that we could make your visit to Austin a nice one and we're especially glad you enjoyed the convenience of having your own kitchen. We'll do our best to take good care of you again if you can make it back our way.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

We had a wonderful time at The Fairview. I highly recommend staying there because of the warm and inviting feel, walking distance to everywhere and the incredible granola, yogurt and coffee machine :) We will definitely go back.
No complaints - only praises!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pecan room. It was really nice because you have a private porch. I loved the porch to drink my coffee and read a bit.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank thecoyners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

That's Fantastic! Congratulations on 15 years and thank you for choosing to celebrate with a stay at The Fairview. Hope to see you again - same time next year?

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

This is a super place to stay within walking distance of South Congress, Austin. The owners could not have been more hospitable. My daughter had two make- up people come for pre wedding trials and on both occasions they found space for that. Healthy fruit and yogurt breakfast plus a Jura impressa coffee machine meant I was set up for the day. Comfortable bed and good shower. More than happy to return and recommend to friends. We were in the Pecan Room. The screened porch is a very nice space.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueUKTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Thank you Sue!

We enjoyed having you and your daughter here and we're glad we could provide you both with a nice place for your advanced wedding preparations. Best wishes to her on her wedding day and we hope you see you again in the future.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews