We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$114
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
$237
$225
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Austin Motel(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$242
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown(Austin)(Great Value!)
$177
$140
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
175
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbluebonnet roomoak suitesouth congresshomemade yogurtscreened in porchsunday housequiet neighborhoodgracious hostsb bscarriage houseespresso machinetravis heightsthe main housebed and breakfasthard boiled eggsclaw foot tubdaughter rachel
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 194 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2015

We had a great stay in the Bluebonnet Room at The Fairview. With instructions for arrival e-mailed before our trip, it was easy and reassuring. The house is beautiful and the homemade breakfast fantastic - especially the granola and cake!
The neighbourhood is great: fantastic to walk around and see the historic houses, yet so close to the bars and shops of SoCo for evening!
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalieS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2015

And we have Fantastic Guests! Thank you for sharing your excitement. We do our best to make it simple to check-in. Our emailed arrival instructions and key-less door locks are a big part of that. We're glad that little detail was reassuring and made it easy for you to stay at The Fairview.

Jimi & Vivian
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015

I could not have asked for a more wonderful, relaxing place to stay in Austin! Before I even arrived, the owners (Jimi and Vivian) emailed me to ask if I had any questions or special requests, which they met 100 percent. Upon arrival, they both greeted me so warmly that I felt like I was visiting friends. I stayed in the Bluebonnet Room, which was spacious, the perfect temperature, immaculately clean, and full of beautiful sunlight. I fell in love with the room and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in outside of my own home. The Fairview cares a lot about details. I was happy to know that a lot of the things I'd get in a hotel, it had -- and more: a big, flatscreen TV, great closet space, earplugs (which you wouldn't need anyway), makeup remover wipes, hairdryer, etc. In addition to the nice breakfast, you can get tea, coffee, sparkling water, etc. at any time.

The inn as a whole is gorgeous. It's very tastefully decorated and you enjoy the architecture of a historic landmark without the clutter or old smell you sometimes get with older B&Bs/inns. It is clean on another level -- I did not see one spot of dust anywhere! The grounds are equally nice -- full of old trees and green space. It's on a quiet, residential street with friendly neighbors and just a few blocks from South Congress with its great shops, restaurants, and nightlife. It's a perfect location.

I loved the people. Jimi and Vivian are at once very sweet and highly professional, happy to offer up any tips on where to go in the neighborhood or city. Louise and Rosemary are also the nicest people ever and will make you feel like you're with old friends. I was sad to leave but happy to know that I'll be back one day. You will love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karenina2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2015

Thank you so much, we think you're delightful too!

We do our best to respond to special requests and are glad that we were able to take care of yours. Speaking of taking care of you, thanks also for mentioning our two housekeepers, Louise and Rosemary. We are very lucky to have them helping us take care of all our guests.

See you next time you're in Austin!

Jimi & Vivian
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015

Thanks to innkeepers Jimi and Vivian for a warm reception and beautiful accommodations. We stayed in the Sunday House and enjoyed the combination of sleek decór with the warmth of hardwood floors and a beautiful claw-footed tub and shower.

The home baked goodies and home made yogurt and granola were tasty and healthy treats each morning. And the coffee. Well just come taste for yourself. High-end coffee maker with organic beans ground for each cup were superb.

Techies will appreciate the speed and reliability of the wireless internet service throughout the entire grounds.

My lifelong friend from Pennsylvania was charmed by Austin (we arrived a few days before SXSW) AND The Fairview. For me, the trip gave me my much needed fix - Austin is my favorite city AND to relax in accommodations that exceed expectations.

The Ballards and "hands on" owners and their genuine hospitality infuses the stay of every guest.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaViajera1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2015

Thank you Susan!

You said it all so perfectly. We do our best to see that all of our guests "get what you stay for" and are so glad that you did.

Hope to see you again soon and please bring some more friends with you to see Austin. We enjoyed visiting with both of you.

Jimi & Vivian
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2015

We didn't know quite what to expect as we haven't stayed in B&B's. And we are pretty picky about hotels. But, we decided to try something new for fun and adventure. The Fairview is a delight! The entire home is immaculate...it was spotless. We stayed in the Live Oak room which is huge with 10 foot ceilings, a bath "suite" and all the amenities. We were a bit perplexed with the earplugs that were provided in the room and the white noise machines. We didn't need the earplugs, but we slept so well, we ordered a white noise machine from Amazon for our home before we checked out of the Fairview. There was plenty of space for our fifteen year old daughter and her parents. We loved listening to the birds and gazing out the windows, enjoying the views. It was very restful and calming. The house is beautifully restored and we enjoyed learning about its history and all the special details from the owners. Jimi and Vivian are lovely hosts. Although the Fairview offers a serene atmosphere, it's located right next to trendy SoCo. We didn't have to go far for great restaurants, fun shopping and lots of activity.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Wow Lynn! You win the prize for best title - "Serenity in Hipsterville". We may have to add that as another tagline for The Fairview, right alongside our own "Get what you stay for".

Thank you so much for all the compliments. We are so lucky to have our wildlife friendly yard full of giant Live Oak trees in our so close to SoCo downtown location. It was great to have your family here as our guests and to share our home with you.

Please come back and visit again when you can.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2015

My wife and I had a really nice weekend stay at this relatively new B&B. House and grounds are rather lovely. Had a room with a large, screened in porch but it was too cold to really take advantage of. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. One of the most comfortable beds we have had away from home. The innkeepers are very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and well maintained. The only slight negative was the breakfast which, for us, is really unimportant. Breakfast consisted on oatmeal and homemade granola. For those looking for a nice breakfast might be disappointed. We will definitely return when back in Austin.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank itravelwaytoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

Thank you for the great feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed staying in the Pecan Room. The screened porch makes it one of our guests favorite rooms. Maybe you can come again when the weather is nicer so you can enjoy it more.

We're so sorry the continental breakfast we serve wasn't to your liking. In addition to the hot oatmeal and homemade organic granola with optional mix-ins (like raisins, nuts, and dried blueberries), we also provide homemade honey yogurt made from Mill-King organic whole milk, fresh fruit salad made each morning from organic fruit, hard boiled eggs from nearby all organic, fully pastured hens, and something baked fresh like muffins or scones. Hopefully you didn't miss those while you were here.

We chose to offer a self-serve buffet breakfast so our guests could eat when it is convenient for them and we try to make that obvious in advance so everyone knows what to expect. If that information didn't reach you when you booked your stay we sincerely apologize. Let us know if that's the case and we'll try to make it right for you.

We do our best to make sure all our guests "get what you stay for".

Jimi & Vivian
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews