We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Owner & Very Unprofessional”
Review of La Villa Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Villa Vista
Ranked #10 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband spent many weeks going back and forth with Eva the owner before we were to arrive on a Friday for a two night stay in the Milan suite. We were celebrating our 35 year anniversary. He reserved the Milan and over and over specified he did NOT want the Penthouse since it was 3 flights up an outside spiral staircase. 3 miles from the B&B we were hit by a car and our car totaled.

Finally at 6:00 pm we were ready to get to our room and relax. Upon arrival NO one was at the house at all, not a guest nor the owner. I went around the back and found a caretaker in a trailer on the driveway. He was surprised to see us and said they were not expecting any guests. He told us no rooms except the Penthouse were clean. He opened the door to the Milan Suite to show us the room. We entered to find personal belongings all over the room. He told us it was the owners stuff.

The caretaker then got the owner Eva on the phone where she kept trying to pawn off the Penthouse on us since it was the only clean room. She had no idea who we were and asked if we had small children. After going round and round that we did not want the penthouse but wanted the Milan room as reserved she said she would be over to clean to give her 30 minutes.

The caretaker told us he was leaving to go to the local bar. We gave her till 6:45 to clean and returned. The Milan door was locked and we were forced upstairs to a much smaller room with NO private balcony as we had requested. She told us she would make us this great deal on the room, which turned out to be the same price as the suite we had reserved. When I told her it was the same price as we were already paying for the largest suite in the house, she became rude and hostile and stormed out of the room and headed upstairs yelling, "fine, if you don't want to stay then leave." We tried to calm her to have a conversation, but she continued to bagger us and tried and turn the whole thing around as if we were the problem. I pointed out it was 7:00 pm at night and not one guest is in the house yet we can't get a room when we had a reservation. There was NO calming or reasoning with Eva once she became irate.

It was clear she was unstable and not at all what a Hostess should be when she is charging $200.00 plus for a room. There was never an apology for the room not being ready or for the delay. She continued to yell at us from an upper floor and never would have a calm conversation about what was going on.

Extremely Unprofessional!!!!!

We finally left and went to a hotel. Terrible owner and the place is in need of repairs for the price. Pictures make things look so much better. Take care dealing with this woman.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Magnolia32Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We found this Italianesque Bed and Breakfast to be charming with views of Lake Travis and its elegant shoreline properties that "could be" in Italy. Eva , the owner, was the perfect hostess who showed us the 4 suite inn with pride so that we could take advantage of its many offerings. The pool with waterfall and hot tub were pristine. A spacious covered balcony overlooks the Lake, a library for gatherings or meetings and a full kitchen (where she prepared a delicious buffet breakfast) is open for guest use. Eva's impressive artwork adorns several walls. We would definitely recommend this getaway bed and breakfast even if you live in Austin.

Room Tip: Room at the top has 3 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSandTLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This bed and breakfast in Austin, TX is a great place to unwind and enjoy the beautiful views of Lake Austin and the Oasis area. Very quiet and quaint. The only drawback was in the Penthouse Suite, you have to climb a tiny winding staircase (with all your belongings). The owners are very accommadating and appreciate your business.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent price for the elegance and European like ambiance. The views remind me of a Mediterranean villa. The feel inside is like that of a castle more than a home. Eva the owner made us feel like family and comfortable. A+++++++

Room Tip: Serengetti room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We first found out about La Villa Vista looking for a place to have our wedding, and we booked it upon sight. As a surprise, we stayed there for an anniversary night and found that it's not just the amazing sunset views, the excellently furnished rooms, but it's the passion and outstanding customer servicet that Eva and Ken provide (and the great breakfast too!). We feel we made new friends on contact and look forward to sharing one of Austin's best kept secrets with many more people...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbrewer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villavista, Owner at La Villa Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. Thank you to all my guests.
As I was looking back at 2012, I realized how my year was filled with joy, excitement and purpose. I attributed my feelings to all of the people in my life, my B&B guests are the biggest part of it. My guests truly inspired positive energy that propelled me to a life of purpose and enjoyment. My guests positive reviews and appreciative attitude compelled me to desire to serve more and in a BETTER WAY. Thank you to all my guests of 2012. Thank you for your business, your gratefulness, your referrals and for your desire to return to La Villa Vista Resort. YOU MADE MY 2012 A GREAT SUCCESS STORY.
Thank you for this greatest GIFT.

Eva Wiley Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm going to give this one 4 stars. My boyfriend brought me out to this area to experience a nice day away from everything to relax and celebrate my birthday! We have recently started liking the whole B&B thing!

This was a nice place and had great views of the Lake. We were greeted with a big warm welcome and shown around the entire property, then had a chance to settle in and explore a little ourselves. You can't beat the views here! The lake, the hills... awesome! The place was clean overall and the owners very friendly. The breakfast the next morning was awesome! Fruit, coffee, pastries, fresh made waffles and scrambled eggs! I only have one complaint... We were staying in the Himalya room which was I believe the highest room in the house. The room was very cute and up above everything else. The only problem was that it was a little on the noisy side.... we could hear everything that happened below us and in the living room... there is a small window on one wall that is adjacent to the living room and we could hear another couple talking and watching tv into the wee hours of the night.... Other than that, no other real complaints. Our room was clean and made up and service was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was more than we expected! We were welcomed like family by owner, Eva and Ken also caretaker, Robert! We initially booked the Himalaya but were able to upgrade to the beautiful Serengetti suite. The Himalaya is very beautiful but seemed more fitting for a younger couple. Eva was amazing; she cooked us a hot breakfast each morning. She cooked whatever we wanted and also added a variety of items to the breakfast bar to choose from. We looked forward to breakfast because we enjoyed sitting drinking our coffee and talking with Eva. The views from the balconys are simply beautiful. It felt like we were in Italy somewhere. We can't find anything negative about this place! We've shared the link with our friends and we are already looking forward to going again. Thank you Eva, Ken and Robert for helping make our anniversary one of the best yet!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
7.2 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
12.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 204 in Austin
2,125 reviews
9.2 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 204 in Austin
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Casa del Sol Bed and Breakfast at Lake Travis
8.3 mi away
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Vista

Address: 6701 Oasis Pass, Austin, TX 78732-1201
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $154 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Villa Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Vista with its negative edge pool, soothing waterfalls, spectacular golden sunsets and a bit of old-world European charm is a place to romance or just relax. La Villa Vista offers luxurious accommodations including: Vacation Home: a home away from home in simply the best of the best locations Romantic Get-A ways Memorable Weddings Retreats: Corporate, Spiritual ,Intellectual Special Events: Corporate/Private ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Villa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Vista Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing