We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Innkeeper, Poor Value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude Innkeeper, Poor Value!”
Reviewed May 24, 2007

We stayed at this B&B in conjunction with a conference and were looking forward to a pleasant stay as it was advertised as a lakeview room for $250 a night. We found a few things lacking in such an expensive place, but probably would not be writing this had things not gone downhill in a hurry. When we checked in, we were not told when or where breakfast was to be served. As were were attending an event that started at 9:30, we went to the office to check on breakfast after 9:00. The owner was in the adjoining kitchen. She first ignored us, then told us impatiently the coffee was outside. When we inquired about breakfast, we were told it would be up shortly and by the way, "get the hell out of my kitchen." We have stayed in many B&B's over the years, but have never been treated this way. Other problems were:

1. Used towels were not replaced.

2. The coffee served in the room was grocery store coffee in a used baggie. Teas also seemed old.

3. There was no hair dryer. We asked for one, and promised one, but it was never furnished.

4. The view of the lake was miniscule.

5. A loud party occurred on the outside deck below us on the second night. It went on into the night and was advertised by signs posted around the B&B. Most B&B's are quiet couple retreats, so this was very unusual.

6 . The breakfast served was scrambled eggs with undercooked sausage and dried up jellies served in little containers like you get in cafes. It was unspreadable. The fruit was mushy and appeared to be serveral days old. Most B&B's serve elegant, delicious food.

7. Light bulbs were missing.

When we asked for a refund, we were given token refund and a gift certicate for a future stay, which we don't intend to use.

  • Liked — The location close to the conference. Gardens wer nice.
  • Disliked — Rude innkeeper, terrible breakfast, substandard service.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bedandbrkfastfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    2
    3
    12
See reviews for
5
43
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2007

Last week I spend a marvelous three nites at Robin's Nest on Lake Travis (near Austin,TX). Our group shared two units and had great fun. The place is charming, clean, neatly decorated, and Robin is a fantastic host. She is caring and charming. I will be a repeat guest every time I want to get away to a secluded place on a nice lake. Thanks Robin!
Sinclair Dameron
Port Allen, LA

  • Liked — Proximity to beautiful lake.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinclairKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

My wife & I stayed for 2 weekend nights, then came back just a few days later for a 3rd night. Robin's Nest is a cool little spot tucked away by the lake, the staff is friendly and accomodating, and the rooms and funky & artsy. This isn't the 4 seasons though, so if you want to be waited on hand & foot or an immaculate spa or seared foie gras from room service at 10 p.m., don't stay here. If you want a funky, eclectic getaway where you can't imagine where the the room decor came from, you can have a glass of wine by the lake with the owner, and have breakfast brought to your room in the morning, you're good to go. The other reviewers who gave Robin's Nest a bad rap are clearly the high-maintenance types who were expecting double airline miles for their stay. You can bring your dogs too (call ahead first), and that's even better. Hang out, swim in the lake with your dogs, have a good time.

  • Liked — Accomodating staff, quiet getaway without crowds
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SMUJD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2007

Our stay was wonderful. The ambiance of the room was beautiful, romantic, and comfortable. The host was friendly and made us feel like we were more like a family member than a guest. The location was secluded enough to unwind.

  • Liked — It was so comfortable.
  • Disliked — Nothing to say.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos TX
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We stayed in Robin's Perch for two nights and everything was wonderful. Waking up to birds chirping was the best part of the day. The homemade breakfast that we recieved both mornings was excellent. The room is done in grandma chic, with old antique funiture, tons of books and board games. Just a place to relax and read on the porch in the hammock and porch swing. We took a walk down to the lake and just sat on the dock with the breeze blowing and the ducks hanging around wanting to be fed. The bed was wonderful to sleep on. The tub was wonderful to have a slow hot bath. Everything at this place was what we wanted. A place to relax after a hectic week.

  • Liked — The birds in the morning
  • Disliked — The owner has dogs and the can be a little teriritorial.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristaj124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plano, tx
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2007

WELL!!! i just have to say that my boyfriend and I had a wonderful experience. Weather was good, atmosphere was calm and there was plenty to do. Nearby small bar that played funky music!!! CUTE PLACE!!! love all the eclectic decor, manager was lovely and sweet, love the swing on the porch in the room we stayed in...
Honestly!!! ...

if you dont know how to get over yourself and learn to let go and just enjoy your not everyday surroundings then this is not the place for you!!!!

Lake is low but hey!!! more drinking and chilling on the awesome 2nd floor deck!!!!

  • Liked — carefree, relaxing atmosphere, fun decor!!!
  • Disliked — No Pool!!!!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxColombian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2007

My first stay at Robin's Nest was 3 years ago for my wife's birthday. We drove from Dallas and loved it. The room was comfortable, the surroundings are relaxing, 99% of the other guests are great people with great conversation, and the breakfast is Superb! Love that fresh fruit salad.

Our second stay came as a result of needing a relaxing weekend off - we had been comuting from Dallas to Houston and getting ready to move there. My wife and I decided to meet half way and stay at Robins Nest. Another excellent stay. It was comfortable, quiet, and convenient. Liked our experiences so much we canned Houston and moved to Lake Travis.

Robin is a character and seems to always try to make your stay a good one. We've even been back since we've moved here just because it's a fun place to stay. Laid back, comfortable and safe.

  • Liked — Location, Dock Fishing
  • Disliked — That rare guest you don't want to have breakfast with.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tolcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
1.8 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Lakeway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa del Sol Bed and Breakfast at Lake Travis
5.3 mi away
La Villa Vista
La Villa Vista
#9 of 35 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1010 Stewart CV, Austin, TX 78734-3517
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Robin`s Nest b&b
Robin`s Nest Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing