We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area
Ranked #106 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Easy check in and out with friendly personal. Very clean room with comfortable beds & plenty of towels. WiFi available but didn't use. Easy on and off Hwy. Nice outdoor pool. Continental breakfast was ok for a quick start. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 715 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

Average motel. Expect to spend a while waiting when checking in/checking out. After approx. 8pm the staff speak to you through a bullet proof window, which doesn't inspire much confidence in the safety of the area, although we didn't experience any problems.

The rooms were an average motel size, clean enough with standard amenities. Be prepared to wear some kind of footwear at all times though, as the soles of our feet turned black after walking around on the carpet for only a short while.

In the immediate area there is a Walgreens and a Mexican restaurant which is convenient. Triple Crown Tattoo is only a couple of blocks away which is an awesome shop. Would also recommend trying the Hot Dog King on 8th & Red River Sts - great veggie dogs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katelin_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The website said this hotel had a pool. There isn't a pool.

The hotel is located next to a 6 lane freeway so you can't actually walk anywhere. there is a shopping centre across from the hotel but because of the freeway it might as well be in alaska.

The windows in the room face out onto the corridor so you can't open your curtains giving the rooms a prison like feeling. don't plan on spending large amounts of time in your room as you will find it sickening.

The room wasn't that cheap, i wish i had just coughed up another $30AUD and stayed somewhere nice like the hyatt or radisson.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKKRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Very cheap, location just other side of highway on edge of downtown. Walking distance to Capitol, $6 cab ride to 6th street area. Room size average, bit tired and grubby feeling. Staff were lovely and happy to order cabs for us and store luggage. Would not want to stay here for more than a night or two. On the plus side it does have a washer & dryer available for guests which is more than most places offer these days.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My friends and I stayed here for SXSW in mid march. The only reason we stayed here is because it was the most reasonably priced place to stay within walking distance to downtown. That being said, we paid around $225/night. Which is EXTREMELY overpriced for a Super 8, but better than almost $500/night at the Hilton (all hotels raise their prices for SXSW).
Basically, it is what you would expect in a Super 8. Nothing fancy at all & basically a place to lay your head down to get some sleep. Not sure I would stay here again unless I was desperate. Overall, it served it's purpose. I would recommend based on location for SXSW as hotels are all very booked, but otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imacubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The room and bathroom were clean and spacious and the motel is in a pretty good location. It's much cheaper to stay here on the edge of downtown rather than a central downtown location where you would also have to pay for parking. On the downside, the room is not soundproof so you can hear the traffic from the I-35.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

So, the staff were actually kind of nice. But the door to our room didn't close very well, you had to pull up on the door handle in order to get the door to securely latch. The room was overall dingy, but kind of clean. One blanket did appear to be washed, but was a static rich material and had hair all over it. We pulled it off the bed and used sheets only. The location is sort of close to downtown, easy enough walk ~ 1 mile. But, you have to cross the interstate. Traffic did not keep me up at night, the room did get plenty dark, the a/c (when turned on) did get cold. Not romantic, not a get-away, not recently updated or on par with newer Super8s. Low quality, I would pay no more than 60 bucks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area

Address: 1201 North I-35, I-35 and 12th Street, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $84 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin Downtown/Capitol Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Super 8 Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing