We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Jazz venue in Austin”
Review of Elephant Room

Elephant Room
Ranked #9 of 200 Nightlife in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Jazz venue in Austin”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

For those who consider 6th street in Austin to be a bit too spring-breakish, the Elephant room caters to a more diverse age group. After presenting your ID you enter a dimly lit long room, which gives it a good atmosphere. At the end of the room the band is playing and there is a very long bar on the left. Underneath the ceiling you will find hundrets of one dollar bills, signed by former guests. Sitting at the end of the bar I was amazed at the accoustics, as all seats were taken, even there the sound was good. As a visiting foreigner I have to say that the Texans are incredibly courteous and well mannered. And even in this bar every sentence ended with: yes ma'am. The shots seemed double the usual size and they serve a fine Austin Wodka called Tito's. I am giving 4 out of 5 points, as I have been to other jazz venues in other cities that captivated me more on a musical and artistic level. But then it might have only been that particular evening. Unfortunately no bites or food is served.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Jazz”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went here on a date night with the girlfriend and it was perfect! Great underground location gives it a very 1920's speakeasy feel. Great Jazz and a nice beer selection. Two thumbs up!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome jazz in a relaxing setting”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very chill setup in a basement section of a building - exposed brick/wood/stone. Staff very friendly and the "community" of musicians who played that night were great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank skiguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a Jazz Club should be!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

On a tourist trip to Austin with wife and adult daughter. We love jazz, and our daughter had never been to a jazz club. Well, she might now be hooked! The Elephant Room is a quintessential jazz club and she LOVED it! We did too of course! Arrived after 10pm on a Wednesday night, and there was no cover. Except for a few tables at the back, the place was mostly full, but we lucked into a recently-vacated table about 4 from the front. Awesome! The Salzmann Six filled the place with fantastic jazz. Place is dark, but not TOO dark. Loud, but not TOO loud. Be sure to check out the "wallpaper." :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Jazz Club”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Elephant Room is in a basement on Congress Street in downtown Austin. Walking down the dark staircase you find yourself in what one identifies as a hip scene in one's jazz experience. It reminded me of very similar clubs in NYC, Rio and San Francisco with bare bones interior design, but great music. Pick the right band and your own table and enjoy...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Room also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing