We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This hotel is located within walking distance of many Austin attractions and restaurants. The staff is helpful and professional. Breakfast choices are fresh and plentiful. Rooms are very clean. A very good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    161
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
78
96
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harbeson, Delaware
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel is centrally located to the world reknown music venues and great restaurants from famous Stubbs to Blue/Jazz Antone's.

The Austin Bat Bridge is a nice walk and the TX Longhorn Campus is not that far away.

If you've never been to Austin, you must but it on your "Bucket List"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVL4Ever3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is a great choice if you have an event at the Austin Convention Center (across the street from the hotel.) I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed here and loved it! The full kitchen was so nice- and the daily breakfast can't be beat. The location is close to everything in Austin, 6th street, the warehouse district and the market district too.We asked for a quiet room, however there were partiers for the UT game who obviously can't handle their alcohol, and the walls were a little on the thin side.
Despite that night, we had a great visit and we loved Austin- everyone was so friendly. We'll definitely stay at a Residence Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I travel often for work and have been working in Austin for most of the summer. In staying with the Residence Inn downtown I have felt very much at home with the welcoming staff and extra attention.

The location is second to none with at lot of great restaurants and nightlife within walking distance, and it is a must to spend weekday Happy Hour with Julio!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbenjamin_harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
196 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I stayed at Residence Inn for a week on my business trip. It's located nearby many great restaurants and a few minutes away from 6th street on foot. It's adjacent to Courtyard but Residence Inn has gym and laundry room shared with Courtyard.

The hotel has great gym and whirlpool/swimming pool if you like to workout or relax. Free wifi in room/lobby and print at the lobby.

Free breakfast included fat-free/regular yogurt and milk, waffle and various pastries and bread, fruit and scrambled egg and oatmeals/cereal.

From Mon through Thurs, the hotel offers free appetizer and wine from 5:30pm till 7pm.

Most austin restaurants and bars offer Great happy hour. If you want to try great food and drink, try all the high end restaurant near by the hotel.

The room was good size and kitchen has everything except for oven. They even have a grocery-shopping service (not sure if it's free or not..). Only complaint might be the bed-comforter/sheet.. I wish it was softer or smoother like other hotels.

The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. I enjoyed my stay at Residence Inn and will highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbleDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

I have stayed at other Residence Inn's, and this one was by far the worst from a room quality persective mainly. Have they renovated yet? Even if so, Residence Inn sells it's product based on how much room you have to spread out, and this was a closet. Rooms in NYC are bigger. Unneeded furniture could have been removed to help this issue. Decor was rather dated, location is ok for 6th Street fun, not great. Have stayed at the InterContinental downtown before and that location was great, still teensy rooms though, but that is a historic property so I can accept that. I wouldn't bother with this hotel again. 3 stars encompasses quite a bit for me - an AVERAGE stay. They were not 'poor' as I didn't get cooties or encounter anything really bad, but if i could 2.5 would be more like it here. I have stayed at MUCH nicer Fairfield Inn's.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore virbant downtown Austin, Texas while retreating to the Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. Guests of our hotel are served complimentary breakfast every morning before guests attend conferences, trade shows and networking events at Austin Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing