We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a north-facing corner room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Get a north-facing corner room!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here last week in room 801. This is a corner room with great views of the Austin skyline, especially the Frost Tower. Great location with walking access to the Capitol, UT campus, 6th street, and convention center. Get an *01 room on any floor if you can. We left the curtains open all might and enjoyed the view.

Service in the restaurant was excellent. Housekeeping was lackluster but acceptable. Rooms are small, but I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
ynnej,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel while you explored Austin. Our team is always available to help each guest maximize their time in our city. Just a few short blocks from the hotel you will find the best restaurants, nightlife, art and attractions. I am happy you were able to enjoy Austin and look forward to your return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    161
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
78
96
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed in May 2014 with another couple-we both had rooms with seating area and king size beds, as well as a full size fridge and kitchen area! I can't say enough about the service-the front desk staff was fabulous! I got blisters walking around Austin on the first day and they gave me free bandaids and blister pads-so helpful! The location is great to walk around Austin (with the correct shoes!) and we even walked over to UT Austin campus area, although that is a longer walk. We took a cab to the Congress area to try some restaurants and browse the street boutique shopping. The Residence Inn is connected to the Marriott Courtyard(if you check in at night you will actually check in at the Courtyard front desk) but we had breakfast included at the Residence Inn. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and the free breakfast buffet is served at the connected Champs Restaurant. It's actually a really good buffet for free-we ate there all 3 mornings. We sat outside and had drinks and people watched on Saturday night-well worth it! We would definitely return and stay at the Residence Inn!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the fire department nearby-The Residence Inn has quieter rooms than the connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kskbtvkcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
kskbtvkcfamily ,
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review. It means a lot to us to receive a great score from a Senior Contribution. Also, I wanted to thank you for staying with us and giving us the chance to earn your review. The team works hard on their customer service each and every day and your feedback and kind words make all the hard work worthwhile. Austin is an amazing city to walk around and explore. All of the major attractions are a short walk or pedi cab away from the hotel. Our team will always be in the lobby ready to help you find the next great restaurant or boutique shop. Thank you again for staying with us. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went with the family but had 2 rooms which was good as the rooms were small but clean and comfy. It was in a great location and everyone there was really nice. Great buffet in the morning and yummy cookies at night!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
regidog,
Thank you for taking time to post your Trip Advisor review. On behalf of all the associates at the hotel I want to also thank you for your business. We strive to make each stay memorable and are always ready to help you get the most from your time in Austin. Thank you again. May your travels be memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I NEVER give a perfect review....until now. Perfect. New, clean, great location, wonderful, happy employees, amazing breakfast, .....the best Residence Inn anywhere. Anything I could criticize was perfect. Book it right now!

Room Tip: Good views from the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
jarakus,
WOW! We are flattered. Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing to stay at our hotel. Be assured, we will not rest on our success. In fact, we will continue to work hard each and every day to be ready for the next guest arriving, going to breakfast, or looking for directions. We hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guests again when the road brings you back to Austin! Thank you again and travel well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The somewhat larger rooms that come with the Residence Inn brand can be nice when you're travelling, even if you have no need of a kitchenette. This hotel is a short walk to 6th St., the Convention Center, and a short ride to SoCo and UT. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Matt,
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We are located right in the heart of Austin and our Residence Inn provides all of the features and amenities of larger hotels but we offer complimentary internet and breakfast to all of our Residence Inn guests. Be sure to let our amazing associates help you make the most out of your time in Austin. They have great recommendations for all of the exciting events and entertainment in town and are always ready to share. Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to the opportunity to entertain on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice, wtih a very nice lobby. The hotel staff is extremely nice and helpful. The rooms are big and spacious. The downfall would be that the walls are paper thin. I used points to get the top floor room with a view, and had I paid the $350 a night I would have been sorely dissapointed. The bathtub was dirty and full of hair, it was quite disgusting. All night long all we heard was people in the halls, other rooms, elevators, and police sirens. You would think from the 12th floor the street noise would be muted, but it was definitly not. However, the veiw was fantastic. Breakfast is mediocre, powdered eggs, but they have a good selection of different things. The fruit was very fresh and delicious. I wouldn't stay here again though due to the noise level. I'm just glad it was for only one night. If you do need to go downtown, the location can't be better.

Room Tip: Don't get the corner room with a view if you want a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Julia A,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not exceed your—or our own—expectations. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and operations teams so we can work to improve our product and service and ensure your next stay with us you receive the "wow" experience that you deserve.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The staff is eager to please you from the moment you walk in the door. The rooms are clean and spacious. There is a great restaurant attached to the hotel for convenient dinning. This hotel is just a few minutes walk from several great restaurants and shopping. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polishedfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Polishedfingers,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your review and especially for your kind words about of front desk team. They take pride in meeting and greeting as many guests as possible. You will find them in the center of the lobby each and every day, providing directions, inquiring on the great dinner that a guest had the previous night or just wishing a business traveler a successful day. I am proud your noticed their efforts! Thank you for staying with us, we will look forward to the opportunity to host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore virbant downtown Austin, Texas while retreating to the Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. Guests of our hotel are served complimentary breakfast every morning before guests attend conferences, trade shows and networking events at Austin Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing