We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great residence inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #40 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another great residence inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the downtown residence inn during our road trip round Texas. We arrived late afternoon & check in was smooth & easy. We'd booked a 1 bedboom suite as I couldn't find any prices for 2 bedroom. When we arrived in the room it was a 2 bedroom so I called down to reception. They'd actually upgraded us which was great. This suite was smaller than the one we'd just stayed in San Antonio however the amenities were the exact same, queen bed, TV, ensuite, large wardrobe. Our suite had 2 air con systems & the only downside was my side didn't seem to cool as much as it said on the thermostat.

The residence inn & courtyard are in same building so the receptions are separated but you got to use amenities of both hotels. There is a Starbucks in the courtyard & the sports bar had the free buffet breakfast. In the sports bar you can also order breakfast from menu for a price but the buffet has enough choice you don't need to pay.

The best thing about hotel is location, 6th street is 2 blocks away, the Capitol a 10min walk & flagship wholegoods about 15mins.

All in all another great, clean hotel by marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot_in_Aussieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Scot_in_Aussieland,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for the Austin leg of your trip. Each and every associate appreciates your business and applaud your very informative review for future visitors. As always we will be ready to be of service when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    154
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
71
92
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Austin to check out some of the great local BBQ restaurants and to visit the city for the first time. I've always enjoyed my stays at other Marriott Residence Inns and Austin was no exception. As everyone has mentioned the hotel is very nicely located, there are bus stops around the area and a metro train stop right across the street.

If you're traveling with a pet, like we were, there is a nice dog park one very short block over from the hotel. Very nice and unexpected.

As many restaurants as are in the area, it's still nice to be able to just pop downstairs for a quick coffee or a drink. There is a Starbucks accessible from inside the hotel and Champions Restaurant & Sports Bar for a drink and a bite to eat. (Breakfast is served there as well)

For the most part valet was timely with our car considering the small area they have to work with and the amount of people that were there for the Labor Day weekend. A bit of jockeying around with all of the cars but we never waited more than 5 or 10 minutes. Great to not have to worry about finding parking.

Overall we had a very nice stay at this Residence Inn and would stay there again the next time we’re in Austin. Definitely recommend it if you’re traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tearitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Tearitup,
Thank you so much for choosing our pet friendly hotel. As you mentioned the dog park is just across the street from the hotel and the 'leash free' dog park is only a few blocks away along Lady Bird Lake. Also, thank you for recognizing our thoughtful associates as they make our hotel special. We all look forward to hosting the next time you are in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel has a new, clean feel. Staff are very friendly and well trained. Location is great, walking distance to restaurants and bars. Free wifi is available, breakfast was included and about what you would expect. The only catch is the parking is a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
rnally,
Thank for posting a great summary of our hotel on Tripadvisor. Every associate here at out hotel appreciates your business and looks forward to entertaining in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice staff, perfect location, clean room, good deal. We walked from Whole Foods where we were able to cook healthy meals in the room when we weren't gorging ourselves with all of the great food all around us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Jeff D,
Your ability to cook when surrounded by all the amazing restaurants in Austin is impressive! Thank you for letting everyone know about the Original Whole Foods supermarket located just under a mile from the hotel. We also offer complimentary Whole Foods delivery to the hotel thru their online portal. Jeff, thank you for staying with us while in Austin! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Residence in during SXSW Interactive 2013 and really enjoyed this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and quite spacious. The staff was extremely accommodating to all of our needs (we abused the bell boy a bit having him haul boxes and boxes of merch for a party we were throwing.)

I shared a room with a coworker and had to sleep on the pullout bed in the couch. It was what you would expect from a pullout mattress, it wasn't the most comfortable but I was able to sleep just fine.

I also felt extremely safe here. SXSW is a CRAZY time if you've ever been, and they closed down all entrances with the exception of one and had a few bouncer/doormen checking for keys before you entered. Was comforting that some drunk stranger wasn't going to follow me in.

One of the best things about this hotel was the location. It's right smack in the downtown area and everything is within a 5-10 minute walk at most. Was quite nice for accessibility during SXSW.

The free breakfast here was a nice addition. It saved me some money and actually wasn't bad. Powdered eggs and all. The waitstaff here was also very friendly, by the end of our trip we became friends with half the waitstaff. The attached Starbucks was also very nice. :D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
vanessarae,
Thank you so much for celebrating our amazing associates on your Trip Advisor review. They make our hotel special. Only one person was heart broken...The Chef. He would never use powder eggs and works hard to source most of our products locally. When you return for SXSW 2014 he will be sure to make you up some fresh over easy eggs! Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although I live in Austin, I had a corporate retreat here last week. The room was nicely appointed, comfortable, and had everything I needed. The lobby has a great area to plug in your laptop and free Wi-Fi made working from the lobby easy. The hotel is a block away from one of my favorite restaurants, Eddie V's. Staff is helpful...can't think of a negative although I wish the bar in the lobby was less of a sports bar. With so many places within walking distance, though, it is even tough to complain about that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDKAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
JDKAC,

Thank you so much for posting your review of you recent business 'trip'. For future visitors to Austin please take JDKAC's advice and visit Eddy V's Steak House located right behind the hotel. You can thank him later! JDKAC, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day Weekend, which was also UT's opening weekend of football. Hotel staff was excellent, always greeting you upon entering and asking if they could help you with anything. Hotel has a no-party policy, which kept the hotel quiet at night even though Austin itself is a loud, party city. Valet was $29 per day and was very quick at pulling our car up. Room was new (or newly renovated), very clean and pretty big, with a very large sofa for lounging. Residence Inn also comes with free breakfast, which I believe is not free at the Courtyard by Marriott. The Residence and Courtyard occupy the same building and appear to both be great places to stay. Location is perfect for access to Town Lake/River, 6th Street, Capital, Rainey Street, etc. We will return upon our next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
DaveA10,
We all appreciate your business and thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We will continue to do our best to keep the hotel as a place where you can escape the energy of the 'Live Music Capital.' As you mention breakfast is included in the room rate at the Residence Inn. At the Courtyard by Marriott you would have a choice to book a room or a room with breakfast. Thank you again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-remodeled Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention center is in the heart of downtown adjacent to the Convention center and within walking distance of the famed 6th Street and Warehouse Entertainment District. Guests love this ideal location with easy access to all of Austin’s favorite destinations including the State Capitol and the University of Texas. The remodeled lobby features trendy designs and comfortable seating areas in the Gatehouse that are perfect to catch up with family and friends. Guests also love the onsite dining options including Champions Sports Bar & Restaurants serving over 25 draft beers as you watch the big game on their 24 HD TVs, and also the Starbucks Café which offers delicious sandwiches, pastries, and their signature coffee. The renovated, apartment-stryle Guest rooms are 50% larger than a standard hotel guest room and offer luxury Queen beds, flat-screen TVs, separate living and dining areas, and full kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Guests enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and rooftop terrace offering stunning downtown Austin views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing