We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveler rating
330
210
56
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
210
56
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampions restaurantgreat locationfront desktwo blockssmall indoor poolfull kitchenfree breakfastwithin walking distanceone bedroom suiteaustin downtownself parkingliving areacorner roomnight lifewould stay here againfresh fruitvalet staff
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 636 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel has a new, clean feel. Staff are very friendly and well trained. Location is great, walking distance to restaurants and bars. Free wifi is available, breakfast was included and about what you would expect. The only catch is the parking is a little pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

rnally,
Thank for posting a great summary of our hotel on Tripadvisor. Every associate here at out hotel appreciates your business and looks forward to entertaining in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice staff, perfect location, clean room, good deal. We walked from Whole Foods where we were able to cook healthy meals in the room when we weren't gorging ourselves with all of the great food all around us!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Jeff D,
Your ability to cook when surrounded by all the amazing restaurants in Austin is impressive! Thank you for letting everyone know about the Original Whole Foods supermarket located just under a mile from the hotel. We also offer complimentary Whole Foods delivery to the hotel thru their online portal. Jeff, thank you for staying with us while in Austin! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Residence in during SXSW Interactive 2013 and really enjoyed this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and quite spacious. The staff was extremely accommodating to all of our needs (we abused the bell boy a bit having him haul boxes and boxes of merch for a party we were throwing.)

I shared a room with a coworker and had to sleep on the pullout bed in the couch. It was what you would expect from a pullout mattress, it wasn't the most comfortable but I was able to sleep just fine.

I also felt extremely safe here. SXSW is a CRAZY time if you've ever been, and they closed down all entrances with the exception of one and had a few bouncer/doormen checking for keys before you entered. Was comforting that some drunk stranger wasn't going to follow me in.

One of the best things about this hotel was the location. It's right smack in the downtown area and everything is within a 5-10 minute walk at most. Was quite nice for accessibility during SXSW.

The free breakfast here was a nice addition. It saved me some money and actually wasn't bad. Powdered eggs and all. The waitstaff here was also very friendly, by the end of our trip we became friends with half the waitstaff. The attached Starbucks was also very nice. :D

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

vanessarae,
Thank you so much for celebrating our amazing associates on your Trip Advisor review. They make our hotel special. Only one person was heart broken...The Chef. He would never use powder eggs and works hard to source most of our products locally. When you return for SXSW 2014 he will be sure to make you up some fresh over easy eggs! Thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although I live in Austin, I had a corporate retreat here last week. The room was nicely appointed, comfortable, and had everything I needed. The lobby has a great area to plug in your laptop and free Wi-Fi made working from the lobby easy. The hotel is a block away from one of my favorite restaurants, Eddie V's. Staff is helpful...can't think of a negative although I wish the bar in the lobby was less of a sports bar. With so many places within walking distance, though, it is even tough to complain about that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDKAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

JDKAC,

Thank you so much for posting your review of you recent business 'trip'. For future visitors to Austin please take JDKAC's advice and visit Eddy V's Steak House located right behind the hotel. You can thank him later! JDKAC, thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day Weekend, which was also UT's opening weekend of football. Hotel staff was excellent, always greeting you upon entering and asking if they could help you with anything. Hotel has a no-party policy, which kept the hotel quiet at night even though Austin itself is a loud, party city. Valet was $29 per day and was very quick at pulling our car up. Room was new (or newly renovated), very clean and pretty big, with a very large sofa for lounging. Residence Inn also comes with free breakfast, which I believe is not free at the Courtyard by Marriott. The Residence and Courtyard occupy the same building and appear to both be great places to stay. Location is perfect for access to Town Lake/River, 6th Street, Capital, Rainey Street, etc. We will return upon our next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

DaveA10,
We all appreciate your business and thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We will continue to do our best to keep the hotel as a place where you can escape the energy of the 'Live Music Capital.' As you mention breakfast is included in the room rate at the Residence Inn. At the Courtyard by Marriott you would have a choice to book a room or a room with breakfast. Thank you again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews