We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service - Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #62 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past Friday night, celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. Upon learning about our anniversary, the gentleman helping us congratulated us and offered to upgrade our room! We thought that was very nice, and when we came to our room later - we found a handwritten card congratulating us, 2 bottles of wine and some chocolate. The wine was in a plastic bottle so nothing too expensive, but I was pleasantly surprised that they went out of their way on a busy Friday night to recognize our special night. The room was clean, and spacious and very quiet. This is the most reasonable downtown Austin hotel that is close to downtown without a lot of walking. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moparfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

moparfamily,
It was our pleasure and may you enjoy 15 more special years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

A well equipped room in a great location for us going to a concert a short walk away. We stayed on a weekend, and due to its proximity to the entertainment district they have large signs up in the lobby about tolerance to noise after 11pm. We did have noisy neighbours - clearly the room next to us was the gathering place for a few rooms near us. On mentioning this to the staff, they explained that they have a strict policy about this, and if there is a complaint about noise after 11pm, the room are advised. If this continues there is a no tolerance policy and people will be asked to leave. On the second night we did have more noise in our room after midnight so rang reception and could hear a visit to the room very quickly after this. So were impressed with how quickly they responded, and attended to the issue. This was let down a bit by the reception staff in the morning who when we mentioned the night before they said that being in the entertainment district - this is what you can expect. Other staff had been very good, but unfortunately this attitude did let it down somewhat. Apart from this, the room was great, and the breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma-Tsultrim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Emma-Tsultrim W,
Thank you for spending your weekend with us in Austin. While we are right in the entertainment center of Austin we do take late night disturbance by others very serious. I am sorry for the poor response your recieved in the morning. I will be sure to work with every memeber of my team to better handle similar situations going forward. Thank you again and we hope to be your hotel of choice the next time you are in Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a great time at our last visit at this hotel. We also took 2 little dogs with us and we put them in the soft crate when we were out on the 6th street. Room looked new and clean with a great city view. The location was the best if you plan to go to 6th St. The staffs were really professional and friendly. The only we didn't like about this location was that it was kinda expensive to park there but not too bad considered being in downtown. There is also a grass area around the corner if you travel with your dogs and they need a place to relive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allabouthappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

All About Happiness,
What an appropriate Tripadvisor Name! We love it! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback with future guests. We are dog friendly at the Residence Inn and the park that is right next to the hotel is a great spot for our 4 leg guests. Also, the walking trail and off leash area on the water are favorites. Parking at all the downtown hotels will be around the $25-$30 range depending if you prefer to park on your own or utlize valet services. We are happy to offer both options for standard size cars and trucks. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to entertaining in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Friends of mine and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Residence Inn Conv Ctr in Austin. We had a great experience with this hotel and staff (both here and at the Courtyard which is connected). We reserved the larger room with the full kitchen and pull out sofa and it was spacious, impeccably clean, and well appointed. We enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast each morning and still can't believe how much was offered each day! Just AMAZING! (seriously this is not pastries and coffee, we're talking full on delicious breakfast selections and superb service). The front desk staff were enthusiastic about their city and ready to help with anything we needed. We enjoyed the pool area one day and found it to be a nice oasis after a day of touring in 93 degree Texas heat! I would recommend this hotel again and again based on our experience. Great job in training your staff and keeping the vibe in Austin thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgr1968NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

dgr1968NewJersey,
I just shared your comments with the entire hotel. Thank you for recognizing our amazing associates. They make so many guests feel at home with thier genuine care! Thank you for your business and we are all pleased you had a great time in our beautiful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great Hotel close to everything downtown. Staff are friendly and courteous. This was a business trip and I went for training and needed to be alert and up early throughout a weekend. I was a little nervous when I realized the hotel was in ground zero of "party central" for Austin. But the hotel was quiet and the staff took great care of taking care of business guests. I appreciate that!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

MEL,
So glad you chose our hotel as your home while in Austin. Our team knows the importance of each and every business trip and works hard to help our travelers excel. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of night in business. The hotel is very nice and staff was great. There's a restaurant that has a breakfast and lunch buffet at a good price with a nice (not huge) selection. It's a stones throw from the Capitol so you can walk to the Capitol for sight seeing. It's also not far from 6th street if you're looking for that Austin nightlife.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDC_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

PDC_Lovers,
Thank you for for staying with us and for sharing the information about the proximity to the Capitol. Also, right behind the Capitol is the Bob Bullock History musuem and IMAX theaters. Thank you again. See you next time you are in Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed one night for the cap10k run and were very much impressed with the property. It is like an upscale residence inn. The decors were different (very posh!) although the layout was about the same. Booked the studio suite corner suite which is said to be smaller than the usual suite but the space is still good enough for 2-3 people. The views of the city were slightly above average but its something I can do without. Room amenities were the same with other residence inn with your full sized fridge, microwave, stove, and sink.

We stayed at the ninth floor so I did not have any problems with the noise from 6th street. When you walk along the corridors, however, you can hear noise from the other rooms. You dont really hear it much when you are inside the room.

Check in was quick and the desk personnel were all friendly and very accomodating! They had coffee and fruits in the lobby around the time of breakfast. Breakfast was amazing! The ambiance of the sports bar (Champions) was amazing and the selection was great. They had eggs, lots of fresh fruits, french toast, bacon and sausage, even chicken fingers!

Gym and pool were larger than in other residence inn that I have stayed at. Worth checking it out.

Location was excellent. We just walked to sixth street, congress avenue, across the bridge to the starting line of the race, State Capitol maybe 15 minutes away.

Self parking is reasonable for the convenience. You had in and out privileges and if you run out of space when you come back I think they do valet for you. The self-parking was almost full when we checked in around 5:30 pm on a Saturday. I dont know if this is usual but better to come early and get a slot. I paid 25 dollars for the self park tax inclusive. I think they do have cheaper open parking around for about 10 dollars but I do prefer the convenience.

The hotel in terms of price I think is comparable with the other large hotels in the area so I would say it is a good value for your money.

Overall had fun with our stay in the area. Would do it again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dichieport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dichieport,
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We hope you hade a great time at one of our favorite events of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $165 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore virbant downtown Austin, Texas while retreating to the Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. Guests of our hotel are served complimentary breakfast every morning before guests attend conferences, trade shows and networking events at Austin Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing