We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #55 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location and Room!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is a great location in downtown Austin. It's about two blocks walking distance to 6th street.

The hotel itself is right next door to a Courtyard by Marriott so there are two sides of the lobby. They also have a nice curfew time to avoid having loud late night parties in the hotel which is nice for non-partying guests.

The room had a King Bed as well as a Full Sleeper Sofa. There is no room divider so it's pretty much a studio room. It can get a bit tight if you have four sleeping to a room but it's still a nice comfortable room with a small kitchenette.

Free breakfast was included with the room but unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of it since there are so many great places to eat in Austin!

Overall, the hotel was nice and clean and secure. The parking fees seem a bit high but that might be because it's a hotel in downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrganizedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
On behalf of all the associates at the hotel, Thank you. We appreciate your business and your review. We do look forward to entertaining in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    161
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
78
96
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

For someone who does a lot of business traveling, I was happy to find the Residence Inn in downtown Austin. This hotel provides decent value, is in a good central location and has lovely friendly well-trained staff to help make your stay even more decent.

I stayed there in January 2013 and was impressed with its up to date decor from the moment you walk into the hotel and all the way to the rooms! I was a wee bit confused as to the front desk arrangement because it is really two hotels connected together since we had tried to check in at the Marriott desk only to be directed to the Residence Inn check in desk on the other side of the hotel.

It's very good value at the Residence since you have free internet as well as a hot breakfast. The staff are very helpful, cheery and engaging, always saying hello as you passed by.

I also appreciated the location since it was close to lots of downtown activity as well as a number of restaurants. The only drawback was that I found it quite noisy for sleep purposes hearing people partying outside as well as sirens, etc. Maybe the staff can recommend a quieter location in the hotel so don't hesitate to ask if you are a restless sleeper.

I was very impressed to see that the Residence Inn room actually had a kitchen in it, which I didn't use but could see if you were staying in Austin for some time that it would be very convenient. There was even a dishwasher and full sized fridge in the room! Speaking of the fridge, it made loud knocking sounds so I actually unplugged it the last night of my stay since I couldn't stand it any longer!

All in all, I would definitely book this hotel again - great value, nice decor and staff and central location. A keeper!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubafriendMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
CJ,
Thank you for staying with us while in Austin. We look forward to entertaining on your next trip. Parking is Austin is similar to many large cities. Street meters are $1 per hour and require you to move the car every 3 hours at least one block. Covered garage parking is $23 for a full day/night of unlimited in and out and valet service is $29 with unlimited acess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Residence Inn a couple of times over the last couple of months and all my experiences have been great. The location of the hotel is perfect for both business and enjoying all the night life that Austin has to offer. The hotel is split down the middle between a Courtyard and the Residence Inn. The rooms on the Residence Inn are nice and spacious. You get a fridge and a microwave. I really like having a fridge. The staff are polite and accomodating. The only negative to the hotel is the cost of parking, but you really have to expect that with a downtown location. This is my go to hotel in Austin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystraveling78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
cubafriendMontreal,
Thank you for spending the weekend with us in Austin. We appreciate your business and your review. Also, thank you for mentioning our associates. It is these hard working men and women that make our hotel special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Being right across from the convention center and only two blocks from 6th street puts this hotel in the middle of the Austin action. The room was typical Residence Inn material. I was impressed by the clean windows, often times hotel windows are dirty and nasty to look out through but not here . I am always impressed by front desk staff that can recall names and Susanna was top notch. The valets were quick although a couple of times it took two phone calls to get hold of them. They were helpful with directions and very courteous. Valet parking was $27/night, ouch! This is a repeatable stay if ever back in the Austin area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Jim N,
Thank you for visiting Austin and our hotel. We appreciate you business. Parking in Austin, like all cities, is very limited and prices range from $1 per hour for uncovered street parking to $35 per night for valet services. We keep our rates right in the middle at $23 for covered garage parking with unlimited in and out options and $29 for valet service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Austin. It's basically like having your own flat in Austin, and the location is fantastic. The suites have full sized kitchens, and mine was immaculately clean and very large. I really enjoyed my room. I also swam in the pool (a bit chilly at 74-75 degrees, but fine for swimming laps on my own--it would have been crowded with others trying to do the same thing), and the breakfast spread was diverse and very fresh/tasty for an included buffet. I also appreciated the "free" wifi. The only main complaint I have is that they tried to double charge me for parking, but I caught it before checkout and got it resolved without a problem. I will definitely stay there again when I'm in Austin!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less outside partying people in downtown Austin noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whateverintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
whateverintexas,
Thank you for taking time to post your comments. We look forward to entertaining on your next trip to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our room was a studio on the sixth floor, facing sixth avenue. As with all residence inns it has a full kitchen complete with wine glasses (but no corkscrew).

We stayed here Friday through Monday for the purpose of exploring Austin. The hotel is well situated for that purpose, being downton on fourth street within walking distance of the state capital and many other downtown attractions. Each night of our stay sixth street (two blocks away) was filled with people enjoying the Austin music and bar scene.

Pros: The bed was very comfortable. The staff was mostly very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for exploring downtown Austin. The included breakfast is the standard RI breakfast buffet, which is very nice. It includes waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, yoguurt, fresh fruit and more. Breakfast is served in an attached restaurant until 10:00 AM. Coffed is also available in the lobby, but only until 10:00 AM. Hot chocolate was available in the lobby in the evening. There is an attached sports bar also, next to the restaurant.

Cons: Parking is $23/day. There is about a 1/2" gap around the bathroom doorknob. The coffee pot was broken and one of the bathroom lights was out when we arrived (they fixed them right away). The refrigerator makes a noise like water squirting through an orifice all night long. The south side of the hotel is facing sixth street so it was noisy until about 2:00 AM. A word of warning - If you are on the sixth floor on the south side DO NOT go through the unmarked door at the end of the hall onto the very inviting roof top patio with a panoramic view of the city - because a rude security person will demand that you leave. Mind you, there are no signs to warn the unwary that they should not pass through the door nor be on the (otherwise inviting) patio, just a rude staff member to embarass you for being there.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, choose a room on the North side of the hotel, away from the late night re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awenestjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Awenestjon,
Thank you for writing. I am pleased you had a good time exploring Austin. I have shared your feedback with our engineering team and have adressed the items in the room that your mentioned. The 'Patio' you mention is an emergency exit area and we will be sure to place a visible sign to that nature. We do look forward to entertaining again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm not one to gloat over a hotel, but I am really struggling to find things of consequence to say against my stay at this Residence Inn. I was there on business for nearly a week in early January. Everything that directly involved the hotel was really above par. The staff at the front desk were always friendly, and lines were seldom a problem. The complimentary breakfast was very nice, with a strong variety of quality foods (served at the Champions restaurant). I only was able to indulge in the managers reception once, but did enjoy it's buffet of finger foods (chicken tenders, tacos, etc) and complimentary drinks. This 'cocktail hour' as they call it is only offered (Tues-Thurs), but I enjoyed it when I had it.

Rooms/suites were very nice, certainly leaps and bounds better than a standard room, but comparable to other 1 or 2 bed suites I have experienced in the past. I was sharing the room with one other, who slept on the pull-out sofabed (which he remarked was considerably more comfortable than your average lumpy sleeper-sofa). Perks to the room were the full size refrigerator, stove/oven, nice view, and good-sized closet for hanging suits and etc. Minor gripes about the room involve the microwave, which had rollers that didn't work, and the fact the only entrance to the bathroom is through the main bedroom (only a problem if someone is seeking to get in from the sofabed). Cleaning service was in every day to make the beds and change the towels (if requested), and they really did a nice job.

All in all I had a terrific stay, and thoroughly enjoyed my time in Austin between the convention, the city, and the hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone with business at the convention center, as the 350ft walk from door to door could easily be done by a toddler, let alone any business going adult. While I flew in to town and didn't rent a car, I really didn't need one between the Airport Flyer bus that drops you across the street and the plethora of attractions located in easy walking distance of the hotel (incl 6th street, the capital, etc). Happy travels!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weatherguy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
weatherguy92,
We are all very pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. The entire team strives to be the best hospitality professionals in the industry each and everyday. They will truely enjoy reading your comments about them. Thank you for pointing out the Austin Airport Flyer that provides door to door service from the airport for only $1. It departes at the top and bottom of the hour starting early each morning. We look forward to having you back in Austin in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore virbant downtown Austin, Texas while retreating to the Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. Guests of our hotel are served complimentary breakfast every morning before guests attend conferences, trade shows and networking events at Austin Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing