We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #39 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great property if you are here for a convention. Two hotels in one, you pick if you need a room or suite. I stayed on the Residence Inn side and enjoyed the extra space and included breakfast, which was better than the usual Residence Inn fare. Extra afternoon snacks, good little gym and small market made it a good stay. I will stay here again in January.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put on the second floor. The gym and pool creates a lot of traffic one that floor. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
ocean35,

We are ready to entertain in January! Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to provide a reveiw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    146
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
67
88
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent five days in Austin with my grown daughters. This hotel was in a wonderful location--we walked all around--SoCo, Sixth Street and vicinity, West 6th street, just about to the capitol. Very easy to navigate. Room was clean--and had refrigerator, stove and microwave! Breakfast buffet was included and was varied and delicious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping in this hotel responded more quickly than at other high end chains. Great all around!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better, especially at night when 6th Street can get a little rowdy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
travelmf82,

We thank you for your review but are more excited that you had a great time with your daughters! We often get caught up and don't get to make as many memories as we would like. The fact that we can be a part of such important family time puts a smile on the face of every associate in the hotel. Thank you again for enjoying a great family weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel. First it has easy access to the capitol metro station, just around the corner (bus from and to the airport). Check in was fast and the personal was very attentive. We stayed for about 5 nights and the room was perfect. Comfy beds, great bath products( Paul Mitchell) and the beds were delightful. The residence inn get free breakfast buffet on Champions ( in the same hotel) and it was a very varied buffet...just delicious. They also have a social hour with free beer and snacks which was very good. I completely recommend this hotel to anyone. Its just steps away from the convention center and the party on 6th street. I would say, perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoryRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
LoryRB
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. All of our Associates thank you for your business and look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
281 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Austin weekend with my lady and some friends. Lucky enough that our friend got a two-bedroom suite at a great price. Central location a few minutes walk from the restaurants and night spots in downtown Austin. Short drive to SoCo as well. Clean, spacious rooms. Good shower. Excellent complementary breakfast. Valet parking a little chaotic!! Good spot to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
So glad you had a great girls weekend in the Music Capital. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Marriott never disappoints. Is hotel is conveniently located near the convention centre and the exciting 6th Street activities. Greeted by friendly, welcoming staff who can't do enough for you. The hotel is modern, upbeat and clean as a whistle. Will definitely return.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Canuck 572
Thank you for selecting us as your hotel of choice while in Austin. Our location and hotel is only topped by our amazing associates. They are at your service with a smile for each and eveyr guest. We look forward to your next trip to Texas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Marriott property is only two blocks from the hopping, sixth street district and excellent restaurants. It's a combination--Residence Inn on the left, Courtyard on the right...the bar in the Courtyard side is excellent...big bar, good drink menu. Rooms are nicely appointed, everything you expect from Marriott; valet parking and super friendly staff....and, there's a little Starbucks in the Courtyard end as well. Great value for a great location. Nothing to complain about from my group. We had a 2 Br Suite in the Residence Inn....the living area is small, but adequate for two couples..and splitting the cost of the suite vs. two separate rooms gave us spending money for Sixth Street.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on about a block away and my bedroom had one window wall facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Gary307

Thank you for spending the weekend with us! We are so glad to hear you had a great time with your friends! We will be ready for you on your next trip to the Music Capitol of the World!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was there for business. The hotel was clean and the service you recieve is beyond what you would get at a 5-star hotel. We had many people greet us all the time. The fresh-squeezed watermelon and pineapple juice and cookies were delicous! The breakfast and evening reception was beyond my expectations. The employees really cared about your stay. The only compliant I had was that they put me on the side of the hotel where the club music played loudly until 2:00 am. I also got woken up by the drunk guests returning to their rooms one night. They offered me another room but I refused because of the inconvenience of packing and unpacking again; I opted for earplugs instead. They followed up twice with the situation which I appreciated.

I would definitely stay there again but would request a room away from the clubs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
chicbiscut,

Thank you for taking time to recognize the genuine care of our staff. They take pride in making every guest feel like they are family. We do appologies for the behavior of the guests that disturbed you durring the evening. We do not accept such behavior and will amp up our efforts to curtail . Thank you again for your business, we will look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-remodeled Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention center is in the heart of downtown adjacent to the Convention center and within walking distance of the famed 6th Street and Warehouse Entertainment District. Guests love this ideal location with easy access to all of Austin’s favorite destinations including the State Capitol and the University of Texas. The remodeled lobby features trendy designs and comfortable seating areas in the Gatehouse that are perfect to catch up with family and friends. Guests also love the onsite dining options including Champions Sports Bar & Restaurants serving over 25 draft beers as you watch the big game on their 24 HD TVs, and also the Starbucks Café which offers delicious sandwiches, pastries, and their signature coffee. The renovated, apartment-stryle Guest rooms are 50% larger than a standard hotel guest room and offer luxury Queen beds, flat-screen TVs, separate living and dining areas, and full kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Guests enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and rooftop terrace offering stunning downtown Austin views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing