We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Missed Expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Missed Expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Yes, it is a good location in downtown Austin (but so would be several other hotels within a couple of blocks too). Yes, it has a Starbucks in the lobby. However, I have never rated a Marriott Hotel as "Poor" before. Especially one that costs $250 a night. I am VERY loyal to Marriott. My reasons rating this hotel as poor are 1) NOISE and 2) No Hot Water. We stayed on the 4th floor and could hear street noise in the room. I am not talking about the occasional siren or other very loud noise source. We could hear cars driving past, drunks and bums shouting on the street, etc. We also could hear any noise in the hall. The ice machine turning on and off 2 rooms down. Normal people walking to their rooms. Talking in the adjacent rooms. A child crying in a near room. Not to mention when the party people rolled in from 6th street at 3 am. The noise insulation is very poor! Then when we went to take a shower in the morning there was no hot water. The best it got after running for about 5 min was luke warm. Needless to say i was very disappointed in my stay here. Otherwise, the hotel location and facilities are very good. (If you are noise tolerant then you might like staying here.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhackerott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
mrhackerott,
Thank you for sharing you feedback with us. I good night sleep for each guest is our goal and I extend my apologies for the multiple interuptions you experienced. Our enginerring team has also fixed the valve that prevented your room from gaining hot water in the morning. We do look forward to keeping you as a loyal Marriott guest and hope we get a second chance to entertain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    160
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
43
69
21
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Clean Rooms and perfect location. Stayed here for a conference at the Convention center across the street. 6th street is just 2 blocks up. Just ask that your room not be right above the fire station. Every time they got called out it was LOUD. Even on a high floor. Otherwise everything was great. Starbucks and a big sports bar downstairs.

Room Tip: avoid rooms above the firehouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaayron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aaayron,
Thank you for taking time to post your review and for choosing our hotel for your conference. We look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is located right where you want to be. You can easily walk to the convention center, or wander along 6th Street for some grown up fun. The capitol is close by, as well as lots of great restaurants.

Our room was on the top floor and we had a great view of the city. The room was large and included a couch and desk. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was very nice. The towels were adequate. The bathroom was modern and the whole room was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
bauercat,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments on our hotel and our amazing location in the Heart of Austin. See you Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to an Executive room which was a nice touch. The staff was always very accommodating and very nice. The room and bathroom were both very clean and we enjoyed the view of downtown from our high floor. I also liked that every morning, there were bananas, apples, oranges and coffee available in the lobby. The Starbucks downstairs was also nice to have. I also liked that we had an empty fridge and microwave in the room.

The location is unbeatable, you are in the middle of downtown and walking distance to everywhere. Also, we had no noise issues whatsoever, probably because we were on a very high floor. My only small complaints would be - the toiletries could be better and parking is a bit expensive (but this is expected of downtown). Wi-Fi is free. I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a high floor, in an executive room. They get a lot of daylight and some have nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Jen D,
Thank you so much for staying with us. We all appreciate your business and are glad you had a chance to enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to the chance to entertain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice stay. I will continue to stay at this hotel. Great location within walking distance to so much....cool lobby, nice and clean rooms. Staff was very nice and so was valet staff. Very professional. Starbucks a nice added bonus.

Room Tip: high floor is always best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Sandy D,
Thank you for staying with us on your most recent trip to Austin. We look forward to having back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's a pretty big property with a Residence Inn attached right next door. They have free computers with printers in the lobby as well as free Wi-Fi. There's an on site restaurant called Champions and a Starbucks coffee. The rooms themselves are pretty big. They have a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable tv and alarm, a small couch, work desk and flat screen tv as well as a coffee maker. No safety box in the room. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBiird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
TBiird,
Thank you for selecting our hotel while you were in Austin. Your business is greatly appreciated by all the great associates here in the hotel. Thank you and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Comfortable king bed. Towels a little flimsy. Air conditioning a bit difficult to control. Pleasant staff. I'd stay there again if I was in the area. Great if you're at the convention center- it's right across the street!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funnykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your business and look forward to entertaining in the future. Marriott has changed the specifications for our towel and we should have them all in place by the end of summer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
#58 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing