We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #65 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The staff is extremely polite (Texas Friendly) and professional! This hotel has everything I needed without the stuffiness of the larger hotels up the street. Comfortably large, with all the extra's. Rooms facing north have great view of Austin-Life. Location was within walking distance of all my meetings, and the morning buffet was a great way to start my day. Will definitely stay here, on my next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Mark,
Thank you for sharing and for enjoying our Texas Hospitality. We look forward to entertaining in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 439 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a fantastic Courtyard in downtown Austin.

First off, it's not like any other Courtyard I've stayed in. It's more like a flagship Marriott.

Location - There isn't much more to say about the location that hasn't already been said - it's perfect. Easy walk to pretty much anything downtown.

Parking - I self-parked for $23 a day. In/out privileges. Easy access to the elevator on each floor of parking.

Room - BIG room. We were on the corner and there was an entry "hall" into the room. It was huge. Great TV (we commented on how great the picture was). Quiet and clean. The bathroom was nicely equipped as well.

I cannot imagine staying anywhere other than the Courtyard next time I am in downtown Austin.

(I used certificates so my value was Infinity.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davechri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

davechri,
Wow...Thank you for posting your review. I will share your cmments with then entire team. They always try to be 5 stars and your next visit I am sure they will exceed expectations.
Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As others have posted, the location can't be beat. Especially if you are going to the convention center (across the street) or want to check out 6th Street (two short blocks away).

Breakfast at Champions off the lobby is cheap ($10-$11), but it's a fairly basic buffet.

The only negative I experienced was noise. Other reviews have noted it too. There was a bit of noise from passers by in the hallway. However, I had a connecting room and the noise level coming through the door from the next room was unacceptable. Fortunately my neighbors were quiet, for the most part. But I woke up every morning when they turned on their TV, and woke up every night when they came in and had just normal volume conversations. The door didn't block any noise; I woke up thinking someone was standing at the foot of my bed having a conversation.

I did ask the next morning to be moved but was told the hotel was full and to ask again later.

Because of the noise issues, I don't think I would stay here again. If I did, I would make sure to not be assigned a connecting room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

DCA,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while at the convention. We appreciate your business. I will be sure to look into the conecting doors and what can be done to prevent further noise. We keep our team deployed on the guest room floors to help remind the party goers that there are others sleeping. We do hope you give us another try when you are back in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The courtyard has such a good location you almost feel like you can stay at the hotel and still be in the middle of all the action. It's very clean and the staff serves at a higher level than expected in a courtyard. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The onside Starbucks and champions sports bar are a nice addition to the usual courtyard lobby dining. Nice fitness center, too. Great value for the location.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Chip,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your business and thank you for the kinds words recognizing our associates. They are top notch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, only 2 blocks from 6th steet, within walking distance to various restaurants. Champions Grill and Starbucks located on site. Nice fitness center. The staff was very helpful and willing to help. The rooms are OK, but a good location for having business meetings. The food was very good and the waitstaff very very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTravelers3423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

TexasTravelers3423,
Thank you for your review and for mentioning our amazing and hard working associates. They are truly hospitality people that strive to extend thier genuine care to each and every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are travelling to downtown Austin for business or you are looking to enjoy 6th street, this hotel is a good spot. It is actually connected to the Renaissance next door and both offer clean, quality rooms that you expect from the Marriott chain. the fitness center (located on 2nd floor of Renaissance for both hotels) iis nicer than most similar hotels with a good number of cardio machines, a dumbell rack, and a few weight machines, plus an attached pool/spa that overlooks the city. the rooms themselve are large, with good work space, and a nice bathroom.

It's a bit pricier than some other courtyards ($170-250/night while I was here in mid-jan) and valet parking was pretty steep ($30+/night), but given the location, you cant go wrong here.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank thehelpfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

thehelpfuldad,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We will always look forward to entertaining whenever you are in Austin. Most hotels in Austin only offer a valet option for parking but we do extend two options $23 for covered garage parking with unlimited in and out and $29 for valet services. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is located 5 min walk from famous 6th street and easy to get to from highways. Staff is very kind, from parking, front desk and restaurant. Gold members are welcomed with little gift. Rooms are outstanding, hotel is very new so that helps. If there is one downside, when staying during the weekend there are some younger party guests which can make some noice. Your choice to join the party or not. I enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Wereldreiziger987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Wereldreiziger98,

We appreciate your business and hope to entertain you and your friends for years to come. From restaurants to nighlife and the convention center there is no better location in Austin to conduct business or to enjoy the music and nightlife in Austin. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
#58 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $213 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing