We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Price_DvB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #63 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Location and Price_DvB”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel was not unique, and the only part of my stay that was surprising was the room’s layout (instead of facing the wall, the bed faced the window). All of this should be considered positive. There are hotels that specialize in certain experiences and themes, but this is simply a functional, well maintained place to rest and store luggage.

The best aspect of this hotel is the value. This value is derived from a location within walking distance of many great sights and eateries, and 6th Street’s attractions as well. The price is usually very reasonable, unless there is a major event taking place in that area. This trip occurred during the ROT Rally, and I definitely appreciated being able to walk to the delicious food at the Bistro, but being a little further from the growling engines of the bikes that prowled the 6th Street strip.

The staff was young and enthusiastic, and decently competent and speedy. There is complimentary wi-fi in the lobby, and I think in the rooms too. The property seems clean and well designed and it seems like a great place to stay for business or with the family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for enjoying our hotel and Austin. We will see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    180
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
46
77
24
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and it was OK. I'm here for a conference this week and was so pleased to see that they have renovated the entire hotel! It is just across the street from the Austin Convention Center which makes it so convenient. The light rail station is also next door. Short walk to 6th Street and Town Lake. The lobby is very nice and they have added a Starbucks. Hotel employees are there in lobby to greet you and offer any assistance. Every employee I encountered was pleasant and professional. My room looked and smelled new! Everything was very nice. Will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank outtahereaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We are happy that construction is over and our guest can enjoy the newly refreshed property.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

stayed here for spring graduation festivities for 2 nights. the room included a king bed, TV, mini-fridge that wasnt rigged with goodies or sensors, and a sofabed. the bathroom was spacious and updated. our room included a view of the light rail station just outside the hotel.

this hotel is conveniently located close to 6th street bars, congress st., UT campus. they have an underground parking garage for guests ($21/night for self parking). another plus is they have security present at the door on thurs-sat nights to secure the hotel for guests and weed out any drunks from 6th street.

overall, i enjoyed my stay as they provided all i could ask for from a hotel at an affordable price. they charged $269/night, but keep in mind all other hotels were $300+/night for graduation weekend.

Room Tip: choose rooms away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Carmen1318,

Thank you for staying with us durring UT graduation. We have just completed our 8 Million dollar renovation and are looking forward to entertaining you and your family for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Courtyard during ROT weekend and I must say that I was thoroughly impressed with the staff and the way the high traffic was handled. I was greeted promptly as a platinum member and was checked in swiftly. I loved the fact that they didn't allow us (the guests) to be disturbed and enforced a very strict no party policy in the hotel. Kudos to the staff and management.

The hotel it self is nicely refreshed and has a real open feel and look. The Champion bar downstairs is a great place to grab a drink before going out or to eat breakfast in the morning. In addition there is a Starbucks on the property so we can all have our latte fix in the morning. The rooms are just standard marriott rooms with nothing super special. If I ever need to stay in downtown Austin again I will stay here as it is just two blocks from sixth street so you can walk to all the excitement and food.

Once again, if you are made to feel like you at home while in a hotel, then that is the next level of service in my opinion. The Courtyard employees/management did that 100%.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trueratings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Trueratings,
Thank you for spending your ROT Rally weekend with us. We are please you had a chance to be one of the first guests in our newly Refreshed Rooms and Lobby areas. The functionality of the hotel has really been taken to new levels. Also, I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team. They work very hard to provide the Home away from Home feel you mention and will be really excited to hear your remarks. Thank you!
We are looking forward to being your hotel of choice when in Austin.

At your Service!
The associates of the the Austin Marriott Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My friends and I stayed and this hotel in downtown Austin. This hotel is in a great location. You can walk everywhere. Upon check-in we had friendly faces and help. The hotel is under construction. I was not aware of that. I woke up Saturday morning to pounding and a lot of noise. That pretty much spoiled sleeping in. The hotel claims they e-mailed us but since we booked through Travelocity, we were out of luck. The hotel is nice. Once the construction is done it will be much better. Another bonus, Starbucks is attached to the property. Yay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValHRGirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
ValHRGirl44,

Just wanted to update that construction will be done on the 10th of June. We look forward to the chance to host your next visit to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bernard, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here May 2012 for the state track meet. It was very convenient -- walking-distance -- to 6th Street, which was a short 2 blocks away. It was also very convenient to the track stadium & other venues on the UT campus (driving distance). The hotel was very clean, staff was friendly & helpful, even offering us umbrellas for the drizzly walk to 6th St. Room was clean, had 2 queen beds, no safe, no fridge; hotel had some construction going on so perhaps those amenities will be added. The hotel access to the restaurant was cut off due to construction -- not sure if that will open back up or what the plan is. We accessed the restaurant from the street. Even though we were there on a Saturday night, noise from 6th Street was negliible, & access to the hotel lobby was restricted to guests only. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit Austin.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByTheSea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We appreciate your business and are glad you enjoyed the hotel and Austin. We do have three types of rooms at the property. Our Executvie rooms have microwaves and refridgerators, our standard rooms do not have the microwave and refridgerator and our Residence Inn rooms have full kitchens. Thank you for understanding our light construction durring your stay. We have reopened the hotel entrance to Champions and Starbucks, the fitness center and gym have been completed and we are wrapping up the final construction touches in the next two weeks. I look forward to entertaining and showing you the completed renovation on your next visit.

Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We got a great rate through Priceline. It is convenient to a lot of restaurants and everything that is happening downtown. I am annoyed at having to pay $25 everyday to park. But it is a city and parking is a luxury. We were disappointed by the restaurant in the hotel. The food was mediocre and the service was nasty.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_R_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for taking time to rate your last visit. You are correct parking in Austin, like most cities, is a premium. Our valet service is $27 per night while our self park is $21 a night (covered parking at the same price as metered street parking). I work in the restaurant and am going to be sharing your feedback on the restaurant service with the team. We pride ourselves on being the friendliest hotel in Austin and will definalty be addressing your comments with the team. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
#58 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing