We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect”
Review of Freddie's Place - CLOSED

Freddie's Place
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Austin
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Freddie's is one of those places you'll drive by a hundred times without stopping by... Well you are missing out on a great, easy going place with friendly servers and really good food. Sure you can get more expensive food, but if you want a good meal in a relaxed setting then Freddie's is your place. While I am not a huge fan of this, they are also dog friendly, I never had a problem it's just not my favorite thing about a great place with a huge outdoor space. In the year we lived in Austin I would have to say we were at Freddie's at least once a week and sometimes more. They have a diverse menu and can accomodate large groups. While it's not on their drink list yet, this is where I created the first "Tequila Bob", so it will always have found memories and be a must visit whenever we find ourselves back in Austin.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbwessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Freddie's has lots of outdoor seating, good drink prices, and great food. Their burgers are delicious and huge. You can customize the burgers with a wide variety of options. I usually get a veggie patty, wheat bun, barbecue sauce, pineapple, and monterey jack cheese. Don't forget to order some sweet potato fries!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Dog friendly!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The patio was well shaded for a summer day. Food was excellent. Dogs were catered for. Service could be better, although it seemed it was just our waitress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The PERFECT Austin experience!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've been looking for the PERFECT Austin dining experience & now have found it! I will NEVER make a trip to Austin again w/o making a stop @ Freddie's. I love this place!!! The food is sublime, the "best" sweet-tea in town & a menu you will simply "flip" over. Great service, faboulus location, don't miss it - you won't be dissappointed - trust me... Way to cool for schoo!l

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmojo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Really laid back and fun place with great food and service. We tried the sausage "burger" which is between two belgian waffles. It was really yummy. The outside seating is really nice with lots of trees for shade and fans. Love that it is dog friendly too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing