We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a fun time...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esther's Follies

Esther's Follies
Ranked #1 of 37 Concerts & Shows in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“For a fun time...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This show is filled with cheesy comedy sketches and a magician. You'll find this place on 6th street. All of the actors are pretty good. The show is very politically driven but hilarious. The crowd on the night I went was pretty old (80's) so the sketches catered towards them I think. The magician was pretty funny and a nice break from all the sketch comedy. If you are looking for real magic show head to Vegas. This magician is more of comedian. So half of his tricks didn't work. LOL! All in all this is a fun time in Austin on a budget, tickets cost about $24.00.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meticulous-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    92
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent evening even if your not from Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very, very funny even though we weren't up on all of the Texas political humor. The magician was outstanding and also very funny, even the outside show was hilarious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You may need to wear a diaper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Expect to laugh so hard you may wet your pants. This is comedy like SNL used to have back in the 70's and 80's, when it was funny.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pjsokal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not told when bought tickets they were on "vacation"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Bought ticket on-line, arrived and found out the show was on "vacation" and they had several local stand up comics. They were OK but did NOT appreciate the deceptive transaction.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unfairly Charged”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Purchases tickets for the famous E.F. Show only to be informed upon arrival that they were on vacation. Nowhere on the website was it stated that they would be gone. In other words, paid full price to see a handful of stand up comedians from the Velveeta Room that took E.F.'s place. The comedians were funny, but not what I paid almost $60 to see. We were very disappointed that we were not informed beforehand. We were really looking forward to seeing E.F.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank teemath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esther's Follies also viewed

 

Been to Esther's Follies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing