We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilarious”
Review of Esther's Follies

Esther's Follies
Ranked #1 of 37 Concerts & Shows in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
340 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Hilarious”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Esther's is a hysterically funny comedy club, satirical musical review, magic act, and skewer of everything political and societal. Unique combination of very talented people, great writing, and willingness to poke fun at virtually everything and anything. If it's been in the news lately, Esther's will lampoon it. We roared almost the entire time. Watching the passers-by on 6th Street though the windows behind the stage is nearly as much as fun as watching the show (and sometimes is part of the show). Be forewarned that the humor will on occasion be a tad coarse for younger ears. Esther's is a large part of what makes Austin Austin and shouldn't be missed. One of the highlights of our trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jakester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    95
    16
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pure enjoyment!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this show. The staff was fun and full of energy. I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank Elraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawcatuck
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Been there done that more than once!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you like to laugh and have fun this is definately the place. Our family has been a couple of times. Staff is unique. It keeps Austin weird. It is a DO NOT MISS in Austin Can't wait to see it again.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank 713marcoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a great intro to our Austin visit”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Austin has more than music...it has comedy,too. The talented Esther's troupe uses hilarious comedy, music and magic to skewer politicians, the sexes, the quirks of Austin life and much more.
Be sure to pay attention to what's going on outside the theater's windows during the show.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mntraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bizarre and Hilarious”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We thought this sounded fun, and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our 10-day trip to Texas. We purchased reserved seats which were small theater seats with good views, but would have preferred the unreserved tables up front. The show is fast-paced and packed with riotous political, offbeat, and Texas humor and music. We had a blast (and the drinks are not overpriced).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank vttico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esther's Follies also viewed

 

Been to Esther's Follies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing