We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually good, but not this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Austin
Ranked #52 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Third stay at this hotel. Two previous visits were good. This time was not. Yellowish, gritty bits between the sheets. Not sure if it was dried foam rubber, sand, grit or bugs. Very difficult to sleep with debris and itching but didn't find until late at night when we got in. Took a sample to the manager next morning and explained but he didn't even apologize. Questionable whether we will stay at this hotel again..

Room Tip: Check the beds when you first check in. Maybe you'll get better results than I did.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdawsontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I sincerely apologize that you experienced discomfort on your recent stay with us. Our Housekeeping department takes great pride in their work, and I'm very sorry that they missed on this day. I promise you this is not a common occurance, and we certainly hope you give us another chance. Feel free to contact me directly when you make your next reservation, and I will personally inspect your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

The clerk working was condescending and rude. I watched him treat three other families with nothing but disgust. It was a chore to even get a key. No direction to the elevators or assistance for a cart to move luggage were offered. The room was just as disappointing. The lamp & sink were both cracked. The mirror had a line of something through it. Neither the AC nor the mini-fridge worked properly. The internet was slow and the tv fuzzy. The room & bathroom had strange layouts of counters. Overall not worth the hassle. I would not stay at a Wyndham property again.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Troy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I apologize that you thought you were mistreated. As I discussed with you at check in, our policy does not allow us to check guests in to rooms without having a valid ID that matches your reservation. As you did not have a reservation in your name, it did naturally delay your check in process. I'm sorry for this inconvenience. Our Engineering department immediately looked into all the room related concerns you noted, and any future guests can be sure that they were rectified immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I drove down to Austin for a dog seminar. Every one was so nice and friendly. The room was perfect for our two big dogs. I loved the way it opened out to the garden area. From the moment we walked through the doors the staff was amazing. They gave our dogs little doggy treat bags and made us feel right at home. The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. The rate was very reasonable, especially having two big dogs. Many hotels won't allow big dogs and if they do they charge a fortune. Not Wyndham. We will be back! Thanks again.
Tricia Imel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind words Tricia. We pride ourselves on be ing a dog friendly property, and I am so pleased to have hit the mark with you. Our first floor accommodations all open to the outside, and this has worked very well for our friends and families traveling with their beloved pets. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so this was my first time to Austin which was a blast. Now coming from working at "wyndham" I expected more from this hotel. There was no fridge, microwave or hair dryer. All which are very inconvenient not to have. Other then that it was decent. Pillows were not that nice but overall ok. Definitely not a area to walk around since it is mostly highways. If your goin to Austin I suggest staying downtown and renting a car.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelseyy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for visiting Austin, and thank you for staying at the Wyndham Garden Hotel. While not all our rooms have microwaves and refridgerators, we certainly do have upgraded rooms that do. We have 40 rooms with fridges and half of those also have microwaves. All of our rooms have blow dryers, but perhaps you missed it (they hang a bit conspicuously behind the bathroom door). If you ever return to Austin and would like to stay with us again, please let us know all the amenities you desire. We would be happy to work hard to accommodate all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just a nice clean hotel with a friendly staff. My room was spotless, and extremely roomy. Had a great view of the city from the window. The rate was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel, and it was very close to everything in Austin. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your positive experience with our hotel. Our housekeepers take much pride in providing a clean and comfortable place for you to call home, if only for a few days. Please call us directly next time you come to town. Our repeat guests are very special to us, and we would love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a nice hotel and a very good staff. There is nothing around the hotel. Like restaurants, night life, stores. You need transportation to get around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We are located three miles from downtown Austin, so either a car or access to a taxi are helpful when choosing to stay with us. Fortunately, we have a very large, complimentary parking lot and great relationship with our local cab companies. Our Guest Services team can help you get wherever you want to go in no time. You can be in the heart of downtown's many entertainment districts in under ten minutes. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Walkman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#25 of 201 in Austin
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Address: 3401 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $105 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing