We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Please Get New Sheets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW
Ranked #98 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Please Get New Sheets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at this location on business travel for two nights in mid-May. Arrived quite late at night and was pleased to see that the hotel had a small pantry with frozen dinners and snacks (microwaves in-room). Service was good throughout my stay.

The room itself was dated and rundown. All the bedsheets and pillowcases had holes in them, which I find unacceptable. Mattress was worn and soft in the middle. Room had clearly not been updated in 20 years or more. Another disappointment was the bathroom; it was not clean. It looked like the previous guest had spilled a coffee across the whole bathroom; I kept seeing brown spots and streaks that looked like dried coffee. This is something the cleaning staff definitely should have noticed and cleaned.

Hotel served a complimentary breakfast which was decent; cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, pancakes, etc. Common areas were kept clean and were fairly well appointed.

Overall, it was reasonable for the price. However, I would recommend to the hotel to put some money into new sheets and a few room upgrades.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Nokes,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our level of service and we are delighted to know that you found our common areas to be clean and well appointed.

However, in respect to the bedroom housekeeping, I can assure you that we try to maintain all our linens in a respectable condition. Please do accept my apologies for this oversight and for any discomforts this has caused you.

I regret that you found these aspects of your stay displeasing, your feedback will be reviewed by the hotel's management to ensure that similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
5
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed here while visiting family in Austin. The hotel is located near a mall, restaurants and the freeway which is convenient. Despite being near the freeway, we never heard the road noise. The hotel property is very clean and well kept with plenty of parking.

Despite being completely booked, the hotel was very quiet. We never heard people in either side of our room nor in the hall. This is a big plus for us.

Our room was a very spacious two queen bed room. It had an arm chair as well as a full size sofa that had a pullout bed. It also had a sink, coffee put, microwave and mini fridge. The bathroom was also large and roomy. The beds were fine, they included soft and firm pillows. I always think rating a room on a bed is subjective since people have a varied preference when it comes to mattresses. One of the things I like about Holiday Inn Express is that they don't have comforters on the bed, they triple sheet the beds which ensures they are clean.

The hotel offered a free breakfast that was a typical Holiday Inn Express fare which included eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, pastries including their cinnamon rolls, pancakes, juices and coffee. During the weekend it was pretty busy but they did a great job keeping the food stocked.

The pool area was nice. The weather wasn't exactly warm enough to go swimming but since we are from the Northwest, the kids swam anyway. It would be a great place to lounge in the warmer months.

We would definitely stay here again when we are in Austin. It has everything we want while traveling - clean, comfortable & quiet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

On a recent stay, the hotel was clean and neat. They went out of their way to check us in early which I greatly appreciated. A good location that is near resturants and a mall. Even though it's near the junction of several main traffic arteries, there was no traffic noise inside. The hotel is totally non smoking which was nice. Breakfast was close to the usual Holiday Inn Express fare, with the addition of bacon and a pancake machine instead of a waffle maker. Eating area was kept clean.

Room Tip: Choose the side of the hotel away from the resturant located close by the hotel. The resturant had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sls1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here two nights for an event at The Oasis. New hotel across the road from large and nice mall. I asked for a quiet room upon check-in but was dismayed when we found the room next to the road and next to an adjacent restaurant that had a live band playing loudly on Friday night. Asked for another room which was away from road and noise but still could hear band playing loudly. Desk clerk was unaware of the noise. Finally called restaurant and they said band would finish by 10 p.m. which they did. Room was clean and hallways had a very sweet smell. AC was okay and luckily fan ran all the time rather than clicking on and off as some do. Bed was too hard but they had two kinds of pillows which was nice. Breakfast was good and attendant did refill often but was not friendly and never walked around to pick up things or wiped off the tables. She would refill and then disappear or talk to other people back in the kitchen area. There was a large family group both mornings who seemed to be camped out in the breakfast area just to talk even though they were done eating and who took up many tables.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Turkey Day stay. Very pleased. Will stay again. Near family and best of those nearby. Better than expected. Write many negative reviews and pleased to write a positive. Not sure why I have to write a minimum of 200 characters though?

Room Tip: Be a Priority Club member. Seniors status helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UStraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were in town for a family event; and this location and property was new, clean, safe and relaxing. They served a full breakfast every morning and cookies in the afternoon. The staff were friendly and gave us good sugesstions on places to eat at or to visit. This place is equally attractive to those on pleasure trips, business trips or for families.

Room Tip: Pools overlooking the pool area get more noise, as do those facing the front of the hotel off a main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaClaremont_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came to Austin from out of state to help with an attend a cousin's wedding. This was the hotel that they had suggested and booked a block of rooms.

Hotel Service and Staff: After a long morning of traveling it was great that they let us check in a little early to our room. I was very impressed with the hotel and staff. Everything was spotless and they were constantly cleaning the public areas on off times (after the breakfast buffet closed, etc.)

Hotel Grounds/Amenities: As I said everything was VERY clean. There was a wonderful outdoor pool and hot tub and a very adequate gym. I am recovering from an injury and it is very important for me to work out every day. I could have stayed here for much longer than four days and been really comfortable. The breakfast buffet was large with many choices and everyone in our large group went away happy. This is a great value.

Hotel Rooms: The rooms were very nice with a fridge, microwave, sitting area, desk, and very comfortable beds with different types (firm, soft) of pillows. This made it great for having friends and family over to our room. We slept very well also.

Hotel Area: The surroundings were great for our occassion - very close to our relative's home and there was a jazz club and restaurant right next door, and if that is too hard - they deliver to the hotel! There was also a super target and many other restaurants nearby. Access to the interstate was quick as well which was great for getting to other areas in Austin.

Room Tip: The 3rd Floor was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelingsearchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpatel3, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments becuase they help us stay motivated to provide our guests with great service and maintain a great facility. We take pride in our service and out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Cedar Park - Lakeline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Comfort Suites NW Lakeline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW
Address: 12703 FM 620 N., Austin, TX 78750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Austin NW hotel is an all-suite hotel offering 65 100% non-smoking spacious suites with 37' LCD TV, complimentary Smart Start breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. The hotel features an outdoor pool and whirlpool, a fitness center, business center and guest laundry facility. Located in Northwest Austin, we are next door to Lakeline Mall and convenient to many fine restaurants in the area. If you are in town for business, we are located very near major corporations like State Farm, 3M, Freescale Semiconductor, Applied Materials, EMD's, Flextronics, Cisco and IBM. Lake Travis is just minutes away with breathtaking views and spectacular water sports and activities. For golfers, there are over five golf courses nearby to challenge any golfers. Visit Austin, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing