We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #104 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I was a bit skeptical of this property due to some of the reviews; but was pleasantly surprised.
The staff were awesome. My luggage was delayed and they delivered it to my room. I needed a ride DT and they were happy to oblige, the bartender was awesome, maid service and room service were great too; food was enjoyable.
Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and updated.
The location was great too. Easily accessible to the freeways, close to downtown and of course right near the lake too.
Could I walk to town? If I was ok getting that much excersise; no problem, but it would take some time In all seriousness, things could not have been any better. Felt like a very safe area even though there are some depressed homes around.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 812 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

I picked this inn for nostalgic reasons, and made my reservations through their own desk, because I wanted a view of the lake. The novelty round architecture was once scattered across the land in many cities. This is but one of two remaining in the HI system. They have built a hotel annex between the main building and the lake, obstructing view of the water from many of their rooms. The room is pie-shaped, and inside it was everything I expect from HI. Presently, HI is trying to attract me by putting up ugly signs, including way too many pillows, and making a big deal out of the shower heads none of which impress me much at all.

I didn’t use the restaurant, but the room was in perfect order, and everything worked right, was clean, and in good repair. The view of the lake was fantastic, which otherwise made a boxed in feeling less claustrophobic. But, the rooms are small, and there’s not a lot of space there for a roll away or excessive luggage, etc. It’s not well suited for business travelers who want to bring their whole office with them. The staff was superior and accommodating, and permitted me to check in many hours too early. Overall I was very pleased with the room for the price, and yes, I would choose that inn again under the same conditions.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold_Ziffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

This hotel offers shuttle service to the downtown area. We stayed 3 nights and were provided transportation all three nights. We did take a cab back to the hotel one night as the shuttle only runs until about 10:30 p.m. It was $5! We LOVED this hotel. Being by the lake was beautiful and extremely peaceful. Which was also next to the highway. We never heard a noise.

The service at this hotel was incredible! From the front desk staff -- Hey Bruce! -- to the wonderful bartender to the shuttle drivers. Every single person was friendly and welcoming. We had one more night to stay after our trip around the state and we chose to go right back here!

The rates are very reasonable. They offer room service, which we didn't use, and the restaurant was always busy. They had service at the bar as well. The first weekend we stayed the biggest game in town was going on. The service continued to be excellent! They used a larger shuttle and brought at least 15 of us downtown at a time.

This is an easy place to find with restaurants close but we didn't find anything within walking distance. We didn't need to! If we wanted something while there we ate at the hotel. It was top notch.

We plan to visit Austin again and we won't even hestitate to stay here again. The only you save on parking and the reasonable rate you can afford to take a $5 cab if needed.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pahhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, Director of Sales and Marketing at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2009

We're elated that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage or our complimentary shuttle service and free parking. On busy UT Football weekends, it's good to know that you received the kind of service we strive for every day. Do come back soon. We'll be ready.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is NOT a downtown location. It's 20 minutes walk through a nasty neighborhood or down along the river. Plan on taking cabs.
My room on the 3rd floor was next to the hotel A/C units. Lovely noise. Some of the rooms look directly into one another because there are two towers side by side. The old tv had static on it. There was no hair conditioner, just shampoo and soap. The pillow were not feather but synthetic. If you like sleeping on cheap sheets this is your place. No bath robes. Services? Ha! Newspapers for Priority Club members only. This is a two star hotel at best. Priceline it, but don't be silly enough to pay what they want on the website. We got a $60 pline rate and felt ripped off when we experienced the product. The worst part was being so far from downtown. There is a gym and a pool. There are plenty of cheap hotels downtown with far better locations, so why put yourself in this property.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, Director of Sales and Marketing at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2009

Thanks for your review. Although we certainly did not live up to your expectations, I’d like to address a couple of your points for the benefit of other travelers. Firstly, we do not advertise our property as a Downtown Hotel. Unfortunately, some of the travel sites list us as such since we’re less than a mile from the city center. Most guests take advantage of our complimentary shuttle into downtown and the surrounding area, we have 4 passenger vans for this purpose. They also enjoy the easy access to the Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail just outside the hotel. The nasty neighborhood you referred to is actually the Rainy Street Historic District listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is in the midst of redevelopment.

Your disappointment in our pillows and sheets is surprising. Our Simplysmart ™ bedding package features triple sheeting, duvet and pillows with two levels of firmness. They are 100% polyester fiber filled and manufactured specifically for Holiday Inns. Feather pillows are available from housekeeping but not a standard since they are not hypo allergenic. All are Holiday Inn standards.

Unfortunately, as with all hotels, lower rated web generated reservations seldom receive the best accommodations and since we have two towers, there are rooms with less than scenic views. Should you decide to return, contact me personally and I can assure that you receive a view of Lady Bird Lake/Town Lake.

Finally, we are proud of our AAA 3-Diamond rating and our Mobile 3-Star rating. We do our best to maintain those rankings with these two standards of the industry. I hope you will give us another shot when you return to Austin. I’m confident you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed over Halloween weekend 09 and had a very good experience. Rooms are very clean and nice with some more modern appointments. Location is good for easy access to downtown by car/taxi or a it's 20-30 min walk . Service seemed fine although we had no need for anything after check in. The business center was free and had easy access to computers and printers. WIFI and parking are also free. All in all it s a good choice in Austin.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewEldritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I had a lot of trouble finding a hotel in Austin for this particular saturday night. The Holiday Inn was a good base for our couple of days in Austin on the plus side it is right on the lake and park on the negative there is the interstate. The hotel is dated but everything was adequate but nothing more.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonUKAnnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This older hotel is a mixed bag. The hotel is listed on many websites as being "downtown" but it is in a remote area next to the highway that is not very convenient to the more central downtown area where you can find the Capitol building, museums, and restaurants.

I booked this hotel thinking I could walk to the sights downtown but soon realized that I would need to take a cab to get there. The hotel does offer free airport pickup and also says there is free shuttle service to downtown but whenever I tried to use it I was told the shuttle van was unavailable so you'll spend extra for cabs.

Check-in was quick and efficient. If you are a member of the hotel's frequent guest program, you will also receive a welcome gift (bottled water and some chocolates) which was a nice touch.

The common areas (lobby and restaurant) feel old and dated but the guest rooms are renovatedly nicely. I liked the large work desk, flat screen TV (although it didn't seemed to pick up a digital HD signal), and free in-room WiFi. The bed was comfortable.

The food at the restaurant was just ok. I found the hotel staff to be very helpful.

This might be a good choice if you have a car but if not, I'd recommend staying at a hotel closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaska7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Austin
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 202 in Austin
1,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Austin
Wyndham Garden Austin
#49 of 202 in Austin
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $89 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing