We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At best negligent at worst nefarious customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Austin
DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At best negligent at worst nefarious customer service”
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I attended SuperComputing'08 in Austin and booked this hotel for a government rate through the conference website. After a long day at work, then a 4 hour flight, I failed to pay close enough attention to the paperwork when I signed in and was charged a different than previously agreed upon rate. Upon check out, when I realized my error, I was only met with rudeness. I read other reviews where customers were faced with the same nefarious billing practice. While some rooms do have a lovely view of Lady Bird Lake, the bathroom tank was covered with two months of dust and the restaurant coffee mugs arrive with old lipstick on them. I would dissuade anyone from staying at this hotel. I am upset enough that I still, after almost year, feel this review is necessary.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amrDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    240
    198
    98
    56
See reviews for
134
159
49
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Pros: Low cost, right on trail if you are willing to walk to attractions(bats),etc. Free parking and clean rooms. Good business center and decent pool(not really lake view) Free internet.
Cons: Noise from highway. Beware that the lower cost rooms all face I-35. Staff was less than helpful on this. Gave us higher floor, but put us right next to elevator(elevator bell is the loudest I've ever heard). Then moved us to across from the ice machine.
So if you prepay or pay less, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recoveringlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, Cecilia Martinez, Director of Sales and Marketing, Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Dear recoveringlawyer,

Thank you for the comments and you are absolutely correct on our 'pros'! We do offer a great value for our close to downtown location, right on Lady Bird Lake and Austin's hike and bike trail, and our complimentary services, and clean rooms and facility!

Although I was shocked to hear you didn't enjoy our pool and it's scenic lake view! What pool were you at? Please check our website for our pool photo and view! It is one of the best views of Lady Bird Lake!

We are conveniently located on IH35 access road and have double pane windows to deplete any highway noise, unfortunately you do pay a premium for our beautiful lake view rooms.

Thank you for the comments regarding the noise from the ice/soda machines and I have notified our Engineering Department to look into this with our vendors.

Please let me know if your travels bring you back to Austin, I'd be happy to see what I can do with that view for you!

Safe travels,

CEC~
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales and Marketing
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Regardless of how much money you might save by selecting this hotel, it will be lost once you car gets broken into. The security given by this hotel towards guests vehicles is nonexistent as local criminals know and as I found out the hard way. To be clear, there are no guards who walk the grounds, there are no cameras and literally any car and anyone can come on in off the street. My passenger side window was smashed in and the front desk's attitude was a proverbial shrug of the shoulders. When the police arrived the officer informed me that she was making almost daily trips to this hotel and was surprised that Holiday Inn management was not taking any actions to prevent these incidents. To top this all off, once the police had made their report and left and I was finally checking out of the hotel, the front desk was calling yet ANOTHER guest to inform them that THEIR car had just been broken in to. I cannot stress this enough - do not go to this hotel. Spend the extra cash and choose one that has secure parking for your vehicle. FYI - in terms of how recent this review is, I stayed at this hotel in August of 2009.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitingTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, Manager, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear Visiting Texas,
I am truly sorry you experienced your car vandalized while staying with us and understand your concerns.
Although our hotel offers security and cameras, unfortunately all large cities and their downtown areas experience some criminal activity. We certainly do not take this lightly and appreciate your candidness and will re-address our security strategies and actions, and even meet with APD for suggestions and recommendations. Although Austin Police officers have stated most downtown car break ins occur due to expensive items left in plain site inside the car, and it is unfortunate that Anywhere, USA we have to take this action as standard policy to remove our belongings in our own cars.
I am truly sorry this happened to you and again thank you for stating your concerns. We will address this issue with management and ownership immediately.
Cecilia Martinez
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

It's been revamped! The room was very nice, everything was clean and the staff were friendly. But the main thing is that the hotel is very good value for money considering its location. We paid $104 (excl. taxes) for a room with two beds close to downtown Austin. I couldn't find anything else close to that.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadEnglishmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, CEC~ Director of Sales and Marketing at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear MadEnglishmanAbroad,

You couldn't have said it better and in only 3 words! "It's been revamped!" Plus, our prime location to downtown attractions, restaurants, nightlife, Lady Bird Lake, Austin's scenic hike and bike trail, and easily accessible to IH35, we are an austintatious location and a value to good to be true! Plus free parking (unheard of in major Downtown anywhere!), free wireless HSIA, free shuttle service to airport and downtown area and recently renovated! I just had to thank you for the kind 'nailed it' words and hope you'll think of us for your return visits to the big ATX!
Safe travels,
CEC~
PS, Thank you for taking notice of our awesome staff too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukon, ok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

we only stayed one night. but thoroughly enjoyed the stay. the free shuttle from the airport was awesome. we were offered a shuttle to go to 6th street for the evening but ook a cab instead. Cab was only like $6.25 each way. We ate lunch at the hotel resturaunt. service was great. we ordered chips & queso and nachoes just forf snacking. the server was nice enough to tell us that it was almost the same, giving us the chance to savce some money. we checked in VERY early, at about 10:45 with no problem. Room was huge! Bed was very comfy. Clean restroom and room. Enjoyed soem cocktails at the bar. Service again was excellent. very helpful and helped us find some great places to visit on 6th street. The pool on the 6th floor was great, with a beautiful view of the lake. I can't wait to return and will bring my kids next time.

The only bad part was that we could only spend one evening and had to get up so stinkin early to catch a flight!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oktraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, Director of Sales and Marketing at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
Hello oktraveler76!

Thank you for the nice comments and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you had an austintatious experience for a 1 night stay!

Please visit us again and stay a little longer!Rent bicycles or kayaks from our lobby and enjoy our beautfiul hike and bike trail along Lady Bird Lake! And there's more to Austin than 6th St! I highly recommend taking the kids to Barton Springs pool, it's so cool they'll tell their kids all about it and how much fun they had with Grandma!

Our Restaurant, Lounge, Drivers and Front Desk team members are family and so happy to hear they took good care of you!

Thanks again for the comments and please let me know if your travels bring you back to the big ATX!

Safe travels,

CEC~
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I stayed at the newly remodeled Holiday Inn Town Lake and was glad to see they finally remodeled because the location is GREAT! It's by the lake, close to downtown, and easy access to the Freeway. The room was new and nice without too many extras, but still nice, especially for the price, but we stayed in and ordered room service and all the food was very bad. It was greasy and served cold. I brought it to the attention of the desk in the morning during check out (and I'm a gold member of ICI Hotels) but they didn't seem to care much. To bad, nice place, not so nice attitudes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarrettJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, Director of Sales and Marketing at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
Hi GarrettJay,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and noticing our recent renovation! I agree, it was long over due and we are so happy too! And you nailed it, we do have a GREAT location, on Lady Bird Lake and IH35 and close enough to downtown's attractions without downtown's costs!

I am sorry you had food 'challenges' during your stay and I wish you would have sent it back immediately and asked to speak to our Manager on Duty or our Chef. Whatever the case, we always have someone here to make it right. I also want to let you know we have a new Food and Beverage Director and she's making immediate changes and improvements daily and we're happy she's joined our team. Please try us again for a whole new meal experience.

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Town Lake, please let me know when your travels bring you back to the big ATX!

Safe travels,

CEC~
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

It was pretty threadbare. Restaurant was a big coffee shop. Location was not such that I could walk to the convention center, which I had hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cec911, Director of Sales and Marketing at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear Layover,

We are located less than a mile to Austin's Convention Center and offer free shuttle service, from our door to theirs! I am sorry if you were aware of our transporation services to the downtown area and hope you give us another opportunity to introduce our fleet of vans and a minibus!

Threadbare? Guess you didn't experience a Segway ride, or rent a bike or kayak in our lobby for a cruise on neighboring Lady Bird Lake or Austin's scenic hike and bike trail! We have an amazing 'bat' colony show too just 10 minutes away under S. Congress Bridge! Plus, if you had asked for a pool, you'd have spent time on the roof overlooking our beautiful lake and catching an incredible burnt orange sunset! Or watched a free blockbuster movie in our suround sound media room near our Tavern Lounge! And we added a new business center and have free wireless HSIA throughout the hotel!
I hope you return so I may personally introduce you to our services and amenities!
Safe travels,
CEC~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing