We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Good Value. Needs a refresh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Austin
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location. Good Value. Needs a refresh!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is a perfect split of good and bad in my opinion.

Firstly, the hotel is seriously tired and is in desperate need of an update. The furniture, floor coverings and decor is all way past its best.

The shuttle service is free but completely unreliable. In fact I'd even go so far as to say the shuttle service is the thing that p***** me off the most about this hotel.

The staff. This is really the purpose of this report. They are such a mixed bunch. I'm not going to name and shame the bad members of staff but I do think it's fit to name Alia, Devon from reception and Troy from the bar as individiuals who stand out head and shoulders above the rest of the staff due to their competance, friendliness and attitude. These three people were fanctastic throughout my stay. Well done to you three.

The housekeeping staff do a good job with the rooms. Nice touches include the interesting towel folding skills.

The internet is managed by a third party and the password is supposedly changed on a Monday though it changed on the Thursday when I stayed (partial way through a download) and I couldn't be bothered getting it reset as by this point it was just another thing that had annoyed me. The internet though is very slow. The speed of internet connectivity is a massive problem across all IHG hotels.

Also the old girl who runs the breakfast could be a little more friendly which is an understatement.

I wouldn't eat in this hotel. Go round the corner to Rainey Street! It's great.

Room Tip: Wait til they've started/completed a refurb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for taking a few moments to relay the comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your time.

Our local shuttle service is based on availability and is best scheduled as far in advance as possible. We make dozens of prescheduled runs to the airport based on flight times and usually dedicate one van for local runs, particularly on during busy timeframes when we could have as many as 500 people in site.

Unfortunately, it’s just not possible to assure service on demand. There are other alternatives, cabfare into the downtown area is usually around $6-7.00 and Rainey Street is a short 5 minute walk from the hotel.

I’m puzzled by the comments about our internet service. I spoke to the Front Office Manager who renews the password and she indicated that it is always on Monday morning. We are at 50/5 wireless which is pretty standard for hotels of our size but speed will always depend on how many guests are online simultaneously.

Thanks too for your comments about our staff, we do our best to find, hire and retain the best, most hospitable associates in Austin. However, I would like to add that the “old girl” you mention has been with us 38 years and is one of our most treasured associates. There are many guest who ask for her by name and remember her from their past stays.

We are indeed planning the refresh you suggest. It will include guest rooms as well as major changes to the lobby and front desk area. We hope you’ll come back next year and see what we’ve done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    243
    198
    98
    56
See reviews for
136
159
49
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I came from Kansas City and stayed two nights at this hotel during the 2014 ATX Festival. Real good experience. The service was great, especially the free shuttle to Paramount Theater and South Congress (SOCO) area. Just have to be okay waiting until set times that it leaves. We used this free service twice and only had to wait 15 minutes each time. I did not use the shuttle service on the way back, as we enjoyed the close trail around Lady-Bird lake that brought you all the way back to the hotel. No bugs at all on this trail and it runs right by the lake. So nice!! I only give it one star less than 5 because the continental breakfast isn't free, yet we paid nearly $400. To me that's quite high for a hotel 4 miles from the main downtown tourist spots, and should include free breakfast. Elevator and carpeting/walls outside of rooms on the north tower were very outdated and looked worn. No balcony on room but it seemed clean and pretty modern (flat-screen, coffee maker, fridge, and microwave). We had no problem sleeping and A/C worked great. I generally put this on high so I don't hear traffic/noises. Pool on sixth floor of South tower nice, also there was a workout room and pay washer/dryer there. Would consider staying again.

Room Tip: I'd stay at the south tower. Closer to parking, bar/restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We’re glad you that we had the chance to accommodate you during the X Games and provide some transportation to make your stay convenient and comfortable.

We do have packages available that include breakfast but full service Holiday Inns do not generally include breakfast. Our rates are always competitive with our competition particularly during special events and we work hard to provide every guest with value for their dollar.

We are planning a renovation of public areas in the near future and hope you return soon to enjoy Austin and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place was great. This place has very service. Good breakfast and great house keeping. Also they have great food places around it. If you want to go out. I love this place. So come on in to Holiday Inn!!!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crown F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the great review. You hit the high points and we appreciate the recognition.

Please come back and enjoy Austin and our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not get over how this hotel goes out of its way to please the customer. First they provide shuttle service two and from the hotel. Which will save you on a cab fare. Also you can use the shuttle within a two mile radius of the hotel for free. Just ask ahead of time and if they are not going to the airport they will accomodate you. And if you are lucky enough to get James to pick you up be sure to talk to him about places to see and dine. When we checked in we were greeted by Fred, Garrett,, and Danielle. They let us check out our room before we checked in. And upgraded us to a King room with a great view of the Lake and the hotel pool. Later that first day they called to make sure we had everything we needed and said not to hesitate calling them if we needed anything. Later we also spoke with Rachel and Noelle who also were very helpful. They also have a fine restaurant. We ate breakfast every morning and I must say have two very dedicated servers, Victor and Joyce who has been a server for 38 years. Be sure to have either one serve you. This entire staff goes above and beyond to please. Kudos!!!!!

Room Tip: The tower on the side with the the view of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkpoud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your gracious comments about our hotel and recognizing our staff.

They make us shine every day and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Staff development and retention is key to making every guest feel at home on the road and we work hard to give our guest the finest hospitality Austin has to offer.

Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Overall, I have to rate this hotel as average. The rooms are actually good, but I felt the entry and hallways were a little "dumpy." Nice room. Nice bed. Good service at desk. 1.5 mile walk along lake to downtown or South Congress Avenue. If you want to be more centrally located so you don't have to walk as far, I recommend paying for the Hyatt or other downtown hotel. But Holiday Inn is certainly more reasonable. My room was on freeway side so it was a bit noisy. Definitely ask for lake view.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view or to be on side of hotel to avoid freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about our property.

We are indeed in about a 15 minute walk along the lake from downtown or you can walk up Rainey Street and take in Austin’s newest entertainment district. We also offer complimentary shuttle service into the downtown area.

We hope you will return the next time your travel plans include Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was my first time to Texas and my stay at the Holiday Inn was very enjoyable. We stayed for two nights and got to take advantage of a lot of the amenities. The outdoor pool, which overlooks the lake, is really nice. Somebody broke a glass next to the pool as soon as we got there, so we just missed the opportunity to take a dip. The gym is small, a couple of treadmills, ellipticals and some free weights, but the view of the pool and lake from the gym makes it feel like it's not so cramped. The bar in the lobby is nice and the bartender is generous...I thought the popcorn maker was a nice touch. The location of the hotel is great. We walked along the lake...thought about renting a canoe, but opted to walk into town and grab a bite and some drinks instead. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the water. The view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to make comments about your recent stay.

It sounds like provided you with all the thing we strive for. Our location does indeed have many great views and the kayak concession on the property also rents sailboats, bikes and paddle boats. It’s a wonderful way to enjoy the lake.

Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed on night for a business trip. Room was on the small side, was a double bed although I had requested a king. Arrived late (11pm) and the hotel was practically sold out, was the reason. Oh well, at least they still had a room for me.

Had a few drinks at the bar, and the fajita tacos. No complaints. Had the breakfast buffet in the morning before driving out, which was especially good. Even Had someone cooking eggs fresh to order.

Front desk staff was polite.

Bathroom was roomy - definitely a bonus in my book.

Everything was very, very clean.

Pricey, but was cheapest in downtown Austin. If I had to stay in this area I'd consider them again, but I'd definitely see if someone else nearby could beat the cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for the positive review. It seems like we achieved our goal of clean comfortable accommodations with good food and hospitality to boot.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing