We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #102 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for a quick getaway to Austin for a few days. The location of this hotel is great. We got a lake view room, and the view of Lady Bird Lake was beautiful! The hotel is nice - a little "dingy" in places, but the rooms were nice. The restaurant and bar were pretty although we never ate at the hotel. The free parking is a GREAT perk! They have a free shuttle as well, but we did not use this service. The hotel was nice & quiet - didn't hear a lot of doors opening & closing throughout the night, no one screaming in the halls, etc.

There is a great walking/running trail around the lake, but the weather wasn't very cooperative while we were there so we didn't get to use it. Good perk, though!

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carroll B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and notice the little differences that make our hotel such a great value like the complimentary shuttle, wifi and free parking. Those charges do pile up at other properties in the downtown area.

Although Austin gets rowdy on the weekends, we do our best to provide a quiet atmosphere where our guests can relax. Come back and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 812 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

just stayed here for a wedding and can't say enough about the staff the location and the cleanliness.
even on the night before the wedding when things got very loud they were very diplomatic and very helpful
danielle made a special trip out of her way to take me to the airport because the shuttle times were off!!!!
will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: ask for the lake view but honestly even the rooms without a view are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianna5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind review. You enjoyed what we strive to deliver to every to every guest, every day. Our staff is trained to go above and beyond because that’s what makes a great hotel and that is our goal.

Congrats to the wedding party and come back and see us the next time you’re in Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Wide and I stayed here one weekend when we wanted to enjoy the ATX nightlife. Rooms were clean and comfortable and hotel was conveniently located off of 35. It's also right by the lake which has a great track to walk/run around. The hotel even has a shuttle to and from 6th street. Ilene stayed wee because the last minute price was right and location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDC_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We certainly appreciate your kind review. It sounds as it you took advantage of all that we have to offer. Our location really does offer the best of both worlds with easy access to downtown or a scenic stroll along Lady Bird Lake. The shuttle also rens to and from the airport for those who fly in.

Thanks again and come back for a visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to where I needed to be. The staff, overall, was very friendly. None were unfriendly, one just had no personality at all. Other than the refrigerator the room was very clean and comfortable.

The refrigerator smelled like something had died in it when it was opened. I complained and a gentleman came up and sprayed cleaner in it, wiped the cleaner out then sprayed water in it and didn't wipe the water out and left. The smell got only slightly better. I wouldn't put food in it, only bottled drinks that wouldn't be affected by the smell.

I had friends staying in other rooms who had no issues at all.

They do have a shuttle that will take you places within a certain distance. It was nice to have that service available so that we didn't have to drive and find parking to eat downtown. The driver was very nice.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks for the review and compliments to our staff. We regret that the fridge had an odor but are glad you enjoyed the shuttle. It runs to and from the airport as well as around down.

Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Austin for 10 years, and this place is right in the middle of everything South Austin. If you are familiar with Austin, it is easy to just take a right on Riverside, until you get to Lamar. Lamar can take you any way you need to go. It was great to be in a good central area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks for the compliments. Yes it’s easy to get to the South Austin hot spots including South Congress, Lamar and other parts south although technically we’re on the north side of the lake.

Nearby East Austin has blossomed into a destination in itself. Take a look next time and be sure to make Holiday Inn your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Holiday Inn is conveniently located off Interstate 35 next to Town Lake (now called Ladybird Lake). The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean but a little old and could use some updating. Beds were comfortable. The views were great. The price for what you get is a little high.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank WDFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks for the complimentary reviews. Our staff is a great asset and we’re determined to demonstrate Texas Hospitality to every guest. Cleanliness and comfort are also a hallmark of good hospitality and I’m glad we reached our goal of 100% satisfaction.

The next time you’re in Austin, come by again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed one night while on a trip through Texas. The location, just off the interstate, was great and very easy to find. We had a very quick check in and were given an upgraded room along with some treats for being priority club members. This was a nice touch. The room was big and had everything we needed. I was surprised with the general interior standard of the hotel as it was looking a bit old and in need of some updating. However i think due to its excellent location, it is probably consistently busy and they cannot find the time for such work. We took the shuttle to 6th which was great, as we had no clue where we were going. We had a lovely walk the next morning along the lake into the city. Austin is a beautiful and friendly city!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapoleonWrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We’re elated that you enjoyed your stay. Yes our location is unique to offer river views and access to the hike and bike trail along the lake.

Our staff is indeed one of our strongest assets. We work hard every day to assure that all guests receive the experience you enjoyed. Come back and see us again soon.

We work hard every day to assure that all guests receive the experience you enjoyed. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Austin
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 202 in Austin
1,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Austin
Wyndham Garden Austin
#47 of 202 in Austin
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $89 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing