We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location .... With River and City views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #103 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is in a GREAT location for all events, or businessbeing attended in Austin, Texas.

It is located on the south end of downtown, on the Colorado river.

It is old, but refurbished many times.

I always look forward to my stay there, with their friendly staff.

Dale H

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonecutter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you are a repeat guest and know us well. We appreciate the compliments and your business. Come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 801 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Ashley and the other ladies of the staff were very helpful and spot on with directions. A great location with the lake right there and walking distance to everything made this location attractive. The price was high but everything is in Austin and that is sad as the quality was not there. Our elevator was small and dirty, our room was small but fine, bed was fine also but what was not fine was that the air conditioner did not work and it was noisy. I called to see if they could fix it or move us but they were full and they were to busy. It was very hot and so we did not sleep at all. I gave 5 stars for Ashley and one for the room. This was not worth the price or the nights sleep lost.

Room Tip: Make sure everything works before you except the room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Ashley is a real asset to our front desk and thanks for the compliment to the staff. You hit on two areas where we are in the process of upgrading our AC units and elevators. We’re not a new property so we have to work hard to make sure we provide a safe and comfortable stay. I regret that we were unable to make the AC fully operational. Hopefully we were able to accommodate you at checkout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Austin, Tx. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Town Lake. Hotels are very expensive in Austin and this place really was very resonable. Traffic is a problem in Austin, so I was very happy when the hotel offered to take us downtown in their van service. Our driver knew the back streets to take to beat the traffic, which was oh so helpful. The rooms were nice and the staff helped us out when we had problems with our air conditioning.

Room Tip: The rooms on the West side of the building get a lot of afternoon sun and can be warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary shuttle into downtown. We also shuttle to and from the airport. Yes our drivers are helpful. They are,for the most part, long term employees and really do know their way around and can always provide helpful tips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was worried after reading the previous review about brown water, awful beds, etc. but was pleasantly surprised to learn that it is actually a very nice hotel. The water tastes great, the water pressure is super high, the beds are nice and clean with pillows of varying firmness. I haven't used the internet as I just tether my phone, so I can't comment on that.

You can enjoy a nice ~15 minute stroll along the river (what they call a lake) to downtown for dinner. Also, you can pick up a bag of popcorn at their free popcorn machine just off the lobby. Staff is all very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thanks for the great review. Your experience is what we strive for, for every guest. Yes we have a great location in Lady Bird Lake. I guess it’s technically a lake since it’s dammed on either end but it is a part of the Highland Lake system of the Colorado River.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, next time we can shuttle you into downtown but the walk can be relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First off, the good: the staff are friendly and polite. But this is Texas, so that isn't a surprise. This is what earns the 2 starts rather than one.

The bad: The water runs brown out of the taps, but only if you are lucky enough to get any water pressure in the first place. The TVs are antiquated. The mattresses are old and uneven. The shop and bar is always closed at the times most people will want to use them. The maid is only busy from stupidly early in the morning, so make sure you hang your 'DND' tag on the door unless you want an 8am wakeup. If you don't get up and out before 10am you probably don't get your room cleaned. The breakfast is poor and the restaurant under-staffed. The view from the room is a wall. The WiFi works on 50% of the time and when it does the speed is dial-up level performance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Worst Holiday Inn I have stayed at

3/14/2013

We certainly regret that your stay was less that satisfactory. It appears that you stayed with us during SXSW. Unfortunately, WiFi usage is extreme during this time frame and can be very slow during time of peak usage. You’ll be happy to hear that we’re in the process of upgrading to significantly more bandwidth in the coming weeks.

Yes we did have a boiler issue and the water was off for several hours but the quality of the water depends on what comes from the city so if there was an issue, it’s beyond our control but usually clears up quickly. The Tavern is open daily from 3p – midnight and until 2am if needed. We also serve a full menu until 12am.

We’re certainly glad you enjoyed the staff. We work every day to provide outstanding service and we’re glad you notices. We’re also working to resolve the other issues to make every stay a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I don't seem to have much luck with this hotel. This is the second time I've stayed here whilst over from the UK at the conference. The staff are very nice, but my room again has been very disappointing. My room is outside the lifts so I was kept awake by noisy groups of people slamming doors and shouting in the corridors. The view out the window as you can see is of...a roof, plus the wi-fi is very intermittent. On the plus side the staff do seem nice and the rooms are clean and tidy. But if you're looking for a pleasant quiet stay with a view...go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertsione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thanks for the constructive comments. From the looks of your photo you occupied 201 of 202, arguably our least desirable rooms. Like most hotels, we have spectacular views and some that are not, we are no different. You may consider joining Priority Club, these members will receive an upgrade when available.

We compare our pricing against our closest competition on a daily basis and adjust to the demand in the city. As you know, SXSW sells everybody out and like our airline partners, rates will reflect that demand.

I’m glad our staff and housekeeping met your expectations. Some things we can’t change but it’s our job to control and excel at the things we can. You’ll be happy to know that we’re in the process of upgrading our signal strength and bandwidth to keep up with the demands of our tech heaqvy guests. Give us another try when you come back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn. It is close to everything. The staff is welcoming and efficient and the room was comfortable. We will certainly stay here again the next time we are in Austin!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lady Bird Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACathyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and the nice review. We are in good spot for just about everything, a walk by the lake, Rainey Street just down the way and a 15 minute walk to downtown. You can also ride the complementary shuttle to downtown or the airport.

It’s always good to hear that the staff delivered the kind of hospitality we’re known for. Come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $127 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing