We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #112 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Chicago
1 review
“Amazing customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

A group of us stayed here last month, and returned again for our trip this week. The location was walking proximity not only to the convention center, but also to Rainey St. for quaint bars and great entertainment. The best part of our stay was that we truly were treated as guests. Top notch service by ALL of the staff, and big kudos to Lovinia and Jesse, who both went above and beyond the call of customer service to accomodate our group. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockfordcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks you so much for your kind words. We’re very proud of our staff and work hard every day to assure that we provide exemplary customer service to every guest. I work directly with Lovinia and you didn’t just catch her on a good day. She will always go above and beyond to help our guests, the same goes for our Front Office Manager Jesse.

It is a pleasant walk to the Austin Convention Center. Although most large conventions provide transportation, it’s only a 15 -20 minute to ACC. Rainey Street is just an added bonus particularly after a long day at a convention.

Be sure to stay with us next time you’re in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    232
    197
    96
    56
See reviews for
130
154
49
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Town Lake three nights for a conference.
Pluses: friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, free shuttle to/from airport and to convention center, located near great jogging/walking trail (Lady Bird Trail), walking distance to convention center (<1 mile), right around the corner from the cool up-and-coming Rainy Street neighborhood with its many restaurants/bars.
Minuses: carpet in room needs to be replaced, one of the two queen-size beds sags and should have been replaced a long time ago, the freeway noise is quite noticable on our floor (7th).
From what I noticed, the hotel is not wanting for guests. The day we checked out, there were lines of people waiting to check in, mostly families going to the UT game.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors facing away from freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Yes we were a busy place during your stay. I’m proud of our staff for handling the press of a full house. Our location seems to be getting better and better and better as Rainey Street develops into a major entertainment district. Since there’s really no parking down there, most of our guest choose to walk or take our shuttle since it’s only .2 miles away.

We’re in the process of replacing carpeting in our guest rooms but are only about 40% done. Part of the challenge is to schedule a time when we’re not at a high occupancy level.

Thanks for your comments and we hope you come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Town Lake for two nights because of a family wedding. It was a large event, and more than 20 of us stayed at the hotel. It happened to be over a weekend when there was also a big UT football game.

We had requested a room with two beds to accommodate the four people in my family and been put on a wait list several months prior to arriving. Apparently the wait list doesn't do much, and when we arrived they initially put us in a room with a king bed. When we objected, the front desk clerk found us a new room with two full size beds. I felt this was good service on the part of the desk clerk, but poor service on the part of the hotel chain, which could have accommodated this request long in advance.

After the first night, we went out for the day and returned mid-afternoon to change for the wedding. I was surprised to find the room had not been made up, and I thought they had overlooked it. The maids arrived at about 4:30 pm, as we were getting dressed for the wedding. We asked them to come back in an hour, and they did. It wasn't a problem, but I typically expect the maids to arrive in the morning.

On Sunday, we went to church and returned to the hotel for brunch (25 or so people) at about 11:00 a.m. We selected the hotel because we had such a large group and they appeared able to handle us better than the local restaurants. They had just stopped serving the breakfast buffet when we arrived. They decided to reopen the buffet, rather than take individual orders for everybody. That was probably a good idea. The server provided very good service, and the food was okay if not great. It was the usual hotel buffet - eggs, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, fruits, yogurt, and so forth.

However, when going through the buffet line, I had to discard seven or eight plates before finding one that was clean (most had hardened eggs baked onto the plates). I also had to ask for a new coffee cup, because the first one presented to me was not clean. I'm afraid of what would have happened if they had plated the food for me.

The hotel website is somewhat inaccurate. The hotel does operate an airport shuttle, which is quite convenient, and it will also take you to downtown Austin. The website did not make this clear, so we took a cab from the airport to the hotel. The Holiday Inn website indicated that typical cab fare is $15, and it was more like $30; the hotel staff told me that's the going rate.

My mother-in-law, who is in her 80's and has trouble traveling, felt some of the front desk staff were rude with her. I wasn't there to observe it myself, but she repeated the story several times.

Upon checking out, my sister-in-law discovered they had overcharged her for the room on one night. When she brought it to the attention of the front-desk staff, they changed it without any trouble.

A couple of positive notes: the bar is convenient and serves the full menu. They have a comfortable lounge and three nice big screen TVs. The outdoor pool on the 6th floor is really nice - the kids enjoyed it and the adults could have a nice conversation.

The hotel is conveniently located on Town Lake, and there is a very nice and popular path along the lake. Unfortunately, it is also close to I-35, and noise from the highway penetrates into the rooms.

The rooms are quite small by modern standards, but nicely appointed. We particularly had trouble because of the incredibly small bathroom & vanity area.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your thorough overview of your stay and our hotel. Although it wasn’t perfect, it sound as if we were able to respond to your needs and provide your group with a pleasant stay.
Thanks too for pointing out the old information on our website, we try to keep this current and you input is greatly appreciated, I hope it didn’t cause you too much inconvenience.
Be sure to let us know, the next time Austin is in your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for the IT Expo, and I want to say that the staff was very accomodating. Check-in was fast and easy, when I called the hotel from the airport, they picked me up within 10 minutes, which I appreciated. They also offered free shuttle service to the IT Expo which was also a nice touch. The hotel could use a little updating i.e. elevators and hallway carpets but the room was very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable, and I slept very well. I didn't hear all of the traffic that the other reviewers talked about and I stayed on the freeway side of the hotel. I plan on returning to Austin next Spring and I will definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 10th floor or higher if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. Yes, some folks are more sensitive to background noise than others but we do aim to please all our guests.

The shuttle is one of our most popular features and is a rarity in and near the downtown area. I’m glad you took advantage of it. We’ll look forward to hosting you again this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently named my own price on Priceline and stayed at The Holiday Inn, Town Lake. It is rated a 3-star. I would rate it a 2-star, at best. My room was on the front and I thought I was sleeping in the middle of I35. Floor space in the bathroom was 2 x10 which included the toilet. The sink area was 3 x4 which included the sink and counter (it did have granite!). The carpet was torn. Many chairs around the pool were torn. The one washing machine in hotel was broken. I will say the staff was very nice. Bottom line, I would not rate the Holiday Inn Town Lake Austin a 3-star hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Although your stay was certainly not up to your expectations, we’re glad our staff made you feel welcome with their hospitality. Although I believe your dimensions are a little off, the vanity area is tight. Unfortunately, two things we can’t change is our location and how we are built. For highway noise, we added double paned glass in 2008 and are now considering other alternatives since these comments seem to be on the rise.

You may consider joining Priority Club since all members receive an upgrade and a welcome amenity. I hope you will give us another shot the next time you’re headed to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Mohegan Lake, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was very clean and renovated. The service was excellent. They gave us a room overlooking ladybird lake and we saw the space shuttle fly over. The buffet was very good. Fresh fruit, greatest cream of wheat ever. The coffee was great and so was the orange juice. It was a pleasure The free shuttle to the airport was very convenient.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake is the best!!!! Beautiful sunrise and sunsets and nice to see the boats and sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and a great one at that. We’re glad you got to see a couple of Shuttles during your stay. That was quite a sight. Thanks too for your kind words about our staff and food. We strive to extend great hospitality to each and every guest. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was booked through my company so I didn't have any say in where I stayed in Austin. Once I realized where it was, I requested a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the highway. The road noise was still loud and clear. The hotel itself is fine, but they really need to consider figuring out a way of upgrading their soundproofing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear DFWMongoose,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I apologize for the inconvenience the noise may have caused you.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing