We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Very comfortable stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #113 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Very comfortable stay"”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for the IT Expo, and I want to say that the staff was very accomodating. Check-in was fast and easy, when I called the hotel from the airport, they picked me up within 10 minutes, which I appreciated. They also offered free shuttle service to the IT Expo which was also a nice touch. The hotel could use a little updating i.e. elevators and hallway carpets but the room was very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable, and I slept very well. I didn't hear all of the traffic that the other reviewers talked about and I stayed on the freeway side of the hotel. I plan on returning to Austin next Spring and I will definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 10th floor or higher if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. Yes, some folks are more sensitive to background noise than others but we do aim to please all our guests.

The shuttle is one of our most popular features and is a rarity in and near the downtown area. I’m glad you took advantage of it. We’ll look forward to hosting you again this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    232
    197
    96
    56
See reviews for
130
154
49
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently named my own price on Priceline and stayed at The Holiday Inn, Town Lake. It is rated a 3-star. I would rate it a 2-star, at best. My room was on the front and I thought I was sleeping in the middle of I35. Floor space in the bathroom was 2 x10 which included the toilet. The sink area was 3 x4 which included the sink and counter (it did have granite!). The carpet was torn. Many chairs around the pool were torn. The one washing machine in hotel was broken. I will say the staff was very nice. Bottom line, I would not rate the Holiday Inn Town Lake Austin a 3-star hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Although your stay was certainly not up to your expectations, we’re glad our staff made you feel welcome with their hospitality. Although I believe your dimensions are a little off, the vanity area is tight. Unfortunately, two things we can’t change is our location and how we are built. For highway noise, we added double paned glass in 2008 and are now considering other alternatives since these comments seem to be on the rise.

You may consider joining Priority Club since all members receive an upgrade and a welcome amenity. I hope you will give us another shot the next time you’re headed to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Mohegan Lake, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was very clean and renovated. The service was excellent. They gave us a room overlooking ladybird lake and we saw the space shuttle fly over. The buffet was very good. Fresh fruit, greatest cream of wheat ever. The coffee was great and so was the orange juice. It was a pleasure The free shuttle to the airport was very convenient.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake is the best!!!! Beautiful sunrise and sunsets and nice to see the boats and sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and a great one at that. We’re glad you got to see a couple of Shuttles during your stay. That was quite a sight. Thanks too for your kind words about our staff and food. We strive to extend great hospitality to each and every guest. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was booked through my company so I didn't have any say in where I stayed in Austin. Once I realized where it was, I requested a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the highway. The road noise was still loud and clear. The hotel itself is fine, but they really need to consider figuring out a way of upgrading their soundproofing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear DFWMongoose,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I apologize for the inconvenience the noise may have caused you.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Debbie and Cassie. They made things very easy for me since I was traveling with kids. The hotel was very easy to access and had a beautiful view. My husband had things to do downtown and it was an easy walk for him so he could leave the car for me and the kids.

Room Tip: We had a lake view room and it was beautiful. It was in the tower that had the parking garage so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We’re so glad you and your children enjoyed your stay. I hope you were able to enjoy the surrounding area with a walk along the river. In fact there is a playscape just east of the hotel.

Debbie and Cassie are prime representatives of our spirit of hospitality. We do our best to instill this in all of our employees. Thanks again and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comanche, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn at Town Lake for a convention. I ate all my meals at the hotel restaurant very easy and quick. The food was wonderful!! I rode the shuttle and left my car in hotel parking. They were on time when I needed to be picked up at the convention. My last day could the shuttle could not pick me up due to being in another area. The excellent staff at the hotel made arrangements for a taxi service to pick me at convention. While in the taxi, I lost my cell phone with quick thinking from three employees Stella, Ashley and Jesse they called the cab driver and I got my phone back in less than ten minutes. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Very Clean, Excellent Beds, and Great Staff!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We’re very popular with convention goers since we’re just a mile from the Austin Convention Center yet we’re a good value and offer free airport transfers, parking and Wifi. I’m glad you enjoyed just about all we have to offer. We strive to WOW every guest and challenge our staff to go above and beyond. I’m so happy the our Front Desk Crew was able to act to get your phone back. They are the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I use this hotel three to four times a year for business. While the accomodations are dated, the rooms are clean and the staff goes above and beyond for every customer. Jesse at the front desk is always ready with a smile and works hard to give you the good customer service a hotel should offer. I stay for the staff and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Nice to hear from you. We treasure our “Regulars” and hope to be your hotel of choice every time you make your way to Austin. Again, Jesse leads the way for front of the house hospitality. The location is great isn’t it. Most of our guests appreciate the convenient access to I-35 and Lady Bird Lake’s hike and bike trail. We’ll be ready for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing