We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #113 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay with very friendly staff. It is a bit older but very clean. I feel the staff went above and beyond to make my stay plesant. A special thank you to the front desk manager, Jessie! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
It’s great to hear you’ll be back and thanks for the great review. We work hard to assure the cleanliness of this landmark property and I’m elated that you noticed. We continue to get good comment on Jesse, our Front Office Manager. He’s a great leader and a true hospitality professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    227
    196
    93
    56
See reviews for
127
152
47
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our soccer team was a last minute add to a tournament. The hotel is further than we wanted but very accomodating to us within our limited timeframe. lt is conveniently located to downtown Austin. The lake and the running trail are very nice amenities. However, it is older and small. But the cleanliness and great service far outweigh those downsides. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccergang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We certainly enjoyed having you and your team stay with us. I’m also glad that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. Especially gratifying are your comments on the staff. You experienced what we strive for every day for every guest. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two night during labor day weekend. Terrible idea! If you care for your health do not stay here. From the lobby to the rooms, all you can smell is mold. The corridor was the area with the strongest smell. We were given a room on the third floor right in front of the elevators. We didn't mind the noise from the highway, but from the closing and opening of the elevators. On our first night I got nasal congestion and out of no where my nose started bleeding (which is not normal for me). At first I just thought I was just overthinking the fact of how filthy the air was until my boyfriend started complaining of a headache. I didn't complain to the front desk, because nothing can be done about this unless they build a new building. We had to go buy medicine and air freshener to help us sleep. It was three of us staying in this room and it was definitly not comfortable at all. You know that saying, you get what you paid for? Well this hotel was not cheap so I don't understand why this Holiday Inn is such a mess. Tiny rooms, old building and nasty smell.

Room Tip: Room 316 is the room you should stay away from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear cbese,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

the service at the hotel was really awesome like Michael sccott was nice to us and kassie as well, holiday inn hotels are the most enjoyable hotels I have ever seen and plus this holiday inn has a really nice lake view, I liked the gym and the pool cuz they were on the sixth floor I can all summit in one word, AMAZING!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moh1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for the great comments. The highest compliment you can pay our staff is to mention them by name. I’ll be sure to relay this to Michael and Kassie. They along with the rest of our staff truly make us a phenomenal hotel. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Holiday inn town lake Austin

Small rooms and even smaller restroom. 
In the tower to the right of the front desk the rooms are smaller than the other tower. The tower is round so the rooms are situated awkwardly like the shape of a pie. The bathroom sink has very little counter space with the hanging space behind it. Read: no formal closet. The toilet and shower room feel very clousterphobic with a lowered ceiling. The air conditioning unit was ancient. This tower faces the street so there is more street and car noises. 
Plus is the microwave and fridge.  

The tower to the left of the front desk past the restaurant has larger rooms with new flat screen tvs. This building faces the lake when in even numbered rooms. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for the detailed review. Yes the hotel was built in 2 phases, years apart. A couple of corrections though, there are flat screens in all but a very few rooms. Those remaining will be replaced very soon. Since the Capital Tower is round, half of the rooms do not overlook the Interstate. During the renovation in 2008 we installed double paned windows to cut down on an traffic noise. Come back the next time you’re in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I'm a Priority Club member and I paid for part of my stay and used Priority rewards for the rest of my stay. Well, the Front Desk somehow is not equipped to handle a transaction like this. I got a bill for the first part of my stay and the maid was under the understanding I was leaving the room. Also, rooms get cleaned really late each day into late afternoon. Room, bed, pillows and stay was comfortable.

Front Desk could use some customer service training on how to greet incoming guests. They're more laid back and always carrying on as if the Front Desk was a burger joint.

Great location - a short walk to Lady Bird Lake. They have a computer room & a nice bar.

While I was staying here, they decided to block off the main entrance and begin paving of a section of the entrance. It was inconvenient to get inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms on floor 11 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for the constructive comments. I certainly appologise for the confusion at the desk but am confident that we were able to accommodate your needs. Training is a constant in our business and we have programs in place to get Front Desk staff up to speed as soon as possible.

Our main entry get heavy traffic and requires sprucing up regularly. We block off half the drive to paint the pavement and not totally obstruct traffic. We’re glad you enjoyed the location and some of our other features. Please come back the next time your travel plane include Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent and plentiful breakfast with a choice of Tex-Mex and international.
Great bar with good beers and cocktails.
The taxi-bus service offered to go downtown is cheap and convenient, especially if you are in a group.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matteo187872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for the great review. You certainly hit the high points and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Many guests take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to get downtown and to the airport. Yes it is convenient and unique in the downtown area. Come back soon and get some of those breakfast tacos we’re famous for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing