We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #108 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I work for the airlines and have layovers here frequently. The staff is always helpful and friendly, which is very typical of Austin. Their manager, Jesse, has seemed to instill that, "We can do that for you!" attitude in his employees. The bar and restaurant are recently renovated and the rooms are clean. I don't think I've ever had an issue with my room and I've been staying here on and off since 2006. They have a great location on the river/lake with a scenic running path for any style runner/walker/biker no matter what distance you desire. It's a great way to experience a day in the life of an active Austinite. You can also easily walk the path to the Congress Ave bridge to see the famous bats fly away(only certain time of year). There are nearby paddle board/canoe/kayak rentals and even in-hotel kayak and segway rentals. Easy walk to downtown in about 20 min and have a drink at the unique Rainey St bar-houses on your way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

It's great to hear from one of our airline partners. You guys are a very important part of our business and I'm elated to hear that this is not just another layover. You certainly do know how to enjoy the hotel's features and the local gems along Rainey Street. Jesse is a true asset to our operation and instills his "Guest First" attitude into the rest of the staff. See you soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 793 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel on the lake which has an excellent 10 mile running course - if you run, want good value for the money, looking for a hotel with easy access to the airport and downtown, and your in Austin, its the place to stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank valgin2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thanks for the compliments. We're glad you were able to take advantage of some of our unique amenities like the Hike and Bike trail behind the hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle. Be sure to give us a call the next time you head to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. After the first, I had to switch room because of shower issues and although inconvenient, the staff was wonderful, accommodating and very sympathetic to the issue. The location of the hotel is a bit too far from downtown and taxi's in Austin are unspeakably unreliable, the hotel has a very accommodating shuttle service. I came to the city as an after thought with no plans. The staff in the bar were incredibly helpful with suggestions. Troy in the bar made me feel like I had walked into Cheers and made me feel very comfortable sitting at a bar alone. All of this made up for the lack of lighting in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Although it sounds like there was an issue with your first room, I’m really glad that our staff handled it with empathy and efficiency. Sometimes a problem well solved can make your stay even better. Troy is a real asset and we appreciate your recognition. We always try to give our staff a pat on the back and recognition when a guest was so impresses as to give them a shout out on TA.

Our shuttles are one of our most popular assets and our guest keep them busy with downtown runs, Rainey Street runs and our complimentary service to the airport. Be sure to choose us next time you come to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Jessie is very bright and customer friendly always with a smile :-) I don't have anything to complain about I would recommend this holiday inn to anyone llooking for a friendly clean and amazing suite stay . I have nit been let down the8 times I have stayed here this year. Thanks korin anders room 1204

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korinanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

It’s great to hear from one of our regular guests. It sound like our efforts to provide outstanding service was evident during your recent stay. Jesse continues to lead the way and I hope you’ll give us a chance soon to provide you with a home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great locations!!! View of the lake is amazing. The outdoor pool area is really nice. Friendly and knowlegable staff. A number of attractions in close proximity of the hotel. You can go jogging by the lake or you can take your kids to the playground there. A perfect fit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind thoughts. Yes the view is amazing especially from the 6th floor pool deck. A bit windy at times but the panoramic views are spectacular. We hope you enjoyed your stay and a jog while you were here. Come on back, you’ll fit right in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel was clean. rooms were towards the smaller size but not bad. view was amazing of lady bird lake and location was central for getting around. Break fast could be better, a little more variety please! and fresh omelet station would be great!
I would stay here again and recommend it too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeenaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thanks for the good comments and the suggestion for an omelet station. We try to keep the variety as diverse as possible. Next time you may want to try something from the menu as well. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the location. Come back soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I booked a room for our 25th anniversary just to get away from the family and reconnect. The staff put us in a room overlooking the lake that was so cool, that we just ordered up a picnic and a bottle of wine and watched the sun set! So now we are doing it again for our 30th anniversary! The staff there is fantastic. I have to give kudos to JESSE (hope I spelled it right) for helping us make that same reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

It was an honor to host you two for your anniversary and I’m so glad you enjoyed the hotel. You know you don’t have to wait another 5 years to come back. We’re very proud of our staff and work hard every day to develop and maintain an attitude of Texas Hospitality. Yes Jesse, our Front Office Manager is a real asset and sets a great example for the staff to follow. Until next time..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $161 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing