We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine B&b”
Review of Star of Texas Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star of Texas Inn
Ranked #11 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stay at the Star of Texas once a year. It is quite convenient to UT. Good breakfast, beverages in the refrigerator, and cookies by the door. Parking next to the house. I've never seen the owners; the staff are quite friendly and helpful. WiFi available, and an old fashioned computer with printer, too.

Room Tip: even the ground floor rooms have a privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajero952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for a couple nights at the tail end of our vacation. It is very close to the UT campus. Lots of students walking by all day long. Right now there is construction of a new residence hall literally right behind the B&B which makes it a bit noisy during the day but they finish working by 5 so it doesn't impact your sleep.

We had room 13 which was great. Big, comfortable bed. Big bathroom. Access to the upper balcony which was great to sit out on and read and/or people watch.

Breakfast was fine. The food was good and plenty of it. Everyday there was an egg dish and a sweet pancake or oatmeal dish, plus bacon, fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, and juice. As others have said there is usually only one person around in the morning and clearing away used dishes from the tables is not at the top of their list of things to do. One morning when we came down every table had at least some used place settings. Luckily we were able to find a spot to sit with clean dishes. However a family of 4 came in shortly after us and didn't end up eating because there weren't enough clean place settings left for them, at least not at a table together.

If you are okay with a more hands off approach to your B&B experience then this place is for you. We enjoyed our time spent here and would stay here again when in the Austin area.

Room Tip: Pick a room with access to the upper balcony, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Star of Texas is an outstanding B&B. We went to Austin for 3 days in February 2012 for a little get away. It was easily located, within walking distance of some good restaurants. Not far from the downtown area and the breakfast is WOW - great. Service was excellent and I have recommended it to several friends as it is in the top 5 of the B&Bs we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This B&B was one highlight to our honeymoon. We chose it because we had plans at a venue near the UT campus that evening and there did not seem to be a lot of reasonably priced options in the area with availability -- and we were trying to avoid another corporate hotel experience. We called the owner, having gotten the number off the internet. He ran our credit card over the phone and gave us a keycode to get in; we stayed in room 19 on the main floor (key was in the door when we arrived).
We were tired from our earlier day trip to Gruene. At 5pm, we were happy to just unpack the car, rest and get out of the heat. Imagine how excited we were to be staying in an enormous, well-appointed room with quality bedding, robes, fluffy towels -- all the comforts of home -- as well as cookies in the entryway and a sitting parlor with an array of refreshments (lemonade, soda, OJ, wine, etc.) that we were encouraged to help ourselves to.
The breakfast the next morning was above average; the 12:00 checkout time was helpful -- along with the study area -- which had some guidebooks and a computer to help plot out the last leg of our trip (read them on the porch swing outside after breakfast) and a place to go to church. When compared to other enjoyable places we stayed in the area on this trip, which were in the same ball-park price-wise (Faust Hotel in New Braunfels, Spring Hill Suites in Round Rock), this property really surpassed our expectations in terms of value, quality details & hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 19, on the main floor, was very large and felt very private. There were other options with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a comfortable B&B located close to the University. We stayed in room 14 and found it quite comfortable. Their were 2 other guests the night we stayed and we didn't even know they were there until the next morning. Nice and quiet. Room is comfortable. The bathroom is pretty tiny with the sink in the main room. Not too uncommon for a B&B. The towels were nice and thick.

Only a couple of issues kept it from being 5 stars. The vent in the bathroom was full of dust balls and dirt. The tub/shower is pretty tiny with shower curtains surrounding the tub. Standing in the shower, my arms and shoulders touched both sides with the curtains sticking to me and I'm not a huge person. Curtains are also dark which made the shower space dark. It would be nice to see the newer rounded shower rods used which would make the shower/tub space less claustrophobic and easier to take a shower.

Breakfast was delicious with a baked apple oatmeal and a quiche. The quiche was wonderful. There was also fresh fruit, bacon, cereals, orange juice and more. The young man from the kitchen was very nice and helpful to the needs of the guests.

I would recommend this B&B to friends with a warning about the small shower space.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentbigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great place, great owners. A wonderful mix of thoughtfulness and quality. We LOVED the sheets. There is a wonderful balcony off room 12 (and other rooms as well). Oh, and the cookies were perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed here recently for 3 nights and it was great. The owners are not around much i dont see that as a problem, you can phone them if you want.

The house itself is great and more of a museum than anything, very nice decor inside. There is a verande downstairs and a balcony upstairs with rocking chairs. I found this a perfect place to sit and relax.

There are compimentary cookies, soft drinks and white wine in the reception and also earplugs and umbrellas to borrow. This is very thoughtful on the owners part. There is free wi-fi and also a computer guests are welcome to use. The breakfast was ok and slightly better than most places i have stayed in the USA.

I had room 11 and it was ok for one person but would have been slightly cramped for 2 people. That is the only negative i found during my stay. My room was still very nice and the bed large and comfy though. The room and hotel in general were very clean and comfortable.

The hotel is fairly near to The Bob Bullock museum and Blanton art gallery, it is a fair old walk to 6th street but you cant be near toeverywhere and there are buses and taxis that will have you there in no time.

If i return to Austin i would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star of Texas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of Texas Inn

Address: 611 West 22nd Street, Austin, TX 78705
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $160 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing