We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprising value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #71 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Twin Cities MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A surprising value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We've stayed at the Super 8 Hotel Austin Airport South every December for the last three years. The first year, we were trying a new place because we could no longer stand staying at the Austin Hotel where other friends stayed for the same event. I was extremely hesitant because I have had not great experiences with the national value chains like Super 8 and Motel 6 but we got a great price and there were some good reviews so I agreed to take a chance.
Unless things change drastically, we are never staying anywhere else but here when we go to Austin.
The price is very reasonable, especially if you book through one of the major booking sites. It's the service that you stay for though. Sure it's a big chain, but it's run by franchisee's and that makes all the difference. The family that runs this Super 8 is absolutely dedicated to what they do and it shows. I would love to see what they could do with a four star hotel.
Everything is kept pristinely clean in our experience. When you come in you are greeted in a friendly manner and given a bag of treats (water, chips, candy bar, etc) which is a nice thing especially after getting off a plane where they no longer give you anything at all. In the lobby there are comfortable massage chairs, a Wii for the kids and a shoe shine machine. The rooms are nice enough, kept very clean and comfortable and with more than the usual number of pillows, but it is a chain place and they're not anything to write home about. However, there's a teddy bear on the bed with a note that tells you about the Pillow Bar, where you can get one free 'special' pillow for your room such as a buckwheat husk, ipod compatible, or memory foam style. The rooms also come with a lap desk, which is a nice added convenience.
Every time we've checked in, we've been called within ten minutes of getting to our room to ask if everything was up to snuff and if we needed anything.
We've never had an issue with loud neighbors or any sort of noise.
Every evening from 7 to 9 p.m. there's a dessert bar with cookies, brownies, milk, coffee etc. that you can take advantage of. The breakfast bar is really good, with more than just the standard continental, including fresh make them yourself waffles in the shape of Texas. Everything is kept neat and replenished.
At the front desk they also have DVD rentals, and you get one free with your room. They also have any number of little necessities that you might have forgotten that they sell, and not at an exorbitant mark up like other hotel convenience stores. The desk staff is always willing to help. On our last trip here I accidentally left my iPod charging cord at home and they were willing to call their daughter and ask her to bring in hers to let me use.
Negatives: There's no pool, which doesn't matter to us for our purposes but it makes it not as great a place for family vacations. Also, due to the location you really do have to rent or have a car if you're doing anything but staying overnight before flying out as the location is not within walking distance of anything other than a Jack in the Box and a Wendy's.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKNabiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    210
    73
    31
    23
See reviews for
201
219
74
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Wonderful hotel.
At arrival we were offered a little package with some snacks and water. This is a really nice intention! The room was very nice, modern and with a special touch, not like the typical Super 8 or other motel rooms. It was clean and very comfortable.
The breakfast was really good as well.
On the overall, we really appreciated this hotel especially the personal touches given.
I would definitively recommend this hotel to anyone going to Austin.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were driving to New Barunfileds to see the Natural Bridge of Texas Cavern and was in Austin. Found rooms in this hotel. Nothing great . Big rooms but not good by US standards.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjan_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

I spent two days in Austin for a tech conference, and was extremely pleased with the Super 8 South. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The room itself was clean, fully up-to-date, and much more luxurious than is normal for a Super 8. The only negative was the somewhat industrial location, with only two fast food joints within walking distance for food. However, the hotel was within easy driving distance of downtown, and overall I was extremely pleased. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Austin.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FDRLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we were very pleased. Clean, friendly service, plenty of amenities and a nice continental breakfast. Comfortable king bed with plenty of pillows and a nice big flat screen TV with lots of channels. Convenient location and overall a good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN USA!
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights here after reading all the positive reviews. We had a great, clean suite with large screen TV with fridge and microwave. The bed was VERY comfortable and you could request different pillow types. The room was clean, quiet, and inviting. Kay at the front desk made sure we were happy and comfortable. There were many good restaurants in the area and the hotel was close enough to everything. My wife enjoyed the fitness center and sauna room! The breakfast room was clean and always had plenty of food. There were homemade cookies every night! There is an elevator which is helpful. This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in within this price range!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Conrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We decided to stay this hotel after reading all the good reviews here.
We were wondering why this Super8 was a number 1 hotels in Austin, so we gave a try. Check in - it was fast and easy, however, when the rate on a receipt that we paid upon check-in was a couple dollars more than the rate that we got when we booked through super8.com. But my husband didn't want to make a big deal out of it, so we just let it go. After check in, we were given a complimentary bag (a bottle of water, a bag of doritos and a few candy bars). They have free wireless internet and a lot of DVDs that you can borrow in the lobby (but the movies are old). I love that they had a great selection of pillow in the lobby.

Our room was on the 2nd floor. As soon as we stepped out of the elevator, there was a very strong smell...I think it was some kind of incense. This really made me sick. We could even smell it when we were in the bathroom which was next to the room entrance. We had to put a towel underneath the door - and this is why I didn't rate this hotel 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KattoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#61 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Property: Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing