We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, staff, and awesome room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #71 of 202 Hotels in Austin
cross roads texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great service, staff, and awesome room”
Reviewed December 12, 2008

stayed at the super8 from 12/8 to 12/12. At checkin I was giving a goodie bag ( that contained a bottle of water, bag of chips, 3 fun size candy's,and some cheese crackers), iwas also told about their nightly complimentary dessert's from 6 to 9. and reminded about their superstart breakfast. once we got to our room everything was nice and clean. our king size bed was nice and compfy and were giving a pillow menu in case we didn't like our 6 standard pillows we got on our bed. next we go back to austin we will be staying there again.

  • Liked — big comfy bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dctadrvr386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    218
    78
    32
    25
See reviews for
216
224
77
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This Super 8 Motel is downright awesome. When you check in, they give you a nice goodie bag filled with a bottled water and a bag of candies to keep your energy up or a way of saying thanks for checking in our hotel. The breakfast in the morning is good and they have things such as eggs, bacon and cereal to name a few. Also, there is FREE movies every night on Channel 11 after 6 pm every evening that you stay, so makes it even more worth the while. The massage that they claim is FREE is a massage chair. The front desk is very knowledgeable about the city overall and can tell you how to get anywhere. San Marcos is about 20 miles from the hotel and it has a outlet mall that everyone from all over the state comes to see. Overall, this SUPER 8 Motel is not your average motel, it's more than a Hilton or Holiday Inn can offer for cheaper! Go for it.

  • Liked — Customer Service, the staff made you feel you were at home at the hotel.
  • Disliked — The last day of my day during breakfast, the ketchup bottles were empty and they didn't have any replacement.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cskerl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2008

This is a super Super 8; my wife and I stayed there for one night on our arrival in Austin in mid November then for two nights before our departure in early December.

We found the hotel to be exceptionaly clean, in excellent condition, and the staff helpful and courteous beyond belief. They provide a nice self-serve breakfast, either hot or cold, coffee all day long (very good coffee machine, by the way), and fruit available all day long. In fact the last evening we spent there, cake and cookies were available for guests. The family that run the hotel go out of their way to make travelers feel comfortable.

The rooms are spacious, well decorated, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are spotless. There are even robes and slippers provided.

One word of warning, however; try to avoid the ground floor rooms at the back of the hotel. The all are near the air condition units and are quite noisy. We had room 107 for our first night and I thought, at first, there was an air compressor with a bad bearing operating outside the room. For our second stay we requested a room on the third floor and that was much quieter.

  • Liked — Convenient to the airport, very clean, and top notch staff
  • Disliked — Bottom floor room 107 is noisy due to air conditioning units outside window.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V8Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We booked this hotel for our business trip (2 rooms) at the last moment. After seeing the overwhelming positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we were very curious to see how the place it.

From outside, it looked decent, right next to Jack in the box, good location (near to airport, not too far from downtown). They have ample parking. The steep ramp at the entrance was a surprise.

The staff are very courteous. The place is very clean. They have some fresh fruit and some pastries available through out the day and night.

They have DVD on rental, a good collection, for a very nominal price. Books available and some board games. All this before we even stepped in.

The rooms are very nice. Spacious, impeccable, cozy, warm and inviting. They have a large flat screen HDTV in the room.

Rooms are cleaned every day. Very clean and very professional.

A nice breakfast in the morning.

Also available free massage chair, guest laundry, gym room, family play room ... man! what a place to be in.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roadcrazy_incali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel and I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the overall experience. The hotel was very neat and clean, with a very nice appearance both inside and out. The hotel staff was very accomadating and extremely friendly. Mava, Dee and Maria are to be commended for their diligence and professionalism.
I had always thought of Super 8 as a step up from Motel 6 until I actually arrive at this hotel. It is a small hotel with service that is equal to some of the four and five star hotel chains for considerably less the cost.
I will definitely use this hotel when I return to Austin next month.

  • Liked — The bed was awesome. I slept very well!!
  • Disliked — the parking lot
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SirCamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We initialy wanted to stay in the centre of Austin but it was all looking a little too expensive and I began to look a little further out. It became apparent that we would have to drive to get into town so I looked for a cheaper out of town hotel and this one kept coming up. I researched this hotel on several different sites and all the reviews were excellent. Despite our reservations about the reputations of motel 8 we booked.

It was fairly easy to find and we had a warm welcome on our arrival. We had booked a double suite but as I had a cold my lovely partner said they wanted their own bed. .. humph!! We managed to change room no problem. The room and bathroom were immaculate and a good size. There was a fridge and big tv and If you have a laptop there is free internet.

There is a pillow menu and you can pick what you want if you need to change, however there were about 5 pillows on my bed anyway.

The breakfast was great and there was loads of it - It was full of sweet things as is normal in the USA - cakes, more cakes, donuts, sweet cerials, different breads, fruit, good quality yoguts, eggs, and small flat sausages in a scone! Lots of tea which we were delightet at, coffee and a huge array of sweet things to put in your coffee. The texas shaped waffle maker was an interesting challenge to my partner.

The dining room is small and if there were more that 15 people it would be too busy but we did not have any problems.

There is fresh coffee available all day in reception and in the evening they put fresh cakes out. We did not try out the massage chars in reception :~(

The staff were excellent and the manager went out of his way to offer help when I had a banking question. I was trying to book a Segway tour and A lovely guest who stays there often even offered me the use of his phone to make a quick local call.

The drive in to town takes about 7 to 10 min depending of traffic. it looks more on the map and it was easy.

I would totaly reccommend this hotel. I have stayed in 4 star hotels that are not as good as this !

  • Liked — It was clean and good value for money
  • Disliked — Hmmm - nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

This is the best chain motel site I have ever stayed at! Our room and bathroom were HUGE, clean, and well appointed. The room and motel decor was all very tasteful and modern. Ammenities such as the 52 inch flatscreen tv, DVD player, and MP3 docking station were a great convenience as was the full kitchen in my "family suite". Free breakfast and evening desert bar are very nice. All this, plus too many more amenities to list make this a GREAT value for the price!

Additionally, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Just wished it had a swimming pool, but still totally worth the stay despite missing that........

All in all, a wonderful, comfortable stay---we have found our new Austin motel for the many visits we make each year! My 4 year old son is already begging to go back! Lol!

  • Liked — All the "personal" touches that made it "homey" and wonderful ammenities & staff
  • Disliked — No pool, mediocre water pressure , handicap room needed a "regular" height rack to hang clothes, full kitchen could use some kitchen basics (i.e., a pot, pan, utensils, etc.)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank getwiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#54 of 202 in Austin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Property: Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing