We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Austin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #72 of 199 Hotels in Austin
North Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best in Austin!”
Reviewed November 19, 2008

This is the best chain motel site I have ever stayed at! Our room and bathroom were HUGE, clean, and well appointed. The room and motel decor was all very tasteful and modern. Ammenities such as the 52 inch flatscreen tv, DVD player, and MP3 docking station were a great convenience as was the full kitchen in my "family suite". Free breakfast and evening desert bar are very nice. All this, plus too many more amenities to list make this a GREAT value for the price!

Additionally, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Just wished it had a swimming pool, but still totally worth the stay despite missing that........

All in all, a wonderful, comfortable stay---we have found our new Austin motel for the many visits we make each year! My 4 year old son is already begging to go back! Lol!

  • Liked — All the "personal" touches that made it "homey" and wonderful ammenities & staff
  • Disliked — No pool, mediocre water pressure , handicap room needed a "regular" height rack to hang clothes, full kitchen could use some kitchen basics (i.e., a pot, pan, utensils, etc.)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank getwiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    212
    74
    32
    23
See reviews for
204
221
75
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MidWest USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Picked this hotel because of location and all the good reviews. It is as good as the others say. The business room we had was only $5 a night more than a Standard room. Had the huge TV, a notebook computer AND printer in the room. Print boarding pass on day of return, plus a lot of other things.
The staff was always most helpful. There is the Wii on first floor for kids, lots of DVD's to borrow and watch, and near airport. Don't like your pillow, they have a choice of lots of kinds.

Will stay whenever in the area.

  • Liked — Computer & printer in room. We both could use a computer at same time.
  • Disliked — Just one day breakfast bar wasn't restocked ASAP. Others days fine,
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoeyJetttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Agree with all the previous excellent reviews...this family do a FANTASTIC JOB! The place is spotless, comfortable, breakfast was good, Owner is friendly, even offered us desert when we arrived! There's even a LCD TV Monitor in the elevator!
The business centre has clean laptop computers and a good laser printer, just what you need to print off your boarding passes. 10/10 for The Kumar Family.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank niloc-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2008

This is not your ordinary Super 8! As mentioned in many of the other reviews it has everything you would need and more for a comfortable stay at a hotel. This was our second visit in the last two years. The hotel staff really cares about its guests. The beds and bedding are great! It is very clean! And a great value! We needed an early shuttle ride to the airport at 5:00am and even that was done with a smile and friendly conversation. The free breakfast bar did not open until 6 but they even made sure we had a coffee before we left. We will be going to Austin once every year...and I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Liked — accomodations and convience
  • Disliked — there were none
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pat59NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

What can I say? When I heard I was booked at a Super 8 hotel for a biz trip my heart sank. I imagined a nasty, charmless little motel with planes going overhead and the smell of plastic and old cigarettes. But, no! Somehow this family has taken what certainly could have been a hum-drum cookie cutter establishment and turned it into a truly excellent hotel. As all the other reviewers have mentioned it is well-appointed and comfortable - a testimony to the strengths of a well-run family business.

A word to the Holiday Inn and other chains - look at what the Kumars are doing and follow their example.

  • Liked — Great bed, comfortable and quiet room near the airport
  • Disliked — Far from restaurants and downtown
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JonKMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I love this place so much that I'm writing a review while still staying here...thanks to free internet for all guests. Add to that all the Starbucks coffee you can drink, sausage biscuits & waffles for breakfast, 52-inch TV & iPod player speakers in my room, super comfortable king-size therapeutic bed. And the owner, Sam Kumar, even picked me up from the airport as part of the flexible shuttle service. All this for $89.00 a night! Need I say more?

  • Liked — Free internet, Free Starbucks coffee, Absolute value for money
  • Disliked — Small--ish bathrooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntyJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We chose to stay at this Super 8 because of the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Great Advise! I can't add anything that hasn't already been said. We stayed for one night as my son had to be downtown at 5:30 am. Later in the day as I was leaving the man at the counter asked what they could do to make it better. I couldn't think of a thing!

  • Liked — New, clean, well-priced (AARP discount)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#58 of 199 in Austin
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Property: Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing