We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best Super 8 I've even encountered. Most of them SUCK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #71 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Albuquerque
1 review
“This was the best Super 8 I've even encountered. Most of them SUCK”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Most Super 8's suck. This one was wonderful in every aspect of service, quality, comfort, courtesy and cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank LedaCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    217
    77
    32
    25
See reviews for
215
224
76
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all, this is probably the fanciest Super 8 I've ever seen by a LONG shot, and I've stayed in a lot of Super 8's. I imagine most of the rooms were fairly nice, clean, and roomy--but for some reason, mine also included an indoor hot tub, just about 8 feet from the queen bed. This was indeed a cause for excitement, but it ran out as soon as I realized that the jets weren't working. Oh well. Maybe they should have hung a sign (to paraphrase Mitch Hedberg's escalator joke): "Hot tub has temporarily become a bath." It felt like such a first world problem, though, that I declined to call the front desk.

The only drawback of my stay was two drunken idiots yelling at each other outside all night, but that's what you get for taking business trips during SXSW week. Can't really blame the hotels for that...

Room Tip: Get the spa room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Never having stayed at a Super 8 before, I had no idea what to expect. It is not a Marriott or Hyatt, but it had the feel of a quality hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was great. Ceiling fan, robe hanging on the hook and even a regular thermostat for controlling the wall unit. The only negative I have of the motel is regarding rates. I wanted to stay there the following week on a return to Austin, however, the same room had a new price over $100 more than I had just paid the week before. The "newer" rate put the price into a category well beyond a Super 8. But I travel to Austin frequently on business and will continue to check the rates and most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Friendly front desk staff who appreciate your business. Room was well stocked and even had a couple of nice surprise free treats. Good shower pressure and clean, fresh towels. Excellent bed and a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Wow. Starbucks coffee. Ceiling fan in the room. Nice sized room and bath. Hand rails in the tub. Super 8 beds are always comfy, but this one was really, really comfy. Very clean. Paid more than usual, but this is Austin. Great value!

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#65 of 203 in Austin
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Property: Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing