We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Extras make up for dated appearance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #71 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and Extras make up for dated appearance”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The furniture and hotel itself has a bit of a dated appearance. Nevertheless, the serivce was friendly. It appears to be a family run business. I was given a "deluxe suite" for the very good price I paid using an online booking service. The room was clean and very spacious. There was a small basket of complimentary snacks. The room not only had wifi, but also an (older) laptop available for use. There was also a flat screen,DVD player, microwave, & refrigerator. I would not expect this at a Super 8. Breakfast choices included cereal, waffles, fruit, oatmeal,juice, pastries. There were no eggs however.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suite is at the end of a hall and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    218
    78
    32
    25
See reviews for
216
224
78
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN JOSE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Super value - good bed, spacious bath, outstanding coffee, clean, neat, low price. Only negative is location, but the price and quality far make up for that shortcoming, especially if you're not spending all your time in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank MAXIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write review. Receiving a great review, we could not ask for anything else for Christmas. Thank you.

Sam Kumar
Guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I made an online reservation through Super 8's website on Nov. 26, 2011 in order to attend the Formula One race that is to take place in Austin Nov. 16-18, 2012. I received a confirmation from the hotel and would be paying under $150 a night. Since the reservation was made so far in advance, I would occasionally check on it to make sure everything was still okay. On Mar. 29, 2012, I went to the Super 8 website to check on the reservation and the website said it was cancelled. I called Super 8 and they said that indeed the reservation was invalid that there were no rooms currently available. I said this was an outrage and that I made my reservation so far in advance because I knew that once the race was announced, rooms would sell out quickly. I have a confirmation for a reservation. The clerk accused me of cancelling the reservation myself and said they sent me an email (which they did not). I called the corporate office and filed a complaint to which I received a response from the hotel manager stating that the reservation was cancelled by me via telephone on Dec. 16, 2011 which is a total fabrication on his part. In the meantime, I researched what Super 8 was selling other rooms for during the time I was scheduled to be in Austin, and they were going for 4-5 times more than I was supposed to pay for my room. I emailed the hotel manager Sam Kumar, and told him such and that I believed that his hotel cancelled my reservation in order to have it available and sell it for a higher rate to which Mr. Kumar flatly denied, but I strongly disagree. I did not cancel my reservation (I was looking forward to staying there) and Super 8 Hotels has an obligation to make good on their promise of accommodations or to at the very least, make me aware that they were cancelling my reservation so I could make other arrangements. They did none of those things.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shanew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, General Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking time to write review. Valid credit card is required to make reservation. Reservation is charged 1st night at the time of reservation. Your credit card declined at the time of reservation therefore; your reservation was cancelled. We call and informed to provide us the valid credit card.
I am sorry you did not have the reservation due to your fault.

Sam Kumar
General Manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Property: Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing