We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #74 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were looking for a convient hotel to the airport and the Supper 8 had great reviews. We were not disappointed. I requested a rooom on the top floor (3rd floor) and since they didn't have one for my particular reservation (single king bed) they upgraded me for free to a small suite. Staff was very friendly and professional. I found the internet speed to be fine. The hotel is clean and quiet (no road or neighbor noise). The free breakfast has limited items but its fresh and adequate. Lastly, this is not your hotel if you plan to spend alot of time in downtown Austin but, if you plan to explore Austin and the surrounding areas, this is a great inexpensive hotel. Yes, it has free parking. Most of the downtown hotels will charge you $25-$27 per day to park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav3ldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 762 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We traveled from PA to TX to visit relatives. Spent two nights here as a result of Tripadvisor Reviews. Clean room, comfortable king bed, sufficient hot breakfast, nice service. Allowed us to check in early at 12:30. The room really had many little details that most hotels do not provide - such as a wash basket and a bathrobe and a bathroom scale. The bad points: Old, rear projector television had a really large screen but poor picture quality and limited channels. At the base of our bed, it really towered over us and would have been nice if it had good quality. It hurt our eyes. I guess that is why they offer free DVD loaners in the lobby. The coffee maker in the breakfast area grinds the beans before brewing the coffee, but it seemed too strong in flavor. Difficult to use. Other hotels usually have much better coffee setup and quality. We were not aware of any dessert bar. We stayed at five different hotels on our trip. This was in the mid range in overall quality but cost about 1/3 more than the other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Positive points:
Good service
Free breakfast with adequate variety of food
Free internet
Free parking
Free printer
Free dvd and books
Easy check in and check out
Helpfull reception staff ( specially Mr. Vikram)
Negative points: far (10 min drive) from city center, slow internet speed in the evening, when we came back to the room we saw our Pijamas were Thrown on the floor!
Conclusion: we wanted to book a 4 star hotel in downtown for 600 $ for 2 nights but we decided to book this hotel for 200 $ and now happy of our choice. suitable option and good choice for the price,,,

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We arrived at this hotel late after a gruelling transatlantic journey and just desperately wanted to get some sleep.
the guy on the checkin desk had no record of our booking and actually seemed genuinely suprised that super 8 had a website at all when i produced my printout of the booking confirmation.
It took what seemed like an age to complete a simple check in procedure, and guy told us that WE were "lucky they had a room for us"!!
The room was fine, but certainly not the "jacuzzi suite" it was billed as on my confirmation.
There was no Jacuzzi, just a midget sized bath with a couple of jets on the side.
The carpet was dirty but thankfully, the bed was comfortable at least. We were so tired after the lengthy check in that we went straight to sleep.
The next morning we went down for our breakfast.
Breakfast is so bad here that its funny, me and my girlfriend still laugh about it.
The breakfast room was a complete mess, food all over the floor, no tables cleared, overflowing bins with waffle mix streaming down the sides, you wouldn't believe it.
"food" choices are:
Old cold boiled eggs
toast
tiny minature fruit pots drenched in sugar syrup
fizzy drinks
make your own waffle corner (filthy)
these weird little burgers that smell like they were made in a sewer.

My Girlfriend asked for some water and she was directed out of the "breakfast" room to a corridor where they had a tap crusted with dirt and thimble sized paper cups.
At this point we could only laugh and still do when we think of super 8.

The beautiful hotel we stayed at for the rest of our trip to Austin (the Hotel Cecilia) was just like night and day to this place. We cancelled the night we had booked here on the way back to avoid experiencing it again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Chose this hotel because of its rating and it did not disappoint. Friendly staff, very comfortable beds, clean, free movies, free breakfast, quiet. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madamrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Austin's Super 8 Motel had a free snack and water bottle waiting for us when we arrived. On the bed was a teddy bear with the pillow bar info tied to its neck. I sampled a few pillows during my stay. We had a computer in our room (and I know there aren't computers in every room... possibly we got one due to staying for over a week) with internet access, and free internet for our i-phones etc. The bed was super comfy, and we slept well. The windows allowed for almost total light block out which was great. The breakfast in the morning was more than just buns and fruit, and included these and waffles, eggs, bacon, and much more. The staff was very friendly. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PictureThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

#2 hotel in Austin???, please........This was the 2nd worst place I've ever stayed at. The building looks fairly new (maybe 5 years old or so) and they offer books to read and movies to rent for $1, free wireless, and the rooms have fridge, microwave, and a safe (bolted to easily portable/removable nightstand - go figure??). However, the room stunk pretty bad and the carpet was not very clean and had not been vacuumed. The sheets were well worn, thin, and had some spots on them. There was a bug in the bathroom sink, the walls are paper-thin. We did not try the extensive breakfast due to the dirty state we found the room in. Had a two-night reservation and the staff promptly issued a refund for us canceling the 2nd night after offering to move us to another room, which I respectfully declined.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $98 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing