We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Thai Dishes and Scrumptious Sushi”
Review of Ka-Prow Bistro

Ka-Prow Bistro
Ranked #670 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
Description: Ka-Prow Thai & Sushi Bistro holds deep roots to Thailand and brings a variety of authentic and health-conscious dishes to Austin like the popular Pad Thai, Spicy Chow Mein and chef specials like Ginger Tilapia and Paradise Duck. Along with stir-fry and curry dishes, we seek to apply the fast-paced nature of preparing Thai food in a range of dynamic, exciting and flavorful ways. Beyond the quick movement of Thai, we also specialize in what we think is the artful and meticulous preparation of sushi by delivering traditional rolls as well as unique ones like Apple Blossom with spicy tuna, apple, and kampyo. We prepare our dishes fresh every day, are considerate of gluten and shellfish allergies and seek organic ingredients. We look forward to sharing our passion with you soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Ka-Prow Thai & Sushi Bistro holds deep roots to Thailand and brings a variety of authentic and health-conscious dishes to Austin like the popular Pad Thai, Spicy Chow Mein and chef specials like Ginger Tilapia and Paradise Duck. Along with stir-fry and curry dishes, we seek to apply the fast-paced nature of preparing Thai food in a range of dynamic, exciting and flavorful ways. Beyond the quick movement of Thai, we also specialize in what we think is the artful and meticulous preparation of sushi by delivering traditional rolls as well as unique ones like Apple Blossom with spicy tuna, apple, and kampyo. We prepare our dishes fresh every day, are considerate of gluten and shellfish allergies and seek organic ingredients. We look forward to sharing our passion with you soon.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious Thai Dishes and Scrumptious Sushi”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

If your tastes lean toward spicy then the Pad Kee Mao is a must try! The spicy grilled duck is also an exciting flavor combination! Should you prefer sushi then the Sakura roll is always a good bet! Service is very attentive and menu items can be adapted to suit your needs. A gem in North Austin.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai and Indian Curry”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wow. Chef O is the mastermind behind the explosion of fantastic flavors at this sedate strip along IH35 and Howard Lane.. Nicely decorated restaurant with excellent wait staff. The food is amazing. Tonight tried the lettuce wraps as the appetizer. They were delightful, and delicately spicy with terrific robust flavor. Next, shared the Pad Puk w/ chicken (w/no chilis = no heat) and the curry delicious Penang w/ brown rice (two chilis). Love this place..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in north Austin!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Look for this place at Howard Ln and I-35 in a small strip center. Great food, great chef, nice staff - what more could you want? The menu has a variety of items, including gluten free and veggie dishes. Even soy wraps for sushi if you don't like seaweed. Try it - you won't be disappointed by the food or the great people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Super Thai and Sushi”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Addictive red curry, crazy good Spicy grilled duck, and a surprisingly good atmosphere to be had here! And the sushi is fresh and delicious. Don't let the fact that this place is in a strip shopping center put you off. We absolutely eat here at least once every time we visit Austin.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank leylacheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SO glad we tried this place!”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We have a lot of favorite restaurants at home - ones who do everything right - so many times when traveling, we are at least mildly disappointed. You just can't usually find places that suit your tastes on the fly... so I tend to look at reviews before we go out of town, and I am so glad I saw the reviews for Ka Prow.

The food was AMAZING, excellent sushi, wonderful red curry, a grilled duck dish that was one of the best Asian dishes I've ever tried... we liked it so much that we tried to go back the next day, but they don't open til 4 on Sundays, and we had to get out of town.

The service was good, slight language barrier with our server, BUT everything still came out perfectly.

The atmosphere was nice and dark. Very attractive for a place in a strip mall!

I give Ka Prow my highest recommendation, which means I will go back as often as I make my way to Austin!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leylacheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ka-Prow Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ka-Prow Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing