We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drifter Jack's Hostel
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Austin for the party scene this is the perfect hostel for you. Lots of social and night life going on. It was great that lots of the staff were so hands on and took groups out at night - which clearly wasn't required of them.

If you're in Austin for anything other than partying I would recommend somewhere else since the drinking/shenanigans tend to run from about 8pm and go as late (early?) as 4am. Def not a bad thing just giving fair warning. The hostel has more of a "college dorm" feel than anything else.


All in all very welcoming place. The owner is very friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 135 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

For my first time at a this hotel, Drifter Jacks is pretty good at first impressions! All though it was a bit of an adventure to find since it is secluded, the service and rooms are great! The art work all over the walls is pretty reminiscent of Adventure Time and easily catches the eye. The rooms are typically 6 to a room but there is still good space to place your things and the hostel is only a short bus ride from Downtown Austin if your looking for nightlife. They will definitely see me again :)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Chelios93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Yazmin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Marcel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank TeoHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 903DiegoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#42 of 201 in Austin
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifter Jack's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifter Jack's Hostel

Address: 2602 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78705-4044
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Price Range: $32 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifter Jack's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home in Austin, Texas! Our comfy hostel is located downtown across from the University of Texas near famous 6th street, Hope Outdoor Street Art Gallery and minutes away from all of Austin's main attractions. While most of the city center can feel deserted in the daytime, our colorful neighborhood is always buzzing with life. West Campus is filled with independent shops, quirky cafes, vintage clothing stores, artisan vendors and more pedestrian traffic than anywhere else in the city. Perfect for experiencing the real Austin! Drifter Jack's is passionate about hosteling. We know that hostels have the potential to create lifelong friendships and unforgettable memories. Our favorite hostels around the world made it fun and easy to connect with other travelers while experiencing the city like a local. That is exactly what we strive to do. For example, join us for our pubcrawl every Thursday and Saturday where we show you the best spots in Austin! At DJ's our focus is on community, comfort and cleanliness. In order to truly represent our creative city, we invited over 25 local artists to paint murals throughout every room and common area. If you're looking for an intimate home base with a great vibe and central location, you've come to the right place. Let our friendly staff show you why Austin is known for its retro charm and southern hospitality! Drifter Jack's is happy to provide you with the following FREE amenities: • One free beer or cocktail each night of your stay at one of Austin's best venues for live music, located right next door! • Coffee and tea available 24/7 • Super-fast Wi-Fi • Borrow an IPad or laptop to use the internet • Parking • 24 hour reception • Lockers for your backpacks or luggage • High-quality mattresses, Serta pillows, bed linen and duvets • Maps along with great advice from our knowledgeable staff on what to see and do • Pool table and other games • Movie room w/ large collection -join us for retro movie night! • Mini-fridge in every room • Book exchange • Iron and hair dryer available • Luggage storage • Printing We also provide a Washer/Dryer for $5, Vegemite and several useful travel accessories at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drifter Jack's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing