We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$133
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Driskill(Austin)
$241
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$189
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
145
124
60
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
124
60
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskbreakfast buffetwould stay here againcomfortable bedthe rooms were niceclean hotelhotel is greathotel barcorner roomnice staybusiness tripdowntown areaconvenient locationjoshuaorybeatrizconference
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 360 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nights mid-October for downtown convention. Downtown was booked up so settled for mid-town and took a cab every morning. (Cabs are expensive in Austin!) Upon arrival and check-in, we were greeted with a little welcome gift from staff, nice touch! Room was updated and clean, though on the small side. Everything worked properly and had no complaints. Lobby, bar and dining rooms were all very clean and modern. Great tips from the bartender re:local restaurants and things to do. We had breakfast only in the dining room and it was typical buffet fare, although we ordered from menu and eggs Benedict was fabulous! Although the hotel seemed to be full every night, this appears to be located in a dying part of the city. VERY difficult to get to, we discovered after finally renting a car. Access roads are a nightmare, even with GPS! All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms have mini-balconies which is a nice touch!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyforns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After scoring a great deal, I was impressed. As they say, everythings bigger in Texas. My room was huge, king size bed, writing desk, sofa, balcony. Roomy closet, large bathroom. Studio apartment size. Clean bed, clean carpet, no noise. Large flat screen TV and free wifi. The desk staff cheerful and accomodating. They evan have free lemonade in the lobby. The bar is nice, you can purchase breakfast or order room service.
I am giving this hotel my first five star rating for excellence.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you are having an event, than Renee and Ray will make it perfect. Henry and Kelly at the hotel bar mix awesome drinks. Mina in the restaurant provides excellent service for the breakfast buffet, which is worth getting. At the front desk always ask for Edith, she will go out of her way to make you stay memorable in a good way. Ashley and Mary made check in a snap even when I was about 3o minutes early. If you get the hotel early go set at the bar and enjoy a cold one.

Room Tip: I would ask to get on the top floor and facing West to see as much of downtown at night. You can see a little of it. Turn on the A/c when you first arrive...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJPD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Early checked in and stayed for two nights. The hotel has a good location and excellent service. The room is very clean and neat. Environment is quite. It has free parking and complimentary breakfast.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Xin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was nicely upgraded inside with modern and colorful carpet, walls and surfaces. The snack bar and common areas are modern and attractive, as well as the new furnishings in the bedrooms. The only problem was the noisy AC/heating unit, which we had to turn off at some point, because it would not let us sleep.

The location of the hotel is a bit misleading. It is located next to the Highland Mall, but the mall appears to have been fallen to hard times and was almost abandoned. The area around the hotel is a bit dodgy with no major restaurant or nightlife around, except for a couple of gentlemen's lounges close by. (I guess, this could be considered ...nightlife.) For the price of the room at Priceline.com with a major UT parents weekend event, it was OK.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are less noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paokara1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHolsten, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Paokara1940,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and your fellow travelers. I will be sure to share your feedback with our staff.

The hotel has undergone extensive renovations and we are pleased to know that you found them so appealing. Although our renovations are complete, the area around the hotel is going through a major face lift. In 2014, the Highland Mall, once the premier shopping outlet in Austin, will reopen its doors as Austin Community College's central campus.

Although we aren't located directly downtown, you can still get to the downtown attractions within 15 minutes by car, cab, metro rail, or city bus. And, unlike some of our downtown competitors, our parking is complimentary. On your next stay, I encourage you to stop by our front desk to get some great restaurant recommendations, all located less than a mile from our front door.

Sincerely,

Robert D. Holsten II | Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews