We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded hotel in a not-so-nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
Ranked #77 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Upgraded hotel in a not-so-nice spot”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was nicely upgraded inside with modern and colorful carpet, walls and surfaces. The snack bar and common areas are modern and attractive, as well as the new furnishings in the bedrooms. The only problem was the noisy AC/heating unit, which we had to turn off at some point, because it would not let us sleep.

The location of the hotel is a bit misleading. It is located next to the Highland Mall, but the mall appears to have been fallen to hard times and was almost abandoned. The area around the hotel is a bit dodgy with no major restaurant or nightlife around, except for a couple of gentlemen's lounges close by. (I guess, this could be considered ...nightlife.) For the price of the room at Priceline.com with a major UT parents weekend event, it was OK.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paokara1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHolsten, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Midtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Paokara1940,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and your fellow travelers. I will be sure to share your feedback with our staff.

The hotel has undergone extensive renovations and we are pleased to know that you found them so appealing. Although our renovations are complete, the area around the hotel is going through a major face lift. In 2014, the Highland Mall, once the premier shopping outlet in Austin, will reopen its doors as Austin Community College's central campus.

Although we aren't located directly downtown, you can still get to the downtown attractions within 15 minutes by car, cab, metro rail, or city bus. And, unlike some of our downtown competitors, our parking is complimentary. On your next stay, I encourage you to stop by our front desk to get some great restaurant recommendations, all located less than a mile from our front door.

Sincerely,

Robert D. Holsten II | Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    113
    53
    18
    10
See reviews for
56
49
27
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

What a find. This hotel has just been done up and they've done a great job! Nicely decorated rooms, great amenities and friendly staff. The bar tender Michael is helpful and great!

What's even better is that as a cheaper out of town hotel you can still get to downtown via the MetroRail in 15 minutes for just $1!

Just don't go the shopping.... The local mall has definitely seen better days!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wowzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel online as a cheaper out of town option but was pleasantly surprised. It's just been refurbished and the staff are keen and friendly. But to my surprise it is also minutes from Austin's metro. Great, no need to drive, free parking and European-style transport right into downtown running until 0030! A great secret spot in Austin!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Blackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This Holiday Inn is a good one but what makes it is the snack/lobby bar area. Joshua was our bartender one Monday evening recently and was a gem! He really made the place seem like a hometown bar. Thanks Joshua!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this location a serveral times while in Austin for business. Great Staff, nice rooms. The area surrounding the hotel is on the downslide with several business closed down including the mall. It's close to 35 and 290, but not too close that the freeway noise will keep you awake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I will start off by saying the staff in general was friendly (especially the front desk). My room was spacious and had a comfortable bed so no complaints there. I recently stayed for 1 night on business and was bummed to see my request for room service in the morning for breakfast wasn't picked up by the staff (door hanger was still on my door the next morning, fail.) I was in a bit of a rush since a coworker of mine was on his way to pick me up. When I walked downstairs I noticed a few other door hangers still on guests' doors that weren't picked up either. Fail again.

I told the person at the reception desk and he was apologetic and gave me a $5 voucher at the bar. It was around 7:30 and the bar wasn't ready to serve, I quickly realized. I finally got a cold bagel and coffee after a bit.

I would highly suggest to other guests to call room service themselves instead of using the door hanger since it doesn't seem like a priority for them to pick them up each night.

Room Tip: Call room service yourself, they don't always pick up the room service door hangers the night be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHolsten, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Midtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Our brand recognizes that our guests have increasingly demanding, even hectic work schedules. Our breakfast hangers are designed to provide our guests the pleasure of sleeping in and the convenience of having breakfast delivered when they expect it. On behalf of our management team, I sincerely apologize that we didn't start your day off right.

Within hours of your review, our operations team convened with our contracted security company to address this issue and amend our standard operating procedures. I can assure you that we use our guests' feedback to ensure that we continue to deliver on our brand's promise - to provide great hotels our guests love.

I hope you will contact me directly if your travel plans bring you back to the Austin area. We are very eager to make things right.


Kindest Regards,

Robert D. Holsten II | Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
512-451-5757
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Obviously, this is an older hotel that has been re-done. However, they did a good job!

We were in town for a Longhorn game, and decided to stay here because available hotel rooms were scarce. This turned out to be a nice stay. Staff was friendly, it was an easy check-in, and the room was clean and roomy. Comfortable bed, too. Having a coffee bar in the lobby was also great the next morning. All in all, we would stay here again. Good job guys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCTexasKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 202 in Austin
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
Address: 6000 Middle Fiskville Road, Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Austin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown Hotel Austin
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing