We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
Ranked #80 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Not much to do in the area. I would suggest renting car if staying here. The hotel was really great. I stayed on the 9th floor and the room was very modern. The lobby had a great little bar in it with a number of tv's.

The staff was really nice.

Downside The restaraunt was not that great.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northtwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased. The bed was great and room style very pleasing. It is difficult to find, but once you have done it, it is not a problem. With all the great restaurants in Austin, we did not have a problem dining. The price through the HI website was was great and not having to pay for parking downtown was the deciding factor.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing downtown for a nice evening view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranburyJoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is not in walking distance of anything except for the bus depot next door. The day we arrived we watched "sales girls" in the parking lot being arrested. One two separate occasions in the morning, I heard an engineer trying out new keys in the lock of the door; however each time, there was no knock to give us a head's up. That was vey jarring-especially at first when I didn't realize it was an engineer! Finally, on my 3rd night at the hotel we heard a woman screaming for security on the 7th floor. Very scary. Wonder if that's why they were trying out new keys.

My room was clean, however the electric sockets didn't have casings and the headboard of my bed was falling off the wall. However, most of the front desk attendants and staff were quite pleasant. Would I stay here again though? NO.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingus1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear travelingus1975,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We hope you enjoyed your clean room accommodations. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. I will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Been here a few times, and each time was great. I love the beds they are very comfortable and the bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. I love being able to go out on the balcony. Location is right by the mall so that is a plus. customer service was good. I would total recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Room was very spacious and comfortable. Make sure you ask for a room with a sleep number bed. My room also had a mini-refrigerator. Hotel is a bit off the main freeway which eliminates the traffic noise but made it somewhat of a hassle to easily get in and out. Several good restaurants in the area. If you're a frequent Holiday Inn customer, I would recommend this hotel due to the recent upgrades, the nice room and the bed. The breakfast was good and everything seemed clean, except for the patio furniture by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for sleep number bed if that's your preference, they were extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dstar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I will be back. Attended this hotel for a 3-day conference. I had stayed a couple other times. Every visit was great. Recently remodeled, sleep number bed, quiet spacious rooms, very clean, great wi-fi, included breakfast was plenty and they have a great evening reception. Has a spacious workout room and the pool appeared very inviting. As for the conference, the hotel and staff went all out with facilities and refreshments. This hotel has been recently refurbished. There's not a lot of eating places within walking distance, however IH 35 is flooded with restaurants within 3 minutes drive time. Their uniformed security helped feel my vehicle was secure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Located by the Highland Mall way north of the University of Texas (UT) campus, it is far from being anywhere close to "Midtown". A bus or train ride into town takes 25-35 minutes, depending on the time of day.

The Highland Mall is dying a slow death with entire mall buildings vacated. There is nothing to do nearby - even the few chain restaurants in the area can be a challenge to get to if you don't have a car - the area is bordered by highways and fly-overs.

The Highland Mall Station of the Austin Metro Red-line arrives at the oppsite corner of the huge open lot, a 10 minute walk away. There is no shuttle from the hotel to the Metro sation.

The Austin Metro (www.capmetro.org) runs a decent service and you can plan your trip online - it will offer 1-3 suggestions according to the date and time selected. While the #10 bus will pick you up a short distance away from the hotel, it will not drop you off at the same spot coming back.

The quality of the hotel was OK for a Holiday Inn. Free Wi-Fi in-room was a plus. The "Business Center" is a small open space located by the reception with two PCs for free Internet Access and a printer. One of the PCs was not working for 4 of the 5 days we were there. The second had an anti-malware 'watchdog' that was malfunctioning on the 4th day (could not even get onto safe sites such as Google.com) and the reception staff had no idea what to do to correct the issue.

The bedroom was quite spacious but the bathroom was small - only 1 person can be in it at any one time.

The in-room a/c unit can be somewhat noisy when it kicks in to keep the room at the temperature that you set. The sound is loud enough to wake up a light sleeper.

Summary: Unless you are attending a conference at the hotel itself, there is really no reason to pick this location - there are cheaper motels and lodges nearby.

Room Tip: The area around the hotel is quite deserted so any room will not be affected by outside noise - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

zanytraveller,

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking the time to provide feedback. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the hone of serving you in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 202 in Austin
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin Midtown

Address: 6000 Middle Fiskville Road, Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Austin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $95 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown Hotel Austin
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing