We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and natural - Great shows on weekends”

Zilker Botanical Garden
Ranked #22 of 326 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botanical Gardens includes 31 acres of land with plants that thrive in arid southwestern conditions.
austin, tx
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and natural - Great shows on weekends”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just go wander around the beautiful grounds. Very central Austin. If you're here at the right weekend the Bonsai show is fascinating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mostundudelike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    187
    79
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a winner in the springtime”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the few places you can see azaleas in bloom in Austin. It was designed a century ago by a Japanese garden designer, who used native Austin stone and lots of native plants. I love the water features. It is a peaceful place to stroll in the shade even on warm days.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small but cool park”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I probably went during the wrong season but it was still a nice little park to walk around in. The reason why I say I went during the wrong season is because there were no roses in the rose garden. Other than that though, the garden was a nice way to walk off some doughnuts. There are different sections labeled on the map - Japanese, herb, prehistoric, rose, etc. I liked the herb garden best because they had a bunch of compost bins with "how-to's" on creating your own compost bin. I find composting neat (I know I'm weird) so I was pretty taken by that section. This botanical park is a nice, serene place in Austin. I think admission was $2 for the car so it's cheap too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate N.Y.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Perhaps February isn't the best time to visit-”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

But it was still beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the Oriental Garden, with the Prehistoric Garden also worth viewing. Though flowers were not in bloom, using a bit of imagination you can appreciate the work that has been put into this place. Giving it a bad review because some maintenence/cleaning was going on seems unfair- if you can't spend a couple bucks to see a really creative and well thought out garden, then perhaps you should find a redbox and rent again "Planet of the Apes."

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank swampknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
226 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Cool spot for pictures!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The park is very beautiful. Cool spot for engagement pictures. There is a very cool water feature and a rose garden! We love it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sherri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zilker Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Zilker Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing