We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful beauty”

Zilker Botanical Garden
Ranked #21 of 325 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botanical Gardens includes 31 acres of land with plants that thrive in arid southwestern conditions.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful beauty”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

my family and I went to the Zilker park and Botanical gardens recently....everything blooming...was so peaceful and beautiful...there was a very nice area where a wedding was going to take place....just many places to sit and just watch the plants and flowers....really lovely...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    184
    79
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

It's a really nice area to visit and relax. The water gardens are just plain fun for children.

Helpful?
Thank b_weather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“attractive and varied gardens”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Tanaguchi Japanese gardens are my favorite part of the garden, but it has a wonderful rose garden and demonstration garden too.

Helpful?
Thank LJHAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rose and oriental gardens”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Aside from the inexplicable parking fee, the gardens are nice. The oriental garden is lovely as is the large, manicured rose garden. Best in springtime, unbearable in August.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank austex_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Good, Only 2 Dollars, Needs A Little Work”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I went on March 12th, 2012. I'd estimate that they'll have maximum flowers about the first week of April. There were just a few roses blooming when I went. They had some other gorgeous blossoms, but the majority of the plants haven't bloomed yet. Go now, then go again in three weeks or so. The Japanese garden area was disappointing to me. The bridges were really cheap looking. I'm spoiled by the Japanese Garden at the Botanical Garden in Fort Worth. The cupola would have been a real highlight, but there is a water pool next to it full of rotting leaves. The water is very brown and unattractive. You are getting maximum visitors now and in the next month. Please clean out the scum from the water. Children will enjoy this too. Mostly it's good, and obviously will be better in a couple weeks or so.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RickTX28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zilker Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing