We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The architecture is beautiful”
Review of The Driskill

The Driskill
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Ride The Segway Austin Tour
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Austin Capitol Segway Tour
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Austin and Texas Hill Country
Ranked #5 of 325 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The architecture is beautiful”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I didn't stay at the Driskill but like a lot of people went in to see the lobby. It is beautiful. The Driskill is the oldest hotel in Austin located on Brazos St.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dawnmbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    377
    82
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel has a wonderful, warm ambiance. We went to the bar on the mezzanine, sat at the bar and had drinks and appetizers. The bar was large with lots of wonderful seating couches and easy chairs with coffee and side tables and lots of things to look at. The bartender was very attentive, explained what the liquors in the drinks were and when I didn't care for one, made me something else. All this when the bar was very full. We both chose different appetizers. I had buffalo chicken spring rolls and my friend had the brussels sprout hash. Both were to die for. The happy hour was very happy for both of us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 729Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Was a waste of money. High class only in decor”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are small and not having a pool when you are visiting on a 90+degree day is just not right. The décor is nice, but we had two relatives visit the restaurant late in the evening for a to-go order of desert and it appeared they either took it from the trash or combined half orders to one. Then when my relatives hesitated on taking it, the employee responded "go ahead they will like it..its fine" which it wasn't when they brought it to us. Also it took the server over 20 minutes to complete this one small order of carrot cake. I am sure the fact that my relatives are Hispanic and weren't in nice cloths didn't have anything to do with it.
Save your money and go to another hotel in the area. Much nicer ones and less expensive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful architecture and the lobby area is something else. The room was very small. Bed is great But that is about all that will fit in there. You pay for the history.

Helpful?
Thank Reaves N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful piano bar”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

You can pick a haunted room on a haunted floor. Beautiful property - ghost or no ghost! Rich with history and a great location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kat5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing