We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of The Driskill

The Driskill
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Ride The Segway Austin Tour
Ranked #6 of 319 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I always take our guests to have a snack in the lobby bar at the driskill and enjoy the old world charm of the lobby, the stained glass light in the middle of the floor, the marble, the wood paneling.

reminds me of many classic old hotels that are landmarks .. (many of the CP hotels come to mind that might now be Ritz Carltons etc.)

That said, I stayed in the hotel only once when visiting Austin and have to say that the rooms were a little small and dingy in comparison with what you'd find in a newer modern hotel. It's a fun experience to stay there .. and you are right downtown in the action so no complaints about that... but it would not be the place I would stay for every visit. You should do it once, and perhaps for a romantic stay .. or just for the experience

Remember to ask about the historical note from the lobby when you check in... you'll get a sheet that talks about the history of the hotel ...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    359
    82
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service disappointing”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We dined in the Driskill Grille and it was an absolutely beautiful dining room. The food was good but our waiter was absent most of the time and not at all attentive. We did expect more for the price of dinner there and the fact that it is supposed to be truly Fine Dining.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Cattleman's Lifestyle Lives”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in Austin. There is a simple elegance which pervades the place. It lacks the opulence of the Waldorf Astoria or the size of the Adolphus, but it has a charm and late 19th century motif which works perfectly for this Texan.

The rooms are nice, and have been greatly improved in the past couple of decades. The ballroom facilities are also top-notch. For me, though, everything you need to know about Is place can be learnt sitting at the bar listening to a fine pianist play on a happy hour night. Skip the mediocre-and-falling restaurant and spend your time at the bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lju3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Lounge for drinks”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This grand dame of a hotel is the perfect place to start or end your evening off. The location is on 5th street, right in the middle of all the live music scene. It is a gorgeous, old school lounge with many interesting details to enjoy. It is absolutely beautiful. The drinks are fabulous. They offer happy hour with terrific deals. The nibbles are delicious and the Bloody Mary Bar is also worthy of a stop on the weekends, late morning onward. Buy your mason jar of Tito's on ice and then gussy it up with all the endless finings they have to offer. It is great!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EMPeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old school”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the old section.

Plus points;
1. Bed and linen are super comfortable
2. Quiet room
3. The concierge by reception
4. Hot fudge sundae at the cafe is amazing

Areas for improvement
1. Room only is expensive for what you get - include breakfast and complimentary water
2. The floor is cold, provide free slippers
3. Clearly sign post how to get from reception to the old wing

Helpful?
Thank AlexSkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing