We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd say below average compared to”

Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar
Ranked #746 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“I'd say below average compared to”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Korean food I've had in the orient. However the place is usually packed, so I may be the only dissenting voice on this. My meal had pork of very low quality, filled with gristle and bone….a very low quality meal. I would not go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank falconfling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“BBQ is good”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

All the meats for BBQ are really awesome! But the waitresses there are really ' awesome' too. They are just give u a crying n angry face like u are doing something to their family!

Helpful?
Thank Bee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Liked by Friends”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I am not a huge fan of asian cuisine so take this review with a pinch of salt. My spouse and friends though, enjoyed the food and liked what they ordered.
The ambiance is okay and the grill on tables concept is pretty neat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeeBrahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
355 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Long Drive for a Poor Meal”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had high hopes for a unique Korean BBQ dining experience, but we left very disappointed with this restaurant. Upon entering we couldn't help but notice how badly this place needs a facelift. It is old and tired, along with the restrooms being substandard. Not an appealing environment at all. We asked to be seated at one of their few tables having built in gas BBQ grills; the grilling unit looked like it was from the 50's and the tables small and uneven.
The guests I was with were happy with their BBQ meals and I regret not ordering one of them. Instead, the shrimp and vegetable tempura combo sounded good to me so that's what I ordered. Big mistake! Instead of the shrimp and veggies being in a delicate, crispy, light, fluffy batter, the order arrived in a huge woven basket. I knew something was wrong when I lifted the basket and it felt like a ten pound weight! The shrimp and veggies were prepared and proportioned in such a gross manner that each piece felt unusually weighty and was tough to the bite into due to their density. I don't know what the cook did but my tempura was too dense and heavy to enjoy, not the light and crispy dish that tempura should be. I won't be going back here ever again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo_de_ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Felt like being back in Asia loved it”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Good food and fun! There was a group of seven us. We all ordered a protein a piece ( from tongue to chicken ), yaki man doo and a jalapeño peasano. Then they bought about 15 side dishes at least. Yum yum . I didn't give it the extra star because I thought the meat was good but not the best I ever had. Overall good eats and a great way to spend the night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oracle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing