We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Austin history but the food was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill's Cafe

Hill's Cafe
Ranked #1,770 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Southwestern, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A local South Austin hot spot since 1947, Hills Cafe has been serving up the best southern comfort food, steaks and BBQ anyone could ask for. An old Austin original with live music, catering, outdoor dining and large oak trees, Hill's Cafe is a destination for great food and fun! Did we mention a full bar and awesome drink prices?
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lots of Austin history but the food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The walls are covered in generations of Austin history. The food was not as remarkable as I expected. It's the usual down home southern cooking.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsknight20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Foreign Visitors read my review on the food here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Many reviewers praise the burgers of this place and supposedly has won local awards.
I have tasted burgers many places in Austin, the US and the world. These burgers are nothing special and are quite greasy. Meat is not flavorful. Tomato tastes oily - means improper kitchen technique - the thick french fries tasted bad, the oil used for frying them seems stale and thus the bad flavor. After 4 hours of eating that burger I still had its greasy flavor in my system. Service is great and the ambiance is great. But you can find much better burgers in hotels or restaurants.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nacho_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Historic Austin, and Great Hamburgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Enjoyed the margaritas, and the hamburgers. Lots of photos and memorabilia of old Austin music and misc. personalities. Wait staff was excellent. Onion rings were just OK. Would go again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger's I've Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have been too lots of restaurants, dives, goermet burger joints but this burger had the best flavor of them all. We sat in the "Rick Perry" both and you must walk around and see the pics hanging all over the walls.

Service was prompt and the waitress recognized our party from the previous week and welcomed us back. They brought out some get clover rolls while we decided on what to get.

I always get the Hill's Burger and have serrano peppers grilled on top. The burger was cooked perfect I like it medium well done. The bread and flavor are fabulous. The remaining folks in our party all had various burger creations all done perfectly. They will ask you if they are cooked OK so if not they will make it right.

The burgers all had fries but you could go with other items.

I have had meatloaf, chicken fried steak or a steak there and all were great.

If you go on Friday's and some Sat. they have live music ... Hey this is Austin ...

Make sure you visit "Major Applewhite" and the Darrell Royal table. Great pics.

Enjoy I go here weekly now ....

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smoore89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great food, great service, and great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Hill's Cafe is truly a one of a kind experience. Great food, great service, and great atmosphere. Must stop in the city of Austin. You HAVE to try the Fat Bob.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hill's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing