We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Counter Cafe

Counter Cafe
Ranked #225 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Emphasis on little. My wife and I went there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. Got there about 10AM. VERY crowded. We were ultimately seated at the counter. I had the eggs and quail (excellent). My wife had the crab cakes benedict. Again, excellent. Coffee was hot and plentiful. Blueberry pancakes were a top seller for others seated at the counter. Huge . . . .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBeanCounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tried the grilled quaill breakfast and the curry chicken burger. Amazing flavor and sitting at the bar was fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wvugrad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall, but great food!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place was recommended by the Four Seasons, and the food was excellent. We go there every morning for breakfast when we are in Austin and even went there one time for lunch and had a hamburger. It is a very tiny place. Worth making the trip here!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debikc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stopped in here after seeing it on the Triple D show..... it's tiny, but the food is excellent! Great tea!! Stop by wen you're in town!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We looked specifically for this place since recommended on tv foodie. We were surprised at how small it was but still able to sit at counter. I had never been in a place like it, so the atmosphere alone was worth it. But the food was good too. Big portions. He had pimento cheese sandwich and I jad bfast tacos. Food was out fast and service was good. I was a little put off by the cooks not wearing gloves..but I see it more often than not. Would go bk.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prankin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Counter Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Counter Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing