We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Music, Good Food, A bit high on the prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Market Westgate

Central Market Westgate
Ranked #283 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Music, Good Food, A bit high on the prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I know it's Austin, but do we really expect a $9 burger in a café attached to a high end grocery store? Of course you do. Nights that there is music, it can be crowded, and a little dancing may break out. For the budget minded, a bowl of tortilla soup is great, the pizza can be split if you are not famished, but you really can't split the sliders... just barely enough for one unless you get the $6 Chips y mas... chips chile con queso, salsa, and an 'interesting' guacamole. Long line at the walk up counter is to be expected, but a good variety of hard and soft drinks. I have also noted a lot of birthday parties... so it can be a fun place on a weekend night, or a place to grab a bite before shopping during the week

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RCraigCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This Is My Supermarket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I live next door to Central Market Westgate so I am there several times a week. It is a wonderful place. Friendly and helpful staff. Generous samples. Lots of organic and healthy foods. Sometimes it is a little pricey. Not as much variety as regular supermarkets. Live music several evenings a week in the cafe. Good people watching.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bostonphil777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Selection and Satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This market is well worth a visit if you have some time. Their produce section is expansive; and I can't imagine they won't have what you may be looking to find.

There is also a good selection of vegan products, gluten free products and vitamin products. Bring your own shopping bags when you choose to shop in Austin.

I really enjoyed Central Market!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cabowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In love with this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife knows I have some weird fascination with grocery stores so we often venture into them. Wandered into Central Market after boot shopping and so glad we did. I was in foodie heaven and wishing I could move to live nearby. It reminded me of a wegmanns or whole foods. All the fresh food sections were HUGE! I'm salivating just thinking about it. We sampled lots of fruit, bread, and cheese but only ended up buying some fresh pressed juice and food from the deli/cafe. We got the tandoori chicken, sweet potato fries (best I've had), cous cous and gelato for dessert. Nothing disappointed and as sad as this may sound, we might not have had a better meal our entire time in Austin. If we could afford it we would do all our shopping at places like this... Ahhh to dream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food and entertainment on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped by Central Market Cage for the live jazz on Saturday evening. The atmosphere was very laid back and casual, appropriate even for families with smaller children. The quality of the food was good, and since you can buy wine and beer, you can have a dinner, or just drinks and enjoy the music. There is no wait staff--it is the kind of place where you order your food at the counter, get your drinks yourself , seat yourself, and pick up your food when the buzzer they give you goes off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market Westgate also viewed

 

Been to Central Market Westgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing